EN    FR  
You are hereUNIL > Department of Fundamental Neurosciences > DNF in the media > New clothes for the hippocampus

New clothes for the hippocampus

Neuroscientist Nicolas Toni will start working at the Department of Cell Biology and Morphology (DBCM) of the University of Lausanne in January 2010, with a Swiss National Science Foundation professorship, to study hippocampal stem cells and their role in learning and memory.

Since the second half of 1990, the dogma that the brain loses its regenerative capacity after birth was undermined by the proof that stem cells divide in the adult brain and give birth to new neurons in the hippocampus and the subventricular zone. This field of research remained long unexplored, due to its revolutionary nature. The work of Nicolas Toni follows the line of investigation of Fred Gage, with whom he collaborated for his postdoctoral work at the Salk Institute in San Diego, and who unequivocally demonstrated the existence of adult neurogenesis and its role in mechanisms of learning.
Based on this knowledge, Nicolas Toni explored new questions on the integration of neurons born in the adult brain. We know that out of 100 newborn cells, about 70 will die within the first three weeks of their life. Some of them display neuronal characteristics, but have not yet formed new synapses. “The integration of these neurons is selective,” says Nicolas Toni. “We believe that the cells which have not started synaptogenesis during their third week of life will eventually die. When you inhibit synapse formation on these cells, they all die.”
After having shown with the Californian Laboratory that new neurons indeed form synapses and that their survival depends on synaptic integration, the researcher will benefit from the infrastructure and strong neuroscience environment of the DBCM, to explore the possibilities to improve the integration of new neurons in the hippocampus. First we have to understand how these cells integrate into the brain, which is so little known, says Nicolas Toni. Synapse formation is linked to experience, says the researcher, who cites the case of professional violin players, who have a more developed motor cortex for their left hand than for their right hand. Many molecules which play a role in the mechanisms of learning and memory also relate to synaptogenesis.
Thanks to a better understanding of these mechanisms, and in particular of neurons continuously generated in the hippocampus, he aims to contribute to new therapies for brain lesions, neurodegenerative diseases, memory impairment linked to pathologies or aging. His hypothesis is that by increasing synapse formation on newborn neurons, one can increase their survival and improve their function in learning processes.

Nadine Richon/UNICOM
 

Search:
 inside this site:
   
   
 Go
 
rss/atom


Prof. Nicola Toni

Rue du Bugnon 9 - CH-1005 Lausanne  - Switzerland  -  Tel. +41 21 692 51 00  -  Fax +41 21 692 51 05
Swiss University

EN    FR  
Vous êtes iciUNIL > Département des neurosciences fondamentales > DNF dans les médias > Les habits neufs de l'hippocampe

Les habits neufs de l'hippocampe

Engagé au Département de biologie Cellulaire et de Morphologie (DBCM) dès janvier 2010 comme professeur boursier du Fonds national suisse, le neurobiologiste Nicolas Toni constitue un groupe pour explorer les cellules souches de l’hippocampe et leur fonctionnement dans les processus d’apprentissage et de mémorisation.

Depuis la fin des années 1990, le dogme du cerveau qui perd sa capacité de régénération après la naissance est mis à mal avec la preuve de l’existence de cellules souches dans le cerveau adulte, continuant à se diviser et à créer de nouveaux neurones dans l’hippocampe et la zone subventriculaire. Une ligne de recherche restée longtemps inexplorée tant elle venait heurter les croyances établies. Le neurobiologiste Nicolas Toni s’inscrit dans la filiation de Fred Gage, avec qui il a pu collaborer dans le cadre d’un post doc au Salk Institute de San Diego, et qui a prouvé l’existence de la neurogenèse adulte d’une manière indubitable, ainsi que son implication dans les mécanismes d’apprentissage.
Sur la base de ces connaissances, le travail de Nicolas Toni a permis de poser des questions inédites sur l’intégration des nouveaux neurones dans le cerveau. On sait désormais que sur 100 cellules ainsi créées 70 meurent à leur troisième semaine de vie. Certaines présentent alors des caractéristiques neuronales, mais sans avoir encore formé de nouvelles synapses. «L’intégration se réalise donc de manière sélective, précise Nicolas Toni. Nous pensons que les cellules qui ne sont pas engagées dans les processus synaptiques durant leur troisième semaine meurent. Il suffit d’inhiber la formation des synapses dans l’hippocampe de la souris pour constater que toutes les nouvelles cellules meurent.»
Après avoir montré grâce aux techniques du laboratoire américain que les nouveaux neurones forment des synapses et que leur survie en dépend, le chercheur entend profiter des installations et de l’environnement neuroscientifique du DBCM, à l’Université de Lausanne, pour explorer les possibilités d’améliorer l’intégration synaptique des nouveaux neurones dans l’hippocampe. Il faut d’abord comprendre d’une façon plus précise comment ces cellules s’intègrent dans cet organe «encore si mal connu» qu’est le cerveau, estime Nicolas Toni. La formation des synapses est liée à l’expérience, poursuit le chercheur qui donne volontiers l’exemple des violonistes dont le cortex moteur dirigeant la main gauche est plus développé que celui dirigeant la main droite. De nombreuses molécules impliquées dans les processus d’apprentissage favorisent par ailleurs la formation des synapses.
Grâce à une meilleure compréhension de ces phénomènes et en particulier des neurones continuellement engendrés dans l’hippocampe, il entend contribuer à poser de nouvelles bases thérapeutiques dans le domaine si complexe des lésions cérébrales, des maladies neurodégénératives et des troubles de la mémoire liés à de nombreuses pathologies ou simplement au vieillissement. Son hypothèse consiste à imaginer qu’en stimulant la formation des synapses, autrement dit en améliorant la connexion des nouveaux neurones, on pourra augmenter leur capacité de survie et favoriser leur fonctionnement dans les processus d’apprentissage.

Nadine Richon/UNICOM

 

Recherche:
 dans ce site:
   
   
 Go
 
rss/atom


Prof. Nicola Toni

Rue du Bugnon 9 - CH-1005 Lausanne  - Suisse  -  Tél. +41 21 69251 00  -  Fax +41 21 69251 05
Swiss University