PhD - FAQ

1. Do you need to be a genius to do a doctorate?

No one embarks on a doctoral thesis with the idea of winning a Nobel Prize! The thesis marks the completion of a piece of original, long-term reflection; one that requires great personal investment and creativity. You’ll need to have a passion, both for your scientific discipline as well as for the object of your study. Even if your research doesn’t necessarily revolutionise science, it will bring significant advancement of understanding of a subject. You will become expert in a domain, and at the same time you will help to develop knowledge.

Furthermore, it’s not necessary to have a specific idea of what you want to do when you begin your doctorate. The first year is expected to be a time during which your research project is defined.

cerveau.png

2. Does the doctorate usually begin right after the Master degree?

Many doctoral candidates begin their doctorate right after their Master degree. Others take it on after a few years of professional experience.

In certain areas, it can even be interesting to have some practical experience that has brought to light research questions. In other areas, it is preferable to start right after the Master degree, in order not to finish too late – above all if you want to follow an academic career path.

3. Does doing a doctorate mean I’ll have an employment contract?

Doing a doctorate does not necessarily mean having an employment contract. In fact, you can be registered as a doctoral candidate (i.e. with the status of third level student) without being employed by the University or the FNS/SNF (the Swiss National Science Foundation). At UNIL, around 53 % of doctoral candidates do not have an employment contract as an assistant (this percentage varies strongly across the faculties, with 69% of candidates without a contract in Arts, and 35% in Geosciences and Environment). Some doctoral candidates have another, part-time employment alongside their doctoral studies (for example, in a hospital, school or museum). In such cases, you need to be sure you’ll have enough time to give to your doctoral thesis.

4. Is doing a doctorate a job like any other?

You should realize that “doing a doctorate means committing yourself to a long-term experience that will require great personal discipline, the capacity to work alone over a long period, and to know how to bounce back after a bad patch… The decision to undertake a doctorate should also, and above all, be a result of personal and intellectual interests” rather than with the idea of a high-earning salary. (Taken from the booklet: Getting your thesis off to a good start)

5. Even if I’m not particularly motivated by the proposed subject, is it a good way to start?

Some doctoral candidates work on their own research idea. Others are taken on within research projects that have already been defined by their professors. In the latter case, it is essential that the proposed research subject interests you, because you will be committing a number of years to it.

6. Is my thesis director there to tell me what to do?

We expect that anyone doing a doctorate take the initiative and that they progress with the thesis relatively independently. The person who directs the thesis commits to regularly monitoring their doctoral candidate’s work and to giving feedback. They also introduce the doctoral candidate to the culture of research, by helping them to develop critical thought, to become an independent researcher, and to develop their own network. (See the UNIL Code of Practice for the doctorate.)

7. Does doing a doctorate mean working on my own most of the time?

courbe.png

 all images © 1997-2013 Jorge Cham

To do a doctorate means not just undertaking relatively independent research, but is also to be part of a community of researchers (by participating in team meetings, presenting results at conferences, and so on). Doctoral candidates who do their work as part of an FNS project will be part of a research team. A large number of doctoral candidates are also part of a doctoral programme. At UNIL, they can choose from 54 doctoral programmes, many of which are organized in collaboration with other Swiss universities.

8. Are autonomy and time management important skills?

procrastination.png

all images © 1997-2013 Jorge Cham

 

The doctoral thesis is a fascinating project, but it’s also a demanding one that takes up a lot of your time. It’s a project that you need to know how to manage over a very long period. Consequently, it’s important to set short-term objectives, for example, in order to avoid procrastination and keep your motivation levels up. Autonomy and good time management are also important in managing your thesis project. Workshops are offered for doctoral candidates to help them manage their time and organize themselves better, especially with the CUSO Transferable Skills programme.

9. Can you keep private and professional demands balanced while doing a doctorate?

enfant.png

all images © 1997-2013 Jorge Cham

The doctorate allows some degree of flexibility in time schedules, and the possibility to work from home. This can allow the demands of private and professional life to be better reconciled – to an extent.

