EN    FR  
You are hereUNIL > Teaching > Faculty of Law, Criminal Justice and Public Administration

Faculty of Law, Criminal Justice and Public Administration

Description, aims and objectives | Degrees awarded | Useful links
 

Faculty of Law, Criminal Justice and Public Administration
University of Lausanne
UNIL - Dorigny
Internef - office 415
CH-1015 Lausanne
SWITZERLAND

Information

Phone: ++41 (0)21 692 2750
Fax: ++41 (0)21 692 2745

Description, aims and objectives

Law may be defined as the art of pursuing justice in the service of the individual and society. It may thus be understood as the set of rules of conduct decreed or accepted by public authorities with a view to organizing the coexistence of human groups and the guarantee of liberties.

Although the legal system in force in a given country constitutes the main frame of reference for law studies, the law does not exist in isolation in any of its dimensions. Indeed any legal system is profoundly marked by the history, politics and economy of the society it seeks to govern, as well as by its exchanges with other legal systems.

The courses taught in the Faculty take all these contexts into account and allow students to acquire not only a sense of moderation and balance, but also knowledge of positive law and critical and analytical capabilities essential for the practice of any legal profession. They provide training in logical reasoning and precision of expression. Moreover, the Faculty adds a practical dimension to its teaching through cooperation with members of the bar, entrusting some courses or seminars to practising lawyers and notaries.

Degrees awarded

Bachelors

Masters

Masters of Advanced Studies

Doctorate

° programme taught in English

Useful links

Search:
 Go
 
rss/atom

The Faculty's Major Assets...

> an interdisciplinary context: the Faculty is unique in Switzerland in combining such apparently varied fields of study as law, forensic science, criminology and, from 1st January 2014, public administration

> personalised supervision of students through the organization of practical work in small groups

> emphasis on International, European and Comparative Law, as well as foreign legislations

> a marked interest in legal culture and theory: Roman Law, History and Philosophy of Law

> a strong focus on innovative fields: Environmental Law, Telecommunications Law, Master of Law in Criminality and Security of New Technologies

> strong support for doctoral research (around a hundred doctoral students, around 15 theses per year)

Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  - Switzerland  -  Tel. +41 21 692 11 11  -  Fax +41 21 692 26 15
Swiss University

EN    FR  
Vous êtes ici: UNIL > Enseignement > Faculté de droit, des sciences criminelles et d'administration publique

Faculté de droit, des sciences criminelles et d'administration publique

Définition et finalité des études | Grades décernés | Liens utiles
 

Faculté de droit, des sciences criminelles et d'administration publique
Université de Lausanne
UNIL - Dorigny
Internef - bureau 415
CH-1015 Lausanne
SUISSE

Renseignements

Téléphone: ++41 (0)21 692 2750
Fax: ++41 (0)21 692 2745

Définition et finalité des études

Le droit se présente comme l'art de la recherche du juste au service de l'individu et de la société. Il s'entend comme l'ensemble des modèles de comportement édictés ou acceptés par l'autorité publique aux fins d'organiser la coexistence de groupes humains et de garantir les libertés.

Si le droit en vigueur à l'intérieur de l'Etat représente le cadre de référence principal pour les études, le droit ne saurait se comprendre isolément. En effet, tout ordre juridique est profondément marqué par l'histoire, la politique et l'économie de la société qu'il entend régir, ainsi que par les échanges qu'il entretient avec d'autres ordres juridiques.

Les enseignements de la Faculté tiennent compte de ces diverses perspectives et permettent ainsi d'acquérir, outre le sens de la mesure et de l'équilibre, les connaissances de droit positif et les capacités critiques et d'analyse essentielles à l'exercice de toute profession juridique. Ils offrent une formation faite de cohérence dans le raisonnement et de précision dans la forme. De plus, la Faculté donne un tour concret à ses enseignements en coopérant notamment avec le barreau et en confiant à des avocats ou notaires la charge de certains cours ou séminaires.

Grades décernés

Bachelors

Masters

Masters of Advanced Studies

Doctorat

° programmes enseignés en anglais

Liens utiles

Recherche:
 Go
 
rss/atom
facebook  twitter  youtube  instagram  linkedin  itunes 

Les atouts de la Faculté...

> un contexte interdisciplinaire: la Faculté présente la particularité unique en Suisse de réunir des domaines d'études apparemment aussi variés que le droit, la forensique, la criminologie et, dès le 1er janvier 2014, l'administration publique

> un encadrement personnalisé des étudiants grâce à l'organisation de travaux pratiques en classes restreintes

> un accent porté sur le droit international, européen et comparé, ainsi que sur les législations étrangères

> un intérêt marqué pour la culture et la théorie juridique: droit romain, histoire et philosophie du droit

> une attention particulière prêtée à des domaines novateurs: droit de l'environnement, droit des télécommunications, Maîtrise universitaire en droit, criminalité et sécurité des technologies de l'information

> un soutien prononcé à la recherche doctorale (une centaine de doctorants, env. 15 thèses par année)

Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  - Suisse  -  Tél. +41 21 69211 11  -  Fax +41 21 69226 15
Swiss University