Members

Prof. François Dufresne | Director

 

François Dufresne is Full Professor of Actuarial Science at HEC Lausanne. He is the Director of the Department of Actuarial Science and Director of the Master in Actuarial Science (MScAS).

His research focuses on insurance risk modeling, risk theory and its applications, credibility theory and asset-liability management, primarily for pension funds. His current efforts aim at using stochastic programming for asset-liability management while incorporating solvency constraints into the optimization process.

Before joining the Faculty of HEC, he was an associate professor at the School of Actuarial Science at Laval University in Quebec City. Previously, he worked as an actuary with the Quebec Commission for Occupational Health and Safety (CSST).

Personal page

F_Dufresne_nov2017_small.png

 

Prof. Hansjoerg Albrecher | Professor

 

Hansjörg Albrecher is Full Professor of Actuarial Science at HEC Lausanne and Faculty Member of the Swiss Finance Institute.

His research focuses on insurance risk modelling, risk theory, reinsurance and applied probability in general. He is particularly interested in bridging theory and practice in this field. He has published four books and more than 90 journal articles, and is a regular speaker at international conferences. Hansjörg Albrecher serves on the editorial board of several journals and book series, including Insurance: Mathematics & Economics, European Actuarial Journal and Journal of Applied Probability.

Before joining HEC Lausanne, he was Group Leader and Deputy Director of the Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences as well as Full Professor at the Johannes Kepler University Linz, and prior to that he held faculty and visiting positions at Graz University of Technology, KU Leuven and University of Aarhus. 

Personal page

ALBRECHERIDpictureresize2-resize180x241.JPG

 

Prof. Séverine Arnold | Professor

 

Séverine Arnold is Full Professor of Actuarial Science at HEC Lausanne.

Her research mainly focuses on longevity risk and mortality modeling, with a particular interest in cause-specific mortality rates. The link existing between causes of death and the processes of biological ageing is at the core of her interest. Her results based on various causes of death across countries, identified for the first time similarities between countries and genders that are consistent with past studies on the ageing processes by biologists and demographers. She is currently the project leader on a three-year research project on Cause-specific mortality interactions

In addition, she started more recently to analyse several financial aspects of social security systems and pension schemes. Topics such as: 1) the fairness and adequacy of traditional pension schemes and Notional Defined Contributions (NDC) pension schemes, or 2) how the longevity risk can be financed in traditional and NDC pension schemes, are among her areas of interest. 

Pesonal page

52161-resize212x265-crop212x264.jpg

 

Prof. Enkelejd Hashorva | Professor

 

Enkelejd Hashorva is Full Professor of Actuarial Science at HEC Lausanne.

His  principle research interests encompass extremal behaviour of dependent insurance risks, models for heavy-tailed and light-tailed time series, risk aggregation, extremes of Gaussian and chaos random fields, multi-valued Gaussian risk models, asymptotic constants in extreme value theory, price optimisation of insurance business and max-stable random fields.  Enkelejd has intensive collaborations with Prof. Krzys Debicki from University of Wroclaw, Prof. Vladimir Piterbarg from Moscow State University, Prof. Dmitry Korshunov from University of Lancaster and Prof. David Kalaj from University of Montenegro.

Prior to joining University of Lausanne, Enkelejd lead the non-life pricing team at Allianz Swiss Insurance company. The list of projects he has been involved with  at Allianz Swiss includes competitive pricing of various non-life products, development of customer future value concept and its implementation for both life and non-life, as well as preparation  of several internal Blue Prints concerning tariff creation, portfolio cleaning, dynamic monitoring  and customer future value/portfolio segmentation. Since 2004 he is also Privat Dozent at University of Bern teaching various courses in applied probability and non-life insurance.

Personal page

1112508.jpg

 

Prof. Joël Wagner | Professor

 
Joël Wagner is Full Professor of Actuarial Science at HEC Lausanne and Faculty Member of the Swiss Finance Institute.
 
His research focuses on current topics in risk management and insurance. Recent and ongoing work studies challenges in financing life, pension, health and long term-care insurance, in actuarial pricing and insurance management (strategy, distribution, claims), and from developments in regulatory frameworks. Joël regularly collaborates in projects with insurance companies, conducts field studies, teaches in executive education and presents findings at academic conferences as well as in talks to practitioners.
 
Before joining HEC Lausanne, he was Assistant Professor of Risk Management and Insurance at the University of St. Gallen (HSG) and Member of the Executive Board of the Institute of Insurance Economics. His industry experience includes working as a consultant in the Financial Services and Insurance practice of The Boston Consulting Group. Joël holds a venia legendi in Business Administration with special emphasis on Risk Management from HSG and has been awarded the degree of Privatdozent. He holds a Ph.D. in Mathematics and an engineering degree in Physics from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL).
 

Wagner_Joël-resize212x306-crop212x264.JPG

 
Extranef - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 33 82
Fax +41 21 692 34 35
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg

Membres

Prof. François Dufresne | Directeur

 

François Dufresne est Professeur ordinaire en Sciences Actuarielles à HEC Lausanne. Il assume les fonctions de directeur du département de sciences actuarielles et de directeur du Master en sciences actuarielles (MScAS).

Ses recherches se concentrent sur la modélisation des risques en assurance, la théorie du risque et ses applications, la théorie de la crédibilité et la gestion actif-passif, principalement pour les caisses de pension. Ses efforts actuels portent sur l’utilisation de la programmation stochastique pour la gestion actif-passif en incorporant des contraintes de solvabilité dans le processus d’optimisation.

Avant d'intégrer la Faculté des HEC, il était professeur agrégé à l’Ecole d’actuariat de l’Université Laval à Québec. Auparavant, il avait travaillé comme actuaire à la Commission de la santé et la sécurité du travail du Québec (CSST).

