Français | English

Insurance

Health Insurance | Third-party Liability Insurance | Fire Insurance
 

Health Insurance

The compulsory health insurance system guarantees access to a range of quality medical care services and appropriate medical treatment to all persons living in Switzerland. Any person domiciled in Switzerland must insure him/herself or be insured by his/her legal representative within three months of his/her taking up domicile or his/her birth. Foreign nationals are required to insure themselves if they are holders of a valid residence permit with a duration of at least three months or if their authorisation to enter into paid employment has a duration of less than three months. Health insurance is managed by a range of insurers: authorised schemes must accept for basic insurance all persons subject to the obligation to insure themselves, regardless of their age and state of health, without any reservations or delay.

The insurance excess is the annual amount charged directly to the insured person and up to that amount the insurer does not refund any expenses. Beyond that amount, the insured person has to pay a part of the cost. This corresponds to a percentage fixed by law (10%) however the ceiling is established every year. The insurer therefore pays for any expenses exceeding the amount of the excess, after deducting the part paid for by the insured person. The amount of the excess is taken into account in determining the insured person's premium: the higher the excess, the lower the premium. However regardless of the excess, entitlement to benefits remains the same. The excess options are: 500, 1000, 1500, 2000 and 2500 CHF for adults and 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 and 600 CHF for children.

How to proceed

Insured persons are free to choose an insurance scheme. The cover is the same regardless of the health insurance scheme which provides your basic insurance cover. Foreign nationals covered by a foreign insurance scheme may apply for exemption from the Swiss schemes provided their insurance also covers them on Swiss territory. The application must be sent to the Cantonal Control Agency for Health and Accident Insurance:

Organe Cantonal de Contrôle
Chemin de Mornex 40
Case postale 9716
1014 Lausanne
Phone: +41 (0)21 557 47 47
Fax: +41 (0)21 557 47 50
e-mail: info.occ@vd.ch

TOP ^

Third-party Liability Insurance

Although it is not compulsory, third-party liability insurance may prove useful during your stay in Switzerland. This is a kind of insurance that covers insured persons against any claims for damages made by third parties on the basis of legal provisions governing third-party liability (material damage and/or personal injury).

In some cases, you are required to take out a particular third-party liability insurance cover. Thus, in Switzerland, it is compulsory for all vehicle owners to have third-party liability insurance for motor vehicles, and if you are a tenant or a home owner you must take out a specific third-party liability guarantee policy.

TOP ^

Fire Insurance

In the Canton of Vaud, as in 18 other Swiss cantons, the State has established a public safety organisation that has the task of preventing disasters, organising the fire fighting service and compensating victims. If you are domiciled in the Canton of Vaud, you must insure your furniture with ECA (établissement cantonal d'assurance - Cantonal Insurance Agency) against fire and natural disasters. ECA guarantees the replacement or refurbishing of any insured property and covers expenses caused by steps taken to fight the disaster or reduce the extent of the damage.

How to proceed

The property that can be insured includes all buildings and all movables located in the canton. If you are already covered by an insurance company, you can keep your policy until it expires.

TOP ^


Search:
 in this site:
   
   
   
 Rechercher

Assurance.jpg

Useful Links

The compulsory basic health insurance

Additional Informations

pdf   Health Insurance  (1049 Kb)

pdf   Social Insurance  (553 Kb)


Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  - Switzerland  -  Phone +41 21 692 20 20  -  Fax  +41 21 692 20 05

Français | English

Assurances Obligatoires

Assurance-Maladie | Responsabilité Civile | Etablissement cantonal d'assurance
 

Assurance-Maladie

L'assurance-maladie obligatoire garantit à toute personne vivant en Suisse l'accès à un ensemble de soins médicaux de qualité et à un traitement médical approprié. Toute personne domiciliée en Suisse doit s'assurer ou être assurée par son représentant légal dans les trois mois qui suivent sa prise de domicile ou sa naissance. Les étrangers sont soumis à l'obligation de s'assurer lorsqu'ils détiennent une autorisation de séjour valable d'au moins trois mois ou si l'autorisation d'exercer un travail salarié est de moins de trois mois. L'assurance-maladie est gérée par une pluralité d'assureurs : les caisses agréées doivent accepter pour l'assurance de base toute personne soumise à l'obligation de s'assurer, quel que soit l'âge, l'état de santé, sans réserve ni délai.

La franchise est le montant annuel que l'assuré prend à sa charge et jusqu'à hauteur duquel l'assureur ne rembourse pas les frais. Au-delà de ce montant, l'assuré est tenu à payer une participation. Celle-ci correspond à un pourcentage déterminé par la législation (10%), mais plafonné annuellement. L'assureur paie donc les frais dépassant le montant de la franchise, déduction faite de la participation de l'assuré. Le montant de la franchise intervient dans la détermination de la prime de l'assuré, plus la franchise est élevée, plus la prime se trouve réduite. Quelle que soit la franchise cependant, le droit aux prestations reste le même. Les franchises à option sont de 500, 1000, 1500, 2000 et 2500 CHF pour les adultes et de 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 et 600 CHF pour les enfants.

Pratique

Le libre choix de la caisse est laissé à l'assuré. La couverture est la même quelle que soit la caisse d'assurance-maladie auprès de laquelle vous souscrivez l'assurance de base. Les étrangers qui sont couverts par une assurance étrangère peuvent demander à être dispensés de l'affiliation en Suisse pour autant que leur assurance les couvre sur le territoire suisse. Cette requête doit être transmise à l'Organe Cantonal de Contrôle de l'assurance maladie et accident :

Organe Cantonal de Contrôle
Chemin de Mornex 40
Case postale 9716
1014 Lausanne
Tél. +41 (0)21 557 47 47
Fax +41 (0)21 557 47 50
e-mail : info.occ@vd.ch

 

TOP ^

Responsabilité Civile

Bien qu'elle ne soit pas obligatoire, l'assurance de responsabilité civile privée (RC) peut se révéler utile pendant votre séjour en Suisse. Il s'agit d'une assurance qui couvre les assurés contre les prétentions en dommages et intérêts formulées par des tiers sur la base des dispositions légales en matière de responsabilité civile (dégâts matériels et / ou lésions corporelles).

Dans certains cas, vous êtes tenus à souscrire une assurance RC particulière. En effet, en Suisse, tout détenteur d'un véhicule doit obligatoirement avoir une RC pour véhicules automobiles ; et si vous êtes locataire ou propriétaire, vous devez souscrire une garantie de responsabilité civile spécifique.

TOP ^

Etablissement cantonal d'assurance

Dans le Canton de Vaud, comme dans 18 autres cantons en Suisse, l'Etat a mis sur pied une organisation publique de sécurité chargée de prévenir les sinistres, organiser le service de défense contre les incendies et dédommager les personnes frappées. Si vous êtes domicilié dans le Canton de Vaud, vous devez assurer votre mobilier auprès de l'ECA (établissement cantonal d'assurance) contre l'incendie et les éléments naturels. L'ECA garantit le remplacement ou la remise en état des biens assurés et couvre les frais causés par les mesures prises pour combattre le sinistre ou en réduire l'importance.

Pratique

Les biens qui peuvent être assurés sont l'ensemble des bâtiments et tous les biens mobiliers situés dans le canton. Si vous êtes déjà couvert par une compagnie d'assurance, vous pouvez garder votre contrat jusqu'à son échéance.

TOP ^


Recherche:
 dans ce site:
   
   
   
 Rechercher
Annuaires      Site map
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  -   -  Tél. +41 21 692 20 20  -  Fax  +41 21 692 20 05