Accommodation

Accomodation_small.jpg

© ThinkStockphotos.com

Accommodation

Lausanne is a safe and beautiful place to live. Most people in Switzerland rent their apartment or house. Unfortunately housing is relatively hard to find and quite expensive in Lausanne. However, distances are small in and around Lausanne, and public transportation efficient, so it might be worth widening your search perimeter to have more choice and more affordable prices.

Finding the perfect home might take some time and you might want to arrange for a temporary housing option for the beginning of your stay. If possible, start your search already before you arrive.

TOP ^

Finding a place - Online

Most offers for apartments or houses to rent are available online. There are numerous web sites/search engines with offers proposed both by real estate agencies and private individuals. You easily enter your search criteria and you can also program alerts to get offers via e-mail as soon as they get online. See, for example:

Comparis
Immoscout
Homegate
Immostreet
Anibis
UMS
Sabbaticalhomes
Housinganywhere
Lausanne tourisme
Bnb
Visionapartments
Studentsplace4u
Silobleu (minimum one year)

Be careful with advertisements that seem too good to be true, and/or where money transfers are required in advance (particularly via Western Union, MoneyGram, etc.). If possible, try to visit the apartment before sending money. If a guarantee or a first rent is required, prefer to transfer money into a Swiss bank account. If you have doubts about an object, do not hesitate to contact the Welcome Centre for assistance.

TOP ^

Finding a place - More options

Real estate agencies

Real estate agencies also have a lot of their offers on their websites. Sometimes it can also be worth calling to check availabilities.

Classified advertisements

Another possibility is to use classified ads published in the local press, either by consulting the offers or by placing an ad yourself. Many people find apartments through their social network, so make sure to let people around you know that you are looking for an apartment or house (e.g., your future colleagues at the University).

Be careful with advertisements that seem too good to be true, and/or where money transfers are required in advance (particularly via Western Union, MoneyGram, etc.). If possible, try to visit the apartment before sending money. If a guarantee or a first rent is required, prefer to transfer money into a Swiss bank account. If you have doubts about an object, do not hesitate to contact the Welcome Centre for assistance.

TOP ^

How to apply for an apartment

If an ad interests you, contact the real estate agency or the person who placed the ad to arrange a visit of the apartment. If you are interested, you must make an application to the real estate agency or the owner by completing a form and provide proof of solvency (see list of documents below). Contact the agency as soon as possible to ask for necessary forms and deadlines.

Speed is importance! The market is tight and available attractive housing is scarce! Have your papers ready when you visit the apartment. The real estate agency or the owner will select the tenants from among all applicants. This procedure can take several weeks and does not offer any guarantees. A recommendation from the previous tenant may sometimes give you an advantage. Also, most of the time, families have priority in the selection procedure. 

The following documents are usually needed to complete your application for renting an apartment or house. However, as a foreigner, and if you have just arrived in Switzerland, you have to ask the agency or landlord which documents they need from you:

  • A copy of residence permits.
  • A copy of passports.
  • A recent salary certificate, less than three months old, or a copy of work contract.
  • An extract from the debt collection register provides information on whether you have paid your bills on time, or if you have ever been pursued by debt collectors (from the Office des Poursuites et Faillites) for anyone who is already a Swiss resident.
  • Proofs of identity in the form of your identity card, or the temporary certification of the Swiss Mission.
  • The insurance of civil responsibility is very often also required.
  • A motivation letter can be helpful in providing more information about you and your family (not obligatory).

TOP ^

The contract

Once you have been chosen for the apartment you applied for, you will conclude a rental agreement with the agency or owner. Most times this means signing a contract (“bail à loyer”). It is a document stating your name, the rent, cost for heating, water and other extra charges, the characteristics of the apartment (size, floor, etc.) and the length of the contract.

Understanding, signing a contract and a model contract

TOP ^

Security deposit for a house or apartment

When signing the contract for the apartment, the agency or owner will ask for a security deposit. This deposit corresponds to three month’s rent (sometimes only one month's rent is required, it depends on the contratct but it is non-negotiable). The money can be deposited into a fixed-interest bank account. This money is returned to the tenant once he/she leaves the apartment, as long as no serious damage is noted.

Some companies offer to stand this guarantee for you, through a loan, thereby avoiding the need for you to tie up several thousand francs.

Living in Switzerland is a useful brochure with information and rules about renting an apartment or a house.

Useful information about renting an apartment or house

TOP ^

Temporary housing options

Information about the furnished studio apartments is available upon request. 

Hostels and other short term housing options

Stay short term in private homes through Airbnb

More ideas for temporary housing on the website of Lausanne Tourist Office

Find a hotel at the budget of your choice

TOP ^

Ch√Ęteau de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05

Se loger

Accomodation_small.jpg

© ThinkStockphotos.com

Se loger

Lausanne est une ville sûre et magnifique, où il fait bon vivre. En Suisse, la plupart des habitants louent leur appartement ou maison. Malheureusement, trouver un logement à Lausanne se révèle difficile et onéreux. Toutefois, les distances sont courtes dans et autour de Lausanne et les transports publics efficaces. Il pourrait donc s'avérer judicieux d'élargir votre périmètre de recherche pour bénéficier d'un choix plus étendu et de prix plus abordables.

Trouver le logement parfait peut prendre du temps. Vous souhaiterez peut-être trouver une solution de logement temporaire pour le début de votre séjour. Si possible, démarrez votre recherche avant votre arrivée.

TOP ^

