Practical information

delano-balten-348814-unsplash-resize730x485-crop730x242.jpg

Mobility grants

Except in a few rare cases, any period spent abroad under a university exchange agreement entitles you to the payment of a mobility grant, the amount of which is shown in the agreement information sheet, which you will find in the exchange agreements database. There are no particular formalities to complete to request a mobility grant; if you are selected for a university exchange, you are automatically entitled to the grant provided for the destination concerned.

 

However, for some destinations, no grant is paid; instead, the host university covers the costs of meals and accommodation.

 

Once you have been selected and your name put forward to the host university, SASME will contact you in good time to sort out the practical arrangements for the payment of your grant.

TOP ^

Additional grant for students in financial difficulty

If your financial situation makes it difficult or impossible for you to consider studying abroad, don’t panic! SASME can offer additional funding for students in financial difficulty, on top of the standard mobility grant.

 

To apply for financial assistance, you must have received your confirmation from the host university. Once you have it, you should contact SASME and complete the financial assistance application form on its website (in the “Student support” section) and attach the information requested. If your application is accepted, the amount you are awarded will be paid at the same time as your mobility grant.

TOP ^

Course enrolment fees

When you take part in a university exchange for one or two semesters, you are classed as an exchange student, which means you are entitled to a reduction in course enrolment fees. You will therefore pay UNIL only CHF 180 per semester instead of CHF 580. In addition, studying in your host university under the agreement signed with UNIL exempts you from paying enrolment fees at the host university. It can therefore be very advantageous to study abroad in these circumstances.

 

TOP ^

Accommodation

One of the major concerns of students who are preparing for an exchange is finding accommodation in their host city. How easy it is to find accommodation at a reasonable price will depend on your destination. Some partner universities have a campus and may offer you accommodation but this is far from the norm in the majority of cases.

 

Whatever the circumstances, it is worth finding out about the state of the local housing market and its conditions, well in advance. Follow the advice from your host university carefully and don’t hesitate to contact the relevant department for help, once the university concerned has confirmed your enrolment.

 

Make sure you read about the experiences of previous students who have taken part in an exchange, which you can find on the information sheet about the agreement with your host university. You can also check out the blog written by UNIL exchange students, where you will find plenty of informative stories from fellow students who are currently abroad!

 

You can also use the website student.com, which lists over a million accommodation offers in 25 countries, to help you find somewhere to live. The accommodation offered is mainly in student halls managed by private firms.

 

Finally, we recommend that you attend the UNIL ambassadors’ evening, which takes place in May every year, mainly to make contact with former students who have taken part in an exchange and can offer you plenty of practical advice.

 

TOP ^

Calendars, examinations and length of exchange

The maximum length of a university exchange is two consecutive semesters, generally during the same academic year. However, academic calendars vary significantly in different parts of the world, and from one country to another, even in Europe. In the southern hemisphere, for example, the academic calendar is based on the calendar year and starts in January.

 

Therefore, if you are leaving for the spring semester according to the UNIL calendar, you may need to leave as early as January. You will also have to make arrangements with the heads of your faculty, section or school so that you do not have to sit your examinations in January.

 

Some countries (Canada, for example) split their academic year into three terms, so it is important to communicate clearly with the host university to determine precisely when you are intending to study there. Your mobility adviser will be happy to provide more detailed information on this point.

TOP ^

Insurance

It is essential to get information on how you will be covered during your exchange in terms of insurance, particularly for illness and accidents, before you depart.

 

Your compulsory health insurance in Switzerland should also cover you against accidents, provided you are in regular employment and your employer covers you for this risk. If you are intending to terminate your employment contract in preparation for your exchange, it is essential to ask your LAMal insurer to cover you against accidents.

 

Once you have done this, you must contact the relevant local authorities in your host country about the requirements for health and accident insurance. Some countries will recognise your Swiss insurance (which will be the case within the European Union, if you have a European Health Insurance Card), while others will require you to take out local insurance.

 

In the first case, you should check the limits to your cover while you are living abroad with your LAMal insurer and, if necessary, take out top-up insurance to provide additional cover.

 

In the second case, it is not unusual for the host university to require you to take out additional insurance. However, you should still check that it provides appropriate cover during your stay.

 

Finally, you are recommended to take out insurance in case you need to be repatriated because of an accident or serious illness.

 

 

TOP ^

Follow us:            
Ch√Ęteau de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel. +41 21 692 20 20

Informations pratiques

delano-balten-348814-unsplash-resize730x485-crop730x242.jpg

Les bourses de mobilité

A quelques rares exceptions près, tout séjour de mobilité dans le cadre d’un accord d’échange universitaire donne lieu au versement d’une bourse de mobilité dont le montant est indiqué dans la fiche de l’accord que vous trouverez dans la base de données des accords d’échange. Vous n’avez aucune démarche particulière à entreprendre pour demander cette bourse ; si vous êtes retenu·e pour un échange universitaire, vous avez droit automatiquement à la bourse de mobilité prévue pour la destination en question.

 

Pour quelques destinations toutefois, aucune bourse n’est versée mais l’université d’accueil prend en charge le logement et les repas.

 

Le SASME vous contactera en temps utile une fois que vous aurez été sélectionné·e et annoncé·e à l’université d’accueil pour régler les modalités pratiques liées au versement de cette bourse.

