Research Projects

IDHEAP’s Public Law Unit focuses on three research areas:

Public actors: The evolution of State activities towards the management of public policies, the development of cooperation and international agencies, or even the increasingly significant role of judges, are all trends which blur the traditional template of the State’s organisation and functioning. This evolution has led to the emergence of a particularly complex tangle of power relations and raises questions about the shape and challenges of contemporary public administrations.

Types of public action: In the field of public action, it is generally accepted that laws are produced by the State and that the State must then also abide by those laws. In a broad sense, the law is considered as the State tool “par excellence”. However, the concept of the law has undergone some remarkable changes. On the substantive side, matters of public law are increasingly regulated by international law. At the procedural level, we are witnessing a lessening of the binding force of legal regulations with the development of the tools of soft law. We are also witnessing the development of incentive instruments which are subsequently inserted into the legal framework. The themes needing regulation also stand out by their highly technical nature requiring the development of both formal and informal bodies, staffed by experts (whether internal or external) who advise legislators. This development favours the use of delegation. These substantive and procedural changes raise questions about the State’s traditional legal instruments, as well as how its regulations are put together, implemented and monitored.

Relationships with private individuals: The relationship between the State and private individuals is characteristically seen as vertical and unequal. The development of fundamental rights founded on the values of human dignity, liberty and equality have since modified the nature of that relationship. Those rights continue to shape the scope, purpose and limits of State action. Also, with the advent of new means of communication, new social transformations are also taking place, with a growing need to show respect for the values of transparency, trust and even participation in decision making. Since then, this research area has also aimed to investigate the impact of social transformations on the regulation of public administration and action.

Follow us:        

Unit director

sophie_weerts.jpg

Prof. Sophie Weerts
Quartier UNIL-Mouline
Bâtiment IDHEAP
CH-1015 Lausanne
+41 21 692 69 60
sophie.weerts@unil.ch

Unisciences Link

 

Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09

Projets de recherche

L’unité de droit public de l’IDHEAP privilégie, trois axes de recherche :

Les acteurs publics : l’évolution des activités étatiques vers la gestion de politiques publiques, le développement de la coopération et des agences internationales ou encore l’importance du rôle du juge sont autant de tendances qui brouillent le schéma classique de l’organisation et du fonctionnement de l’Etat. Ils laissent émerger un enchevêtrement particulièrement complexe de relations de pouvoir et interroge ainsi les contours et enjeux de l’administration publique contemporaine.

Le mode d’action publique : dans ce domaine, il est généralement admis que le droit est produit par l’Etat qui doit aussi respecter le droit. La loi, entendue au sens large, est considérée comme l’instrument par excellence. Or, le phénomène juridique est traversé par des évolutions remarquables. Sur un plan matériel, les matières du droit public sont de plus en plus réglées par le droit international. Sur le plan formel, on assiste à un adoucissement de la force contraignante de la norme juridique avec le développement d’instruments de soft law. On assiste également à un développement des instruments incitatifs, lesquels sont insérés dans la loi. Les matières à réglementer se distingue aussi par une « hyper-technicité », nécessitant le développement d’instances formelles ou informelles, dotées d’« experts » (internes ou externes), qui « conseillent » le législateur. Ce développement favorise alors le recours au principe de délégation. Ces changements matériels et formels questionnent alors les instruments juridiques classiques de l’Etat, ainsi que les processus de formation, d’application et de contrôle de la norme.

Les rapports avec les personnes privées : le rapport Etat-personne privée est classiquement envisagé comme un rapport vertical et inégalitaire. Le développement des droits fondamentaux, fondés sur les valeurs de dignité humaine, liberté et égalité ont modifié la nature des rapports Etat/individus. Ils continuent de façonner le champ, la finalité et les limites de l’action de l’Etat. En outre, avec l’avènement des moyens de communication, de nouvelles transformations sociales sont également à l’œuvre avec la montée en puissance du respect de valeurs de transparence, confiance ou encore de collaboration à la prise de décision. Dès lors, ce troisième axe de recherche vise aussi à investiguer l’impact de ces transformations sociales sur la réglementation de l’administration et de l’action publiques.

Suivez nous:        

Responsable de l'unité

sophie_weerts.jpg

Prof. Sophie Weerts
Quartier UNIL-Mouline
Bâtiment IDHEAP
CH-1015 Lausanne
+41 21 692 69 60
sophie.weerts@unil.ch

Page Unisciences

 

Partagez:
Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09