EN    FR  
You are hereUNIL > Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology > Research > Group Kellenberger

Group Kellenberger

Stephan Kellenberger, MER, PD

Stephan Kellenberger received his PhD in 1994 from the University of Bern for research on GABAA receptor function performed with Erwin Sigel. After his post-doctoral training with W.A. Catterall at the University of Washington, Seattle, he joined the Department of Pharmacology of the UNIL in 1997. He has been leading his own research team since 2001.

Keywords: ion channel, patch-clamp, pH dependence, neuron, channel gating, structure function relationship

 

 

Although protons are present in exceedingly low concentrations in most extracellular fluids, they nevertheless have a major impact on the function of most proteins. Localized changes in pH occur under physiological (e.g. neurotransmitter release in synapses) or pathological (e.g. inflammation, ischemia) situations. We study the function of acid-sensing ion channels (ASICs) a novel family of ion channels that are activated by protons. ASICs are expressed in the central nervous system and in sensory neurons. ASICs respond with a rapidly activating and subsequently desensitizing (inactivating) current to extracellular acidification. There is evidence for roles of ASICs of the central nervous system in memory functions, fear conditioning and cell death during ischemic conditions. ASICs in the peripheral nervous system have been shown to be involved in pain sensation.

Our laboratory investigates ASIC function on the cellular and molecular level. On the cellular level we are investigating the consequences of ASIC activity on neuronal signaling. In nociceptive sensory neurons we are investigating the contribution of ASICs as pH sensors in pain sensation. On the molecular level we use different approaches to address the questions of how ASIC opening and closing is controlled and how ASIC function is regulated. In a recent study we have identified putative proton-sensing residues in ASIC1a, showing that protonation occurs at several sites within a channel subunit. We also provide evidence for conformational changes induced by extracellular acidification (see Fig. 2).

 

 

figure.gif

The figure shows on the left schematically the presence of ASICs and voltage-gated Na (Nav) and K (Kv) channels in a neuron. The activation of ASICs by lowering of the extracellular pH induces a depolarization as shown in the experimental trace on the right, activating the voltage-gated channels and thereby leading to a burst of action potentials. 

Image_FR-SK.jpg

Figure 2A shows on the ASIC1a structural model, in one of the three subunits, the residues that are likely proton sensors, based on a computational and functional approach (Liechti et al., JBC 285, pp 16315). B, Illustration of predicted conformational changes induced by acidification. The contours of the channel are indicated in grey and the vertical central axis is indicated by a black line. One subunit with its five subdomains is shown in color (red: transmembrane segments, yellow: palm, orange: β-ball, blue: thumb, purple: finger, turquoise: knuckle) and the contours of a second subunit are indicated by an interrupted grey line. During ASIC activation, the thumb moves towards the β-ball (indicated by red arrows), leading to opening and subsequent inactivation. Inactivation involves a movement of the palm domains towards the central vertical axis, as indicated by the blue arrows.   

Search:
 Go
 
rss/atom
Rue du Bugnon 27 - CH-1005 Lausanne  - Switzerland  -  Tel. +41 21 692 5350  -  Fax +41 21 692 5355
Swiss University

EN    FR  
Vous êtes iciUNIL > Département de pharmacologie et de toxicologie > Recherche > Groupe Kellenberger

Groupe Kellenberger

Stephan Kellenberger, MER, PD

Stephan Kellenberger a obtenu son doctorat en 1994 de l'université de Bern pour un travail effectué au laboratoire de Erwin Sigel sur la fonction des récepteurs GABAA. Après un postdoc au laboratoire de W.A. Catterall à l'University of Washington, Seattle/USA, il a rejoint le département de pharmacologie de l'UNIL en 1997. Depuis 2001 il dirige un team de recherche.

Mots clés : canaux ioniques, patch-clamp, dépendance au pH, neurone, gating, relation structure-fonction

Domaine de recherche

Les protons sont présents à des concentrations très faibles dans la plupart des liquides extracellulaires, mais néanmoins ils exercent une influence importante sur la fonction de beaucoup de protéines. Des changements locaux du pH peuvent avoir lieu dans des situations physiologiques (p.e. libération de neurotransmetteurs dans la synapse) ou pathologiques (p.e. inflammation, ischémie). Nous étudions la fonction des canaux « acid-sensing ion channels, ASICs », une famille de canaux récemment découverts, qui sont activés par des protons. Suite à une acidification extracellulaire, les canaux ASICs s’ouvrent rapidement et puis s’inactivent. Il y a des évidences pour un rôle des ASICs du système nerveux central dans des fonctions de mémoire, l’expression de la peur, et la mort neuronale après une ischémie. Il a été montré que les ASICs du système nerveux périphérique sont impliqués dans la sensation de la douleur. 


Notre laboratoire s’intéresse pour la fonction des ASICs au niveau cellulaire et moléculaire. Au niveau cellulaire nous analysons les conséquences de l’activité des ASICs pour la signalisation neuronale. Nous investiguons dans des neurones sensoriels nociceptifs la contribution des ASICs comme senseur de pH dans la sensation de la douleur. Au niveau moléculaire nous utilisons différentes approches pour essayer de comprendre comment l’ouverture et la fermeture des canaux ASICs est contrôlée et comment les ASICs sont régulés. Dans une étude récente nous avons identifié les résidus qui sont vraisemblablement les senseurs de pH dans ASIC1a. Nous montrons l’existence de plusieurs senseurs de pH par sous-unité ASIC. Nous montrons aussi des évidences pour des changements de conformation induites par l’acidification extracellulaire (Fig. 2). 

 

figure.gif

La figure à gauche montre schématiquement la présence des ASICs et de canaux voltage-dépendants sodiques (Nav) ou potassiques (Kv) dans un neurone. 

La figure à droite montre par une trace expérimentale que l’acidification extracellulaire (pH 7.4 à 6.4) induit une dépolarisation, qui active des canaux Nav, induisant une série de potentiels d’action.     

 

 

Figure 2A montre dans le modèle de ASIC1a, dans une des trois sous-unités, les senseurs de protons, ceci basé sur une approche informatique et fonctionnelle (Liechti et al., JBC 285, pp 16315). B, Illustration des changements de conformation prédits suite à une acidification extracellulaire. Les contours du canal sont indiqués en gris et l’axe verticale est montré par une ligne noire. Une sous-unité avec ses cinq sous-domaines est montrée en couleur (rouge : segments transmembranaires, jaune : paume, orange : β-balle, bleu : pouce, violet : doigt, turquoise : jointure de doigt) et les contours d’une deuxième sous-unité sont indiqués par une ligne grise, interrompue. Pendant l’activation du canal, le pouce bouge vers la β-balle (indiqué par les flèches rouges), induisant l’ouverture du canal, suivi par l’inactivation. L’inactivation comprend un mouvement des domaines de paume vers l’axe verticale centrale, comme indiqué par les flèches bleues.  
 
Recherche:
 dans ce site:
   
   
 Go
 
rss/atom
Rue du Bugnon 27 - CH-1005 Lausanne  - Suisse  -  Tél. +41 21 6925350  -  Fax +41 21 6925355
Swiss University