TOP ^

Complément de bourse à caractère social

Si votre situation financière ne vous permet pas d’envisager un séjour à l’étranger ou constitue un frein à cette mobilité, pas de panique ! Le SASME peut octroyer des compléments de type social à la bourse de mobilité qui est prévue pour votre séjour.

 

Pour demander une telle aide financière, il faut avant tout que vous soyez en possession de la confirmation de l’université d’accueil. Ceci fait, il vous faut vous adresser au SASME et compléter le formulaire de demande d’aide financière qui vous trouverez sur son site internet (section « soutien aux étudiant·e·s ») et y joindre les annexes demandées. En cas d’acceptation de votre demande, le montant accordé sera versé en même temps que votre bourse de mobilité.

TOP ^

Taxes d’inscription aux cours

Lorsque vous partez en mobilité pendant un ou deux semestres, vous bénéficiez du statut d’étudiant·e en mobilité, qui vous donne droit à une réduction des taxes d’inscription aux cours. Ainsi, vous ne paierez que CHF 180.- par semestre à l’UNIL au lieu de CHF 580.-. Par ailleurs, le fait d’étudier dans votre université d’accueil dans le cadre de l’accord conclu avec l’UNIL vous dispense des frais d’inscription au sein de l’université d’accueil. Il devient dès lors particulièrement avantageux d’étudier à l’étranger dans ces circonstances.

TOP ^

Logement

L’une des préoccupations majeures des étudiant·e·s qui s’apprêtent à partir en mobilité, c’est de trouver un logement dans leur ville d’accueil. En fonction de votre destination, il sera plus ou moins aisé de trouver un logement à un prix raisonnable. Certaines universités partenaires disposent d’un campus et peuvent vous y proposer un logement mais ce n’est de loin pas la majorité des cas.

 

Quoi qu’il en soit, il vaut la peine de bien se renseigner à l’avance sur l’état du marché du logement local et ses conditions. Suivez attentivement les conseils de votre université d’accueil et n’hésitez pas à solliciter son service compétent pour vous aider, une fois que l’université en question a confirmé votre inscription.

 

N’hésitez pas non plus à consulter les témoignages d’ancien·ne·s étudiant·e·s partis en échange que vous trouverez en vous rendant sur la fiche de l’accord concernant votre université d’accueil. Consultez également le blog des étudiant·e·s de l’UNIL en échange où vous découvrirez les récits de vos camarades actuellement à l’étranger, qui sont riches en enseignements !

 

Pour vous aider dans vos recherches de logement, vous pouvez consulter le site internet student.com, qui propose plus d’un million de logements répartis dans 25 pays. Les logements proposés sont essentiellement situés dans des résidences pour étudiant·e·s gérées par des entités privées.

 

Nous vous recommandons enfin de participer à la soirée des ambassadeurs de l’UNIL qui a lieu chaque année au mois de mai, notamment pour obtenir les contacts d’ancien·ne·s étudiant·e·s partis en échange, qui pourront vous donner de précieux conseils pratiques.

TOP ^

Calendriers, examens et durée du séjour

La durée maximale d’un échange universitaire est de deux semestres consécutifs, en général au cours de la même année académique. Toutefois, les calendriers universitaires diffèrent passablement d’une région du monde à l’autre, voire d’un pays à l’autre, même en Europe. Ainsi, dans l’hémisphère Sud, le calendrier académique est calqué sur l’année civile et commence en janvier.

 

Ainsi, si vous partez au cours du semestre de printemps selon le calendrier de l’UNIL, vous pourriez devoir partir déjà au mois de janvier. Aussi, il faut vous organiser avec les responsables de votre faculté, section ou école pour ne pas devoir passer vos examens au mois de janvier.

 

Par ailleurs, certains pays connaissent des années académiques scindées en trimestres (c’est le cas du Canada, par exemple) et il est donc important de bien communiquer avec l’université d’accueil pour définir précisément à quelle période vous comptez y étudier. Votre conseiller·ère mobilité vous renseignera volontiers sur ce point plus en détails.

TOP ^

Assurances

Avant votre départ, il est essentiel de bien vous renseigner sur la manière dont vous serez couvert·e pendant votre séjour d’échange en termes d’assurances, principalement contre les risques de maladie et d’accident.

 

Votre assurance-maladie obligatoire en Suisse devrait vous couvrir contre le risque accident également, à moins que vous ayez une activité lucrative régulière et que votre employeur vous assure contre ce risque. En cas de résiliation des rapports de service avec votre employeur en prévision de votre séjour, il est impératif de demander à votre assureur LAMal de vous couvrir contre l’accident.

 

Ceci fait, il est indispensable de vous renseigner auprès des autorités locales compétentes dans votre pays d’accueil sur les exigences en matière d’assurance maladie et accident. Certains pays reconnaîtront votre assurance suisse (ce qui sera le cas au sein de l’Union européenne si vous avez une carte européenne d’assurance), d’autres exigeront que vous contractiez une assurance sur place.

 

Dans le premier cas, il vous faut vous renseigner auprès de votre assureur LAMal sur les limites de sa couverture pendant votre séjour à l’étranger et, cas échéant, contracter une assurance complémentaire qui vous couvrira de manière subsidiaire.

 

Dans le second cas, il n’est pas rare que l’université d’accueil vous oblige à contracter une assurance spécifique. Assurez-vous toutefois qu’elle vous couvre correctement pendant votre séjour.

 

Enfin, il est recommandé de contracter une assurance pour les cas de rapatriement en cas d’accident ou de maladie grave.

TOP ^

Suivez nous:            
Partagez:
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 20