You are here: UNIL > EURAXESS: Researcher's Mobility Portal > Living in Switzerland > School and Family
Français | English

School and Family

Schools

In Switzerland, the education system is administered at a cantonal level. In the Canton of Vaud, education is organised as follows:

  • Pre-school (0 - 4 years): Before reaching the age of admittance to an infant's school, parents may send their child to a special facility (infants' centre, play centre, kindergarten, day nursery, etc).
  • Infant's schools, initial cycle (4 - 6 years): These schools are not compulsory, but are attended by more than 95% of the children of each Class year.
  • Compulsory education (6 - 16 years): Compulsory education begins at 6 years of age and lasts for nine years. It includes four primary years (2 cycles of two years each), a transition cycle (5th and 6th years), and three years of secondary education.
  • Post-compulsory education (16 years plus): At the end of secondary education, the young person's education can continue in various ways, either within the framework of vocational training (in school or through an apprenticeship), or at a traditional high school, or in another type of school awarding a school leaver's certificate. There is also a transition year for students who do not yet have a definitive study plan at the end of their compulsory education.

Day nursery

For children whose parents are working or studying at the University of Lausanne, the institution, in collaboration with the Federal Polytechnic school of Lausanne, provides two day nurseries that accept children from the age of 8 weeks and up to the age of admittance to an infant's school. If you prefer a day nursery near the place you live, by consulting the useful links on this page you will find a complete list of nurseries active in the vicinity of Lausanne.

Public (i.e. state-run) schools

If your stay exceeds six months, you can enrol your children at one of the schools of your municipality of residence. Their assignment to a particular school and building may depend on pupil numbers in classes or on constraints related to how your family is organised. We advise you to contact the Schools Department before your arrival to confirm the possibility of enrolment.

Primary and secondary schools
Place Chauderon 9
5e étage
Case postale 5032
CH-1002 Lausanne
Phone: +41 (0)21 315 64 11
Fax: +41 (0)21 315 60 04

Private schools

A large number of private schools operate in the Canton of Vaud. They are grouped together in an association: the AVDEP. Its web site contains all information concerning regulations and enrolment procedures.

How to proceed

It is very important for you to begin your search before your arrival, because the availability of places cannot be guaranteed.

The association "La Family.ch" has created a comprehensive information centre for families with children living in Switzerland. On the pages of their web site, you can find advice, useful addresses and information classified by subject matter or accessible through a key word search.

TOP ^

Family Reunification

For family reunification, nationality is the decisive factor. The nationals of a signatory country of the agreement on the free circulation of persons (French acronym: ALCP), can apply for family reunification in favour of the spouse, husband or wife, descendants of both spouses aged under 21 or over 21 if they are still dependents, and any ascendants who are dependents of the applicants. The conditions governing eligibility for family reunification are as follows:

  • having appropriate accommodation
  • having health insurance cover for all family members
  • having sufficient financial means for the family's maintenance
  • for descendants aged over 21 and ascendants, proving the existence of their prior dependence

If you are a national of a non-signatory State, but you are the holder of a B or C residence permit, your family members are entitled to apply for a residence permit for family reunification. If you are the holder of a short-term L permit or of a B residence permit of a temporary nature (permit for study, internships, etc), your family members cannot, in principle, claim the right to family reunification. The application for family reunification may be filed in favour of the spouse and the children of both spouses under 18 years of age.

The conditions governing eligibility for family reunification are the following:

  • having appropriate accommodation
  • having health insurance cover for all family members
  • having sufficient financial means for the family's maintenance
  • for holders of a B residence permit, proving the existence of a stable gainful activity and therefore of employment

For information on the procedure for family reunification, see the specific web page of the Canton of Vaud.



TOP ^


Search:
 in this site:
   
   
   
 Rechercher
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  - Switzerland  -  Phone +41 21 692 20 20  -  Fax  +41 21 692 20 05

Vous êtes ici: UNIL > EURAXESS: Accueil des chercheurs étrangers > La vie en Suisse > Scolarisation et famille
Français | English

Scolarisation et famille

Scolarisation | Regroupement familial
 

Scolarisation

En Suisse, le système de formation est géré par les cantons. Dans le Canton de Vaud, la scolarité est organisée de la façon suivante :

