Dual Career Couples

DualCareerCouples_small.jpg

© ThinkStockphotos.com

Dual Career Couples

Your partner has just signed a contract with the University of Lausanne (UNIL) and you wish to find a professional activity as well, academic or not. Welcome to both of you.
The challenges that mobile dual career couples face are many times great. Combining work, partnership and family is not easy and might be even harder if you start from zero in a new country. This website gives an overview of the support that we offer at UNIL, but also some useful information related to finding a job.

Do not hesitate to browse the other pages of this website for useful information about practical matters related to your move to Switzerland. Also, the page "Coming with your family" provides some information about getting involved in local life to ease your transition.

The contact person at UNIL for Dual Career Couples is Marcelina Klaus Gaillard, Welcome Centre Coordinator. Do not hesitate to contact Ms Klaus Gaillard for an initial meeting.

TOP ^

DCC networks

The University of Lausanne is a member of the International Dual Career Network (IDCN). The IDCN is a local and informal network formed to facilitate job search and career information sharing amongst the partners of its expatriate employees searching for a job in the region. As a partner of UNIL's employee you are entitled to participate in the events and activities organized by IDCN. Contact Marcelina Klaus Gaillard to sign up for activities.

For information about other networks in the area see under Coming with your family.

FLYER IDCN 2016  (3497 Ko)

TOP ^

Swiss Academic Dual Career Network

The University of Lausanne, through its Welcome Centre, is a member of the Swiss Academic Career Network (S-ADCN). The institutions of the S-ADCN network are committed to promoting dual careers by promoting appropriate portals such as Euraxess jobs for example. 

 

 

DCC website

The initiative Carrière2 started in 2008. This DCC website (in French) is the result of a close collaboration between universities in the Swiss Latin part of Switzerland. The goal with this website is to provide help to Dual Career Couples in finding a job as well as combining work and private/family life in the most satisfying way possible. It is also a way for local Swiss universities to collaborate closely and join efforts to assist DCCs.

TOP ^

Finding a job

TOP ^

General information and non-academic job search

If you are looking for a job in Switzerland for the first time, it might be worth finding out more about how to apply for a job on the Swiss market. Here is a useful brochure and some specifications about the procedure. If you speak French this blog is very helpful. This career website in English might also be informative. Here is a book about how to search for a job in Switzerland. Also, getting busy in Switzerland website (in English).

Academic job search

A lot of useful information and links about finding an academic job are available on the Carrière2 website here (in French). You can also find a list of academic positions on the Euraxess website. Here you will find the open job positions at UNIL.

Career coaching

If your partner has been hired as a professor and you are relocating from abroad, you might be eligible for individualized career coaching financed by UNIL. Contact the HR department to find out more about this service offered to partners through an external company.

If you are not covered by this service through your partner at UNIL, you can, of course, still contact this company and pay for their services. There are other companies like C2You! and Spouse Career Center which are entitled to help you. 

TOP ^

Ch√Ęteau de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05

Couples à Carrières Duales

DualCareerCouples_small.jpg

© ThinkStockphotos.com

Couples à Carrières Duales

Votre conjoint·e vient de signer un contrat avec l'Université de Lausanne (UNIL) et vous souhaiteriez, vous aussi, trouver une activité professionnelle dans le secteur académique ou autre. Bienvenue à tous les deux.
Les défis auxquels un couple mobile à deux carrières doit faire face sont considérables. Concilier travail, vie de couple et famille n'est pas simple, mais cela peut se révéler encore plus difficile si vous repartez à zéro dans un nouveau pays. Cette page vous offre un aperçu du soutien que nous apportons à l'UNIL, mais également quelques informations utiles concernant la recherche d'emploi.

N'hésitez pas à consulter les autres pages de ce site pour obtenir des informations utiles sur des questions pratiques liées à votre installation en Suisse. La page "Venir en famille" contient quelques informations pour vous aider à participer à la vie locale et ainsi faciliter la transition.

La personne en charge des couples à carrières duales à l'UNIL est Marcelina Klaus Gaillard (Coordinatrice du Welcome Centre). N'hésitez pas à la contacter pour une première rencontre.

TOP ^

Réseau

L'Université de Lausanne est membre du réseau International Dual Career Network (IDCN). L'IDCN est un réseau local et informel visant à faciliter la recherche d'emploi et le partage des informations de carrière entre les conjoint·e·s des employé·e·s expatrié·e·s à la recherche d'un travail dans la région. En tant que conjoint·e d'un·e employé·e de l'UNIL, vous pouvez participer aux événements et activités organisés par l'IDCN. Contactez Marcelina Klaus Gaillard pour vous inscrire aux activités.
Pour obtenir des informations sur les autres réseaux de la région, rendez-vous sur la page Venir en famille.

FLYER IDCN 2016  (3497 Ko)

TOP ^

Site Web

L'initiative Carrière2 a été lancée en 2008. Ce site Web (en français) est le résultat d'une étroite collaboration entre les universités de Suisse latine. L'objectif de ce site consiste à aider les couples à carrières duales à trouver du travail, ainsi qu'à combiner leur vie professionnelle et leur vie privée/de famille de la manière la plus satisfaisante possible. Il représente également le moyen pour les universités suisses locales de collaborer étroitement et de joindre leurs efforts pour venir en aide aux couples menant deux carrières de front.

TOP ^

Trouver un travail

Informations générales et recherche d'emploi non académique

Si vous recherchez un travail en Suisse pour la première fois, cela peut valoir la peine d'essayer d'en savoir plus sur les démarches nécessaires pour postuler pour un emploi sur le marché suisse. Vous trouverez ici une brochure utile et quelques précisions sur la procédure (en anglais). Si vous parlez français, ce blog est très pratique. Ce livre expliquant comment rechercher un emploi en Suisse (en anglais). Egalement, le site getting busy in Switzerland (en anglais).

Recherche d'emploi dans le secteur académique

Un grand nombre d'informations et de liens utiles concernant la recherche d'emploi dans le secteur académique sont disponibles sur le site Carrière2 en cliquant ici. Vous trouverez également la liste d'offres d'emploi sur le site d'Euraxess. Ici vous trouverez les offres d'emploi à UNIL.

Coaching en carrière

Si votre conjoint·e a été embauché·e en tant que professeur·e et que vous venez vous installer en Suisse, vous pourrez peut-être bénéficier d'un coaching de carrière individuel financé par l'UNIL. Contactez le service RH pour en savoir plus sur ce service proposé aux conjoint·e·s via une société externe.

Si vous ne pouvez pas bénéficier de ce service grâce à votre conjoint·e travaillant à l'UNIL, vous pouvez tout de même contacter cette société et payer pour leurs services. D'autres compagnies telles que celle-ci existent. Pour les découvrir, cliquez ici et ici.

TOP ^

TOP ^

Partagez:
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05