Nevertheless, this freedom is not always easy to manage and can sometimes entail many extra hours of work. During some phases of the thesis (especially during the final write-up period), the thesis can spill over into private life by demanding your intense commitment.

statut.png

10. How long does the doctorate last?

The duration can vary greatly, and depends on several factors, including the time you have available to devote to your thesis. With an assistant’s contract, you can allocate 50% of your working hours to your thesis. On the other hand, a contract linked to FNS funding and directed by a professor will allow you to dedicate 100% of your time to research connected to your thesis. As table 1 shows, the average duration, for doctoral candidates who started between 1998 and 2002, was a little less than ten semesters, and varied between faculties. You should also note that the number of doctoral candidates in the sample is sometimes very low (for example 7 in FTSR), and that the standard deviations are often very wide. For example, taking an average of ten semesters and a standard deviation of four, means that 68% of the doctoral candidates in the group finished their thesis in six to fourteen semesters - three to seven years!

Duree_PhD_EN.png

Table 1. Average duration in semesters of the doctorate at UNIL for doctoral candidates beginning their thesis between 1998 and 2002, by faculty. (Braun, V. (2013). Suivi de cohortes de doctorants (COHDO). Présentation à la Commission de la Relève académique du 11 juin 2013. Lausanne: Université de Lausanne)

11. What percentage of people obtain their doctorate after ten years?

As the table below shows, the percentage of people who obtained their doctorate after ten years is 59%, for those who started their thesis between 1998 and 2002. The graduation rate varies as a function of the type of employment contract (doctoral candidates with an FNS contract had a higher graduation rate, and doctoral candidates with neither an FNS nor a UNIL contract had a lower graduation rate). Other studies (e.g. Hermann et al., 2014) show that certain factors, such as the feeling of being well integrated into a research environment and the quality of the relationship with the thesis director, can have a favourable impact on the progress of the thesis.

tauxreussite_EN.png

12. Do more men than women do a doctorate?

Of those currently registered for the doctorate at UNIL in 2012, half (49.7%) were women. Obviously, this can vary enormously across the scientific disciplines. For example, in 2012 68% of doctoral candidates in Psychology were women, but only 35% in HEC (see the UNIL statistical calendar for more detail). In order to support female doctoral candidates, specific programmes have been developed in western Switzerland, particularly for mentoring (StartingDoc) and workshops (Regard).

13. What percentage of UNIL doctoral candidates come from other countries?

In 2012, 41% of doctoral candidates at UNIL came from countries outside Switzerland, or 793 of the currently registered 1,916 doctoral candidates. Meanwhile, 29% of doctoral candidates came from other Swiss universities, and 30% had received their Master degree from UNIL.

14. What skills are developed that are only useful for an academic career?

The doctorate brings with it a wide range of skills (for example, time management, critical thinking, a sense of initiative, autonomy, public presentations) that are recognized on the non-academic job market. The important thing is to be aware of them, and to know how to talk about them with a future employer. The doctorate is in general an advantage for positions with greater responsibility. Nevertheless, to have the best chance of success, it’s better to plan your entry on to the job market in advance, and to prepare yourself. Additional training or practical work experience can be required in some sectors. (For further information, see Beyond the doctorate.)

15. Isn’t the only point in doing a doctorate to become a professor?

One year after obtaining their degree, 34% of doctorate holders are employed in the academic sector. “The doctorate is the first step for an academic career, but it also opens the door to other professions close to the scientific domain. The non-academic job market offers diverse and varied career opportunities to doctorate holders.” Only a small number of those who do a doctorate will continue an academic career over the long term. (Taken from the booklet: Getting your thesis off to a good start.)

16. Do you become a professor soon after completing the doctorate?

The academic career can be longer or shorter, according to the discipline. Once you have obtained your doctorate, you are strongly encouraged to go to another university, ideally outside Switzerland, in order to build your experience in another institution.  Generally, between the doctorate and a professorship, you will need to climb several ladders, and the transfer between one ladder and the next is rarely easy: the academic career is marked by a succession of short-term posts. (For further information, see Beyond the doctorate.)

Academic positions and durations in Switzerland

Career step Job title Contract duration*
Professorship Full Professor 4-6 years, renewable
Professorship Associate Professor 4-6 years, renewable
Professorship Assistant Professor / SNSF Grant Professor 4-6 years
Advanced Researcher Senior Lecturer 4-6 years, renewable
Post-doctorate Lecturer / SNSF Lecturer 4-6 years, renewable
Post-doctorate Junior Lecturer 1-6 years
Doctorate Graduate Assistant / SNSF PhD candidates 3-5 years

* These are examples of typical functions. Other posts are also possible, even if it is not easy to place them in a hierarchy. For example: Privat-Docent, group leader, head of research, junior/senior researcher, etc.

