Go to: content | top | bottom | search
Lemanic Neuroscience
You are hereLemanic Neuroscience > LN Doctoral School > Infos for LN PhD Students > Biaggi de Blasys Award

Biaggi de Blasys Award

Call for proposals | Laureats in 2015 | Awardees

Call for proposals

The Biaggi de Blasys award is attributed once a year to the author of the best doctoral thesis in Neuroscience  defended at the Universities of Geneva or Lausanne, or the EPFL in a particular year. Currently, candidates can apply who obtained their PhD in 2016 from the following institutions:

  • the Lemanic Neuroscience Doctoral School (Universities of Lausanne and Geneva)
  • the EPFL-EDNE program (including those from non-BMI labs)
  • the EPFL-EDBB program (only those from BMI labs)

The prize of 5'000 CHF is awarded at the CHUV in Lausanne, on the occasion of the Brain Awareness Week.

Applications from LN and EPFL-EDNE graduates should include:

  • cover letter
  • curriculum vitae
  • list of publications
  • a pdf version of the thesis
  • 2 printed copies of the thesis
  • 1-3 letters of recommendation

Upcoming deadline for candidacy: January 31, 2017

Please send the paper parts of your application to:

Lemanic Neuroscience Doctoral School
Amphipole 316
1015 Lausanne

(and the pdf of your thesis to ulrike.toepel@unil.ch)


Laureats in 2015

The Biaggi de Blasys Award for the best thesis in neuroscience in 2015 went to two LNDS alumni:

  • Dr. Anne-Marie Lüchtenborg for her thesis  "WNT SIGNALING IN DROSOPHILA NEUROMUSCULAR JUNCTIONS" defended at the University of Lausanne on January 23, 2015.
  • Dr. Ilaria Vitali for her thesis "ACTIVITY-DEPENDENT CONTROL OVER NEOCORTICAL NEURON DIFFERENTIATION AND IDENTITY" defended at the University of Geneva on September 17, 2015.



Year Awardee, Institution Thesis title
2015 Anne-Marie Lüchtenborg, UNIL WNT SIGNALING IN DROSOPHILA NEUROMUSCULAR JUNCTIONS (Thesis director: Prof. Vladimir Katanaev)
2014 Géraldine Mang, Unil Contribution of glucocorticoid signaling to the regulation of sleep homeostasis and circadian rhythms (Thesis director: Prof. Paul Franken)
2013 Gabrielle Pouchelon, Unige Molecular and cellular controls over target-specific development of thalamocortical neuron projections (Thesis directors: Prof. Denis Jabaudon and Prof. Dominique Muller)
2013 Andres de la Rossa, Unige In-vivo reprogramming of postmitotic neocortical neurons (Thesis director: Prof. Denis Jabaudon)
2012 Aurélie Manuel, CHUV Neuroplasticity of inhibitory control (Thesis directors: Prof. Stephanie Clarke and Dr. Lucas Spierer)
2012 Ralf Wimmer, Unil The role of spindles for sleep: Manipulating oscillatory activity in the thalamocortical network (Thesis directors: Prof. Anita Lüthi and Prof. Paul Franken)
2011 Irina Constantinescu, Unige Influence of sleep-wake states on human memory and underlying neural plasticity: insights from EEG recordings and parasomnia (Thesis director: Prof. Sophie Schwartz)
2010 Anne Vaslin, Unil Endocytosis, autophagy and JNK inhibition in neuroprotection against excitotoxicity and neonatal cerebral ischemia (Thesis director: Prof. Peter Clarke)
2010 Fabio Longordo, Unil Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying the effects of sleep loss on hippocampal synaptic plasticity (Thesis director: Prof. Anita Lüthi)


facebook linkedin 

Laureats in 2015