University exchanges: what you need to know

delano-balten-348814-unsplash-resize730x485-crop730x242.jpg

Taking part in a university exchange is a unique and fascinating experience, provided you prepare for it properly.

 

The first thing to remember is that you need start the process well in advance, i.e. a minimum of one year before your anticipated departure date. For example, if you are aiming to study abroad in the 3rd year of your bachelor’s course, you need to start the process at the start of your 2nd year at the latest.

 

There are different types of university exchange agreement. Make sure you check which type of agreement you are intending to study under, as the deadlines for applying and some of the arrangements are different!

 

In general terms, if you apply by 1 December for a destination under a general agreement as your first choice and you are not accepted, you will find out in late January or early February. This means you will have the option of applying for an SEMP or faculty agreement by 20 February.

 

If your first choice is a destination available under a faculty or SEMP agreement, you simply need to apply to your faculty by 20 February. If you are not accepted, you can apply again by 15 April to study under a general agreement, but only for the spring term of the following year (provided there are still places available).

 

Read our short guide to student mobility to help you get your bearings.

 

Follow us:            
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel. +41 21 692 20 20

Echange universitaire : marche à suivre

delano-balten-348814-unsplash-resize730x485-crop730x242.jpg

Partir en échange universitaire est une expérience unique et très enrichissante, à condition de bien la préparer.

 

La première chose à retenir est qu’il faut s’y prendre bien à l’avance pour débuter les démarches, c’est-à-dire au minimum une année avant la date souhaitée de départ. Par exemple, si vous visez de partir en 3ème année de bachelor, il vous faut au plus tard commencer vos démarches au début de votre 2ème année.

 

Il existe différents types d’accords d’échange universitaire. Veillez à bien vérifier sous quel type d’accord vous comptez partir car les délais de candidature et certaines modalités sont différents !

 

De manière générale, si vous postulez au 1er décembre pour une destination d’un accord général car c’est votre priorité et que vous n’êtes pas retenu·e, vous le saurez entre fin janvier et début février. Ainsi, vous aurez la possibilité de postuler pour un accord SEMP ou facultaire pour le 20 février.

 

Si votre priorité est une destination disponible sous un accord facultaire ou SEMP, il vous faut postuler pour le 20 février uniquement auprès de votre faculté. Si vous ne deviez pas être retenu·e, vous pourrez encore tenter votre chance au 15 avril pour partir sous un accord général, mais uniquement au semestre de printemps de l’année suivante (pour autant qu’il reste des places disponibles).

 

Consultez le petit guide de la mobilité étudiante pour vous aider à vous repérer.

 

Suivez nous:            
Partagez:
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 20