MD-PhD Commission

The MD-PhD Commission is attached to the FBM and EPFL Doctoral Schools.

The goals of the MD-PhD Commission are :

  • to define the MD-PhD programme ;
  • to promote the MD-PhD programme ;
  • to help candidates work out their project for the admission in the MD-PhD programme;
  • to help students admitted in the MD-PhD programme to constitute their preparatory training programme ; as well as their doctoral and post-doctoral curriculum and to pursue their projects
  • to inform MD-PhD thesis directors ;
  • to help students obtaining a fellowship ;
  • to facilitate exchanges of students and, in coordination with the local commissions of the other Swiss or foreign universities, organise courses and seminars for the participants in the MD-PhD programme.

One member of the MD-PhD Commission is at the disposal of each candidate. This mentor helps the candidate to organize his preparatory training programme and to find a thesis director, he also supports him/her in the preparation of his/her thesis.


Members of the MD-PhD Commission

Members Function
Prof. Ivan Stamenkovic President of the MD-PhD Commission
Thérèse Liechti Secretary of the MD-PhD Commission
Prof. Kamiar Aminian EPFL representative
Prof. Pierre-Yves Bochud Clinical science representative
Prof. Jacques Fellay Représentant de l'EPFL
Prof. Paul Franken Basic science representative
Prof. Monika Hegi Clinical science representative
Prof. Joerg Huelsken EPFL representative
Prof. Pedro Marques-Vidal Clinical science representative
Prof. Lucia Mazzolai Clinical science representative
Prof. Tatiana Petrova clinical science representative
Prof. Isabelle Peytremann-Bridevaux Clinical science representative
Prof. Daniel Speiser Clinical science representative


Secretariat MD-PhD - Bureau 324 - Amphipôle - CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel. +41 21 692 40 06
Fax +41 21 692 40 05