Français | English

Housing

Finding accommodation | How to proceed
 

The urban agglomeration of Lausanne has about 200,000 inhabitants. There is no accommodation available on the university campus and each person must find his/her own accommodation. The most common solution for people getting settled in the region of Lausanne is to rent an apartment or a house.

Finding accommodation

To find accommodation, it is advisable for you to contact real-estate agencies or management offices: most of them have web sites allowing you to make searches and view apartments or houses to rent. 

On the Internet you will also find specialised web sites containing a large number of offers proposed by management offices and private individuals. See, for example, this non exhaustive list:

www.immoscout.ch
www.homegate.ch
www.immovista.ch
www.immostreet.ch

Another possibility is to use classified ads published in the local press, either by consulting the offers or by placing an ad yourself.

TOP ^

How to proceed

If an ad interests you, contact the management office or the person who placed the ad to arrange a visit to the accommodation. If you are interested, you must register and make an application to the management office for the property you want by completing a form. The management office or the owner will select the tenants from among all applicants. This procedure can take several weeks and does not offer any guarantees. Support or a recommendation from the previous tenant may sometimes give you an advantage. 

When processing your application, the landlord will ask you for proofs of solvency. You will have to submit the following documents:

  • a recent salary certificate less than three months old
  • certification issued by the Debt Enforcement and Bankruptcies Office (Office des Poursuites et Faillites) for anyone who is already a Swiss resident
  • proofs of identity in the form of your identity card, or the temporary certification of the Swiss Mission

On assignment of the accommodation the management office will ask you for a deposit. This amount corresponds to several months rent (from one to three months) and can be deposited in a frozen interest-bearing bank account. This deposit is unfrozen and returned to the tenant when he/she leaves the rented accommodation if no serious damage is noted. Some companies offer to stand this guarantee for you, through a loan, thereby avoiding the need for you to tie up several thousand francs.

Although you do not have to do so, you are strongly advised to inspect the premises with the management office and draw up a document recording the initial conditions of the rented property. This document allows you to ask the management office to remedy any shortcomings that may be noted and also avoids the risk that you, as the tenant, will later be held responsible for these shortcomings.

How to proceed

It is very important for you to begin your search before your arrival, because the availability of accommodation cannot be guaranteed. 

The Swiss Association of Tenants, ASLOCA, can provide information to tenants and help in case of litigation with the management office, in return for a modest annual subscription.

TOP ^


Search:
 in this site:
   
   
   
 Rechercher
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  - Switzerland  -  Phone +41 21 692 20 20  -  Fax  +41 21 692 20 05

Français | English

Logement

Comment trouver un logement | Démarches
 

Lausanne est une agglomération d'environ 200'000 habitants. Elle ne possède pas de logements sur le campus universitaire et il appartient à chacun de se trouver une habitation. La solution la plus courante pour les personnes s'installant dans la région de Lausanne est de louer un appartement ou une maison.

Comment trouver un logement

Pour trouver un logement, il est souhaitable de passer par des agences immobilières, des régies ou des gérances: la plupart ont des sites Internet permettant la recherche et la visualisation d'appartements ou de maisons à louer.

Il existe, sur Internet des sites spécialisés regroupant de très nombreuses offres, dont celles de gérances et de privés. Voir par exemple cette liste non exhaustive :

www.immoscout.ch
www.homegate.ch
www.immovista.ch
www.immostreet.ch

Une autre possibilité est celle de consulter les petites annonces paraissant dans la presse locale, soit dans les offres soit en plaçant soi-même une demande.

TOP ^

Démarches

Si une annonce vous intéresse, contactez la régie ou la personne l'ayant publié pour une visite du logement. En cas d'intérêt, vous devez vous inscrire et faire une demande à la régie pour l'objet convoité, en remplissant un formulaire. C'est la régie ou le propriétaire qui sélectionnera les locataires parmi toutes les demandes. Cette procédure peut prendre plusieurs semaines et n'offre aucune garantie. L'appui ou une recommandation du locataire précédent peut parfois jouer en votre faveur.

Pour traiter votre dossier, le bailleur demande des preuves de solvabilité. Il vous faudra présenter les documents suivants:
  • attestation de salaire ou certificat de salaire récent de moins de trois mois
  • attestation de l'Office des Poursuites et Faillites pour les personnes qui ont déjà résidé sur le sol Suisse
  • pièces d'identité avec votre carte de légitimation, ou l'attestation temporaire de la Mission Suisse

Lors de l'attribution du logement, les régies demandent en garantie le montant de plusieurs mois de location (de un à trois mois). Ce montant peut être conservé sur un compte bancaire bloqué servant des intérêts. Cette garantie est débloquée et restituée au locataire lorsqu'il quitte le logement loué si aucun dégât grave n'est constaté. Certaines sociétés proposent de cautionner cette garantie pour vous, moyennant un financement, et vous évitent ainsi de devoir bloquer plusieurs milliers de francs.

Il n'est pas obligatoire mais fortement conseillé d'établir avec la régie un état des lieux, soit un document établissant les conditions initiales de l'objet à louer. Ce document permet de demander à la régie de remédier à des défauts constatés et au locataire de ne pas être par la suite tenu pour responsable de ces défauts.

Pratique

Il est très important de commencer les recherches avant votre arrivée, car la disponibilité de logements n'est pas toujours assurée.

L'association suisse des locataires ASLOCA peut fournir des informations aux locataires et une aide en cas de litiges avec la régie, moyennant une cotisation annuelle modeste.

TOP ^


Recherche:
 dans ce site:
   
   
   
 Rechercher
Annuaires      Site map
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  -   -  Tél. +41 21 692 20 20  -  Fax  +41 21 692 20 05