Page personnelle

F_Dufresne_nov2017_small.png

 

Prof. Hansjoerg Albrecher | Professeur

 

Hansjörg Albrecher est Professeur ordinaire en Sciences Actuarielles à HEC Lausanne. Il est aussi membre du Swiss Finance Institute.

Ses recherches se concentrent sur la modélisation des risques en assurance, la théorie du risque, la réassurance et les probabilités appliquées en générale. Il apprécie de pouvoir associer la théorie à la pratique dans ce domaine. Il a publié quatre livres et plus de 90 articles dans des revues. Il intervient régulièrement dans les conférences internationales. Hansjörg Albrecher fait partie du comité éditorial de plusieurs revues et collections de livres, y compris Insurance: Mathematics & Economics, European Actuarial Journal et Journal of Applied Probability.

Avant d'intégrer la Faculté des HEC, il était responsable de groupe et directeur adjoint de l'Institut de mathématiques appliquées et d’informatiqueJohann Radon (RICAM) à l'Académie autrichienne des sciences, et professeur titulaire à l'Université Johannes Kepler de Linz. Auparavant, il avait occupé des postes de professeur et de professeur invité au sein des universités d'Aarhus, de technologie de Graz et Catholique de Louvain.

Page personnelle

ALBRECHERIDpictureresize2-resize180x241.JPG

 

Prof. Séverine Arnold | Professeure

 

Séverine Arnold est Professeure ordinaire en Sciences Actuarielles à HEC Lausanne.

Ses recherches se concentrent principalement sur le risque de longévité et la modélisation de la mortalité, et plus particulièrement sur le taux de mortalité par cause. Le lien entre les causes de décès et le processus de vieillissement biologique est son sujet de prédilection. Ses résultats basés sur les diverses causes de décès selon les pays, ont mis au jour pour la première fois des similarités entre les pays et les genres et confirment des études passées réalisées par des biologistes et des démographes, relatives au processus de vieillissement. Elle est actuellement en charge d'un projet de recherche de trois ans concernant les interactions de la mortalité par cause. 

En outre, elle a récemment commencé l'analyse de plusieurs aspects financiers des systèmes de sécurité sociale et régimes de retraite. Elle s'intéresse notamment aux thèmes suivants : 1) l'équité et l'adéquation des régimes de retraite traditionnels et des comptes notionnels, ou 2) comment le risque de longévité peut-il être financé par les régimes de retraite traditionnels et comptes notionnels.

Page personnelle

52161-resize212x265-crop212x264.jpg

 

Prof. Enkelejd Hashorva | Professeur

 

Enkelejd Hashorva est Professeur ordinaire en Sciences Actuarielles à HEC Lausanne.

Ses principaux intérêts de recherche comprennent le comportement extrême des risques d'assurance avec dépendance, les modèles de séries chronologiques standard et celles à queue lourde, l'agrégation des risques, les valeurs extrêmes de champs gaussiens et de champs aléatoires de chaos, les modèles de risques gaussiens à valeurs multiples, les constantes asymptotiques dans la théorie des valeurs extrêmes, l'optimisation du prix en assurance non-vie, et les champs aléatoires max-stables.  Enkelejd a beaucoup collaboré avec le professeur Krzys Debicki de l'Université de Wroclaw, le professeur Vladimir Piterbarg de l'Université d'État de Moscou, le professeur Dmitry Korshunov de l'Université de Lancaster et le professeur David Kalaj de l'Université du Monténégro.

Avant d'intégrer l'Université de Lausanne, Enkelejd était responsable de l'équipe de tarification d'assurance non-vie chez Allianz Suisse Assurance. La liste des projets auxquels il a participé chez Allianz Suisse comprend la tarification compétitive de divers produits non-vie, le développement d'un concept de valeur future du client et sa mise en œuvre vie et non-vie, ainsi que la préparation  de plusieurs projets internes relatifs à la création du tarif, à l'assainissement du portefeuille, au suivi dynamique  et à la segmentation de valeur future du client/du portefeuille. Depuis 2004, il est également privat-docent à l'Université de Berne et donne divers cours en probabilité appliquée et assurance non-vie.

Page personnelle

1112508.jpg

 

Prof. Joël Wagner | Professeur

 
Joël Wagner est Professeur ordinaire en Sciences Actuarielles à HEC Lausanne ainsi que membre du Swiss Finance Institute.
 
Ses recherches se concentrent sur des sujets d'actualité de gestion des risques et d'assurance. Ses travaux étudient les enjeux du financement des assurances vie, des retraites, des assurances maladie et des soins-dépendance, de la tarification et de la gestion d'assurances (stratégie, distribution, sinistres), et de l'évolution des cadres réglementaires. Joël collabore régulièrement sur des projets avec des compagnies d'assurances, mène des études de terrain, enseigne dans la formation continue des cadres et présente le résultat de ses recherches lors de conférences académiques mais aussi lors de séminaires avec des professionnels du secteur.

Avant d'intégrer la Faculté des HEC, il était professeur-assistant en gestion des risques et assurances à l'Université de Saint-Gall (HSG) et membre du comité exécutif de l'Institut d'Économie de l'Assurance. Son expérience du secteur inclut l'engagement comme consultant dans le domaine des services financiers et de l'assurance auprès de The Boston Consulting Group. Joël est titulaire d'une venia legendi en administration des affaires, avec spécialisation en gestion des risques de l'HSG et s'est vu décerner le titre de privat-docent. Il est docteur en mathématiques et possède un diplôme d'ingénieur en physique de l'École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL).

Wagner_Joël-resize212x306-crop212x264.JPG

 
Partagez:
Extranef - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 33 82
Fax +41 21 692 34 35
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg