Go to: content | top | bottom | search
 
 
You are hereUNIL > Department of English > Tutoring

Tutors to Help with Essay Writing Skills

| Essay Tutoring | Advanced Essay-Writing Workshop Online Tutoring
 

tutoring poster bicolor.jpg

 

Essay Tutoring

The English Section is pleased offer tutoring help to its BA students, both in class and in individual tutoring sessions,  each semester (teaching weeks only).

Writing is a lifelong learning process — we are always learning how to write better, more clearly, more effectively and powerfully, even the most experienced writers. As such, all students are encouraged to make use of this opportunity. Students are welcome to bring essay outlines, drafts or corrected essays to discuss with our tutors during one-on-one consultations. Tutors will not proofread and edit assignments, but help students to develop effective writing skills and editing strategies, to spot and prioritise issues to work on, as well as to become more confident writers and better readers of their own writing.

First year students are particularly encouraged to make use of the tutoring help.

 

Starting in Week 11, tutors will have expanded hours for one-on-one tutoring sessions. One-on-one tutoring will take place in Anthropole 5138.1 (the tutoring office) and Anthropole 5139 (the department library). The tutors’ schedule is posted on the door of the tutoring office; you can check this to find out which room you will be meeting your tutor in. 

 

For literary essays, please book ​ an appointment with one of the following tutors:

 

Johanne Boulat (johanne.boulat@unil.ch) Mondays 15:00-18:00, Tuesdays 10:00-12:00, Thursdays 9:00-12:00

Marina Bundgaard (marina.bundgaard@unil.ch) Mondays 11:00-15:00, Fridays 13:00-17:00

Lila Mabiala (lila.mabiala@unil.ch) Tuesdays 9:00-15:00, Wednesdays 11:00-13:00

Marion Marchetti (marion.marchetti@unil.ch) Mondays 10:00-12:00, Wednesdays 15:00-17:00, Thursdays 13:00-17:00

Thomas Pochon (thomas.pochon@unil.ch) Wednesdays 9:00-11:00, Thursdays 9:00-12:00, Fridays 9:00-12:00​

 
For linguistic papers, please book an appointment with one of the following tutors:

 

Brayan Andrey (brayan.andrey@unil.ch) Tuesdays 12:00-13:00

Anika Kamilla Clausen (anikakamilla.clausen@unil.ch) Wednesday 14:00-15:00

 

To book an appointment with a tutor, please use the link below:

 

Book an appointment with UNIL English Department using SetMore

 

Tutoring2017A.png

Advanced Essay-Writing Workshop Online Tutoring

Students are also encouraged to make use of the Advanced Essay Writing Workshop Online to hone their skills. This workshop is recommended to students in their second and third years of the BA, as well as MA students. It is a very good refresher at the start of your second year!
 

 

Search:
 Go
 
rss/atom
facebook 
Offices #5065-70 - Anthropole - CH-1015 Lausanne  -  Tel. +41 21 692 29 13  -  Fax +41 21 692 29 35
Swiss University