  • Avant l'école (0 - 4 ans) : Avant l'âge d'entrée dans une école enfantine, les parents peuvent inscrire leur enfant dans un lieu d'accueil (centre de vie enfantine, halte-jeu, jardin d'enfant, garderie, etc).
  • Scolarité enfantine, cycle initial (4 - 6 ans) : Elle n'est pas obligatoire mais est fréquentée par plus de 95% de chaque volée d'enfants.
  • Scolarité obligatoire (6 - 16 ans) : La scolarité obligatoire commence à l'âge de 6 ans et se déroule sur neuf ans. Elle comprend quatre années primaires (2 cycles de deux ans), un cycle de transition (5e et 6e année) et trois années secondaires.
  • Scolarité postobligatoire (16 ans et plus) : Au terme de la scolarité secondaire, la poursuite de la formation s'effectue dans les différentes voies, soit dans le cadre de la formation professionnelle (en école ou en apprentissage), soit au gymnase, soit dans une école de maturité. Une année de transition existe également pour les élèves n'ayant pas encore d'orientation définie au terme de leur scolarité obligatoire.

Garderie

Pour les enfants dont les parents travaillent ou étudient à l'Université de Lausanne, l'Institution, en collaboration avec l'École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, met à disposition deux garderies qui accueillent des enfants dès l'âge de 8 semaines et jusqu'à l'âge de l'entrée à l'école enfantine. Si vous recherchez une garderie en proximité de votre domicile, en consultant les liens utiles de cette page, vous trouverez la liste complète des crèches actives dans les alentours de Lausanne.

Écoles publiques

Si votre séjour dépasse les six mois, vous pouvez inscrire vos enfants à une des écoles de votre commune de résidence. L'attribution à un établissement et à un bâtiment scolaire peut dépendre des effectifs de classes ou des contraintes liées à l'organisation familiale. Nous vous conseillons de vous adresser au Service des écoles avant votre arrivée de façon à confirmer la possibilité d'inscription.

Ecoles primaires et secondaires
Place Chauderon 9
5e étage
Case postale 5032
1002 Lausanne
Tél. +41 (0)21 315 64 11
Fax +41 (0)21 315 60 04

Écoles privées

Une multitude d'écoles privées sont présentes dans le Canton de Vaud, celles-ci sont regroupées en une association: l'AVDEP, dont le site Internet contient toutes les informations concernant leur règlement et les procédures d'inscription.

Pratique

L'association « La Family.ch » a créé un centre global d'information pour les familles avec enfants vivant en Suisse. Sur les pages de leur site Internet, vous pouvez trouver des conseils, des bonnes adresses et des informations classées par thèmes ou accessibles par une recherche par mots clé.

Regroupement familial

Pour le regroupement familial, le critère de la nationalité est déterminant. Les ressortissants d'un pays soumis à l'accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP), peuvent déposer la demande de regroupement familial en faveur de l'époux ou de l'épouse, des descendants des deux époux de moins de 21 ans ou de plus de 21 ans s'ils sont encore à charge et des ascendants qui sont à charge. Les conditions pour l'octroi du regroupement familial sont les suivantes:

  • disposer d'un logement convenable
  • disposer d'une couverture d'assurance-maladie pour tous les membres de la famille
  • disposer de revenus financiers suffisants pour l'entretien de la famille
  • pour les descendants de plus de 21 ans et les ascendants, prouver l'existence d'une prise en charge préalable

Si vous êtes ressortissants d'un Etat tiers et vous êtes au bénéfice d'une autorisation de séjour (permis B ou C), les membres de votre famille ont la possibilité de demander une autorisation de séjour par regroupement familial. Si vous êtes au bénéfice d'une autorisation de courte durée (permis L) ou de séjour (permis B) à caractère temporaire (permis pour études, stages, etc), les membres de votre famille ne peuvent en principe pas prétendre à un droit au regroupement familial. La demande de regroupement familial peut être déposée en faveur de l'époux ou l'épouse et des enfants des deux époux de moins de 18 ans.

Les conditions pour l'octroi du regroupement familial sont les suivantes :

  • disposer d'un logement convenable
  • disposer d'une couverture d'assurance-maladie pour tous les membres de la famille
  • disposer de revenus financiers suffisants pour l'entretien de la famille
  • pour les personnes au bénéfice d'une autorisation de séjour (permis B), faire preuve d'une activité lucrative stable et donc disposer d'un emploi

Pour vous renseigner sur la procédure de regroupement familial voir la page web spécifique du Canton de Vaud.

TOP ^


Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne  - Suisse  -  Tél. +41 21 692 20 20  -  Fax  +41 21 692 20 05