17. Is it possible to go abroad during the doctorate?

The doctorate offers multiple opportunities to go abroad. You will regularly need to attend international conferences and meetings in order to present your research as well as exchange with other researchers. The SNSF also offers grants for research work abroad from six to eighteen months.

18. Is the unemployment rate higher for doctorate holders?

According to the Federal Statistics Office figures for 2013, the unemployment rate for doctorate holders was at 1.4%, while it was at 2% for holders of a Bachelor degree, and 2.3% for a Master degree.

Follow us:      
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15

Doctorat, FAQ

1. Il faut être un·e génie pour faire un doctorat?

On ne fait pas une thèse dans l’idée de devenir prix Nobel. La thèse est l’achèvement d’une réflexion originale et de longue haleine, demandant beaucoup d’investissement personnel et de créativité. Il faut être passionné·e tant par sa discipline, que par son sujet d’étude. Si votre recherche ne révolutionnera pas forcément la science, elle apportera une avancée importante dans la compréhension d’un sujet. Vous deviendrez expert·e d’un domaine, en même temps que vous aiderez à l’avancée des savoirs.
D’autre part, il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir une idée précise de ce que l’on veut faire lorsqu’on démarre une thèse. La première année est justement prévue pour définir son projet de recherche.

cerveau.png

2. On commence un doctorat généralement juste après son master?

De nombreux doctorant·e·s commencent un doctorat juste après le master, d’autres se lancent dans un doctorat après une ou plusieurs expériences professionnelles.

Dans certains domaines, il peut en effet être intéressant d’avoir une expérience pratique qui a pu faire émerger des questions de recherche. Dans d’autres domaines, il est préférable de commencer tout de suite après le Master afin de ne pas finir trop tard, surtout si l’on souhaite poursuivre une carrière académique.

3. Faire un doctorat me permet d’avoir un contrat de travail ?

Faire un doctorat ne signifie pas forcément avoir un contrat de travail. Vous pouvez en effet faire une thèse (donc être immatriculé·e en tant qu’étudiant·e de troisième cycle) sans être rémunéré·e par l’Université ou le FNS (Fonds National Suisse de la recherche scientifique). A l’UNIL, environ 53 % des doctorant·e·s n’ont pas de contrat d'assistant-e (ce pourcentage varie fortement entre les facultés avec 69% de doctorant·e·s sans contrat en Lettres et 35 % en FGSE ou FBM). Certains ont un autre emploi à temps partiel à côté de leurs études doctorales (par ex. dans un hôpital, dans une école ou un musée). Il faut dans ce cas être attentif à avoir assez de temps à consacrer à sa thèse.

4. Faire un doctorat c’est avoir un job comme un autre ?

Il faut bien se rendre compte que « faire une thèse, c’est s’investir dans une expérience de longue durée qui requiert une grande discipline personnelle, la capacité de travailler seul·e sur le long terme et de savoir rebondir en cas de passage à vide.(…) Aussi, c’est avant toute chose en fonction de ses motivations personnelles et intellectuelles que la décision de se lancer dans une thèse doit se prendre» plutôt que dans la perspective d’avoir un emploi rémunéré. (Extrait de la brochure "Bien démarrer sa thèse").

5. Même si je ne suis pas motivé·e par le thème proposé, c’est un bon moyen de démarrer ?

Certain·e·s doctorant·e·s travaillent sur leur propre idée de recherche. D’autres sont engagé·e·s dans le cadre de projets de recherche déjà préalablement défini·e·s par les professeur·e·s. Dans ce cas, il est essentiel que le thème de recherche proposé vous intéresse car vous allez y consacrer un certain nombre d’années.

6. Mon/ma directeur-trice de thèse est là pour me dire ce que je dois faire ?

Il est attendu d’une personne qui fait un doctorat qu’elle prenne des initiatives et qu’elle avance dans son travail de manière relativement autonome. La personne qui dirige la thèse s’engage à suivre régulièrement le travail de son doctorant ou sa doctorante et à lui donner du feedback. Elle introduit également le doctorant ou la doctorante à la culture de la recherche, en l’aidant à développer une réflexion critique, à devenir un scientifique indépendant et à développer un réseau. (Voir à ce propos la charte du doctorat UNIL).

7. Faire un doctorat c’est travailler la majorité du temps seul·e ?

courbe.png

all images © 1997-2017 Jorge Cham

Faire un doctorat c’est non seulement faire une recherche de manière relativement autonome mais c’est aussi être inséré·e dans une communauté de chercheur·euse·s (participer à des colloques d’équipes, présenter ses résultats lors de congrès). Les doctorant-e-s qui font leur thèse dans le cadre d’un projet FNS seront intégré·e·s à une équipe de recherche. Une grande partie des doctorant-e-s participent également à un programme doctoral. A l’UNIL, les doctorant·e·s ont le choix parmi 54 programmes doctoraux.  Certains de ces programmes sont conjoints à d’autres universités suisses.

 

8. L’autonomie et la gestion du temps sont des compétences importantes ?

procrastination.png

all images © 1997-2013 Jorge Cham

La thèse est un travail passionnant mais exigeant qui prend beaucoup de temps. C’est un projet qu’il faut savoir gérer sur le long terme. Il est ainsi important, par exemple, de se fixer des objectifs à plus court terme afin, entre autres, d’éviter la procrastination et de garder un certain niveau de motivation. L’autonomie et une bonne gestion du temps sont ainsi importantes dans la gestion de son projet de thèse.

Des ateliers sont proposés aux doctorant·e·s pour les aider à gérer leur temps et à s’organiser, notamment dans le programme transversal de la CUSO.

9. Faire un doctorat permet de concilier vie privée et vie professionnelle ?

enfant.png
all images © 1997-2017 Jorge Cham

Le doctorat offre une certaine flexibilité dans les horaires et une possibilité de travailler depuis la maison, ce qui peut permettre, dans une certaine mesure, de mieux concilier vie privée et vie professionnelle.

Cette liberté n’est cependant pas toujours facile à gérer et peut amener à faire passablement d’heures supplémentaires. À certaines périodes de la thèse (notamment lors de la rédaction finale), la thèse peut d’ailleurs parfois déborder sur la vie privée en vous demandant un grand investissement en temps.

statut.png

​all images © 1997-2017 Jorge Cham

10. Combien de temps dure un doctorat ?

La durée varie beaucoup et dépend de plusieurs facteurs, dont le temps que vous pouvez consacrer à votre thèse. Avec un contrat d’assistant·e, vous pouvez consacrer 50% de votre temps de travail à votre thèse alors qu’avec un contrat lié à un projet financé par le FNS et dirigé par un-e professeur-e, vous pouvez en principe consacrer 100% de votre temps de travail à la recherche en lien avec votre thèse. Comme l’indique le tableau 1, la durée moyenne, pour les doctorant·e·s qui ont débuté entre 1998 et 2002, est d’un peu moins de 10 semestres et varie en fonction des facultés. Il faut être attentif au fait que le nombre de doctorants est parfois faible (par ex. 7 en FTSR) et que les écarts-types sont souvent importants. Par ex. avec une moyenne de 10 semestres et un écart-type de 4, cela veut dire que 68% des doctorant·e·s du groupe ont fini leur thèse entre 6 et 14 semestres.

DureePhD.png

Tableau 1. Durée moyenne en semestres du doctorat à l’UNIL pour les doctorant·e·s ayant débuté entre 1998 et 2002 en fonction des facultés (Braun, 2013)

Braun, V. (2013). Suivi de cohortes de doctorants (COHDO). Présentation à la Commission de la Relève accadémique du 11 juin 2013. Lausanne: Université de Lausanne

11. Quel pourcentage de personnes obtiennent leur titre de docteur après 10 ans ?

Comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous, le pourcentage de personnes qui a obtenu son titre après 10 ans est de 59% pour les doctorant·e·s qui ont débuté leur thèse entre 1998 et 2002. Les taux de graduation varient en fonction du type de contrat (les doctorant·e·s avec un contrat FNS ont un taux de graduation plus élevé et les doctorant·e·s qui n’ont pas de contrat UNIL ou FNS un taux de graduation plus bas). D’autres études (par ex. Hermann et al., 2014) montrent que certains facteurs, comme le sentiment d’être intégré·e à un environnement de recherche et la qualité de la relation avec son directeur ou sa directrice de thèse, favorisent l’avancement du doctorat.

tauxreussite.png

Braun, V. (2013). Suivi de cohortes de doctorants (COHDO). Présentation à la Commission de la Relève accadémique du 11 juin 2013. Lausanne: Université de Lausanne

12. Il y a plus d’hommes que de femmes qui font un doctorat ?

En 2012, la moitié (49.7%) des personnes inscrites en doctorat à l’UNIL étaient des femmes. Bien sûr, cette proportion varie beaucoup selon les disciplines. Par exemple, en 2012, les femmes étaient 68% des doctorant·e·s en psychologie et seulement 35% des doctorant·e·s en HEC (voir l’annuaire statistique de l'Unil pour plus de détail). Afin de soutenir les doctorantes, des programmes romands spécifiques ont été conçus, notamment un programme de mentoring (StartingDoc) et des ateliers (ateliers REGARD).

13. Quel est le pourcentage à l’Unil de doctorant·e·s provenant d’autres pays ?

En 2012, il y avait à l’UNIL 41% de doctorant·e·s provenant d’autres pays que la Suisse. A savoir 793 sur un total de 1916 doctorant·e·s. 29% provenaient d’autres universités suisses et 30% avaient une licence ou un master de l’UNIL.

14. Les compétences développées ne sont utiles que pour une carrière académique ?

Le doctorat apporte toute une série de compétences (par ex. gestion du temps, l'analyse critique, sens de l’initiative, autonomie, prise de parole en publique) reconnues sur le marché du travail hors académique, à condition d’en être conscient·e et de savoir en parler à son futur employeur. Le doctorat constitue généralement un atout pour briguer un poste à responsabilité. Toutefois, pour mettre toutes les chances de son côté, mieux vaut planifier son entrée sur le marché de l’emploi à l’avance et s’y préparer. En effet, une formation complémentaire ou une expérience pratique peuvent être demandées dans certains secteurs. (Voir à ce propos la brochure Au-delà du doctorat).

15. On fait un doctorat seulement si on veut devenir professeur·e ?

34% des titulaires d’un doctorat exercent un emploi sur le marché académique un an après l’obtention de leur titre.  « Le doctorat est la première étape d’une carrière académique, mais il ouvre aussi à d’autres professions proches des milieux scientifiques. Le marché de l’emploi non académique offre en effet des opportunités de carrière diverses et variées aux docteurs et docteures. » Seule une petite partie des personnes engagées dans un doctorat poursuit une carrière académique sur le long terme.  (Extrait de la brochure Bien démarrer sa thèse).

16. Après le doctorat, on devient rapidement professeur·e ?

La carrière académique peut être plus ou moins longue selon les disciplines. Après avoir obtenu sa thèse, il est fortement recommandé de partir dans une autre université, idéalement en dehors de la Suisse, afin d’avoir une expérience dans une autre institution. Généralement, entre le doctorat et le professorat, on doit gravir plusieurs échelons et le passage d’un échelon à l’autre est rarement automatique. La carrière académique est marquée par une succession de postes à durée déterminée. (Voir à ce propos la brochure Au-delà du doctorat).

Tableau des postes et fonctions

Phases de la carrière académique en Suisse Fonctions académiques en Suisse* Période indicative par fonction en Suisse
Professorat Professeur·e ordinaire de 4 à 6 ans, renouvelable
Professorat Professeur·e associé·e de 4 à 6 ans, renouvelable
Professorat Professeur·e assistant·e/ Professeur·e boursier·e FNS de 4 à 6 ans
Chercheur·e avancé·e Maitre d’enseignement et de recherche de 4 à 6 ans, renouvelable
Post-doctorat Maître assistant·e/ Maître assistant·e FNS de 4 à 6 ans, renouvelable
Post-doctorat Premier assistant/Première assistante de 1 à 6 ans
Doctorat Assistant·e diplômé·e /Doctorant·e FNS de 3 à 5 ans

*Nous identifions ici quelques fonctions classiques. Cependant, d’autres fonctions sont également possibles, même s’il n’est pas aisé de les placer dans une hiérarchie: privat-docent, chef·fe de groupe, responsable de recherche, chargée de cours, junior/senior researcher, etc.

17. Est-il possible de partir à l’étranger durant son doctorat ?

Le doctorat offre de multiples opportunités de partir à l’étranger. Vous serez régulièrement amené·e à participer à des conférences/congrès internationaux afin de présenter votre recherche ainsi que d’échanger avec d’autres chercheurs. Le FNS propose également des bourses afin de faire une expérience de recherche à l’étranger de 6 à 18 mois.

18. Le taux de chômage est plus élevé pour les détenteurs d’un doctorat ?

Selon les données de l’OFS de 2013, le taux de chômage des docteurs s’élève à 1.4 % alors qu’il est de 2% chez les détenteurs d’un Bachelor et de 2.3% chez ceux qui ont un Master.

Suivez nous:  
Partagez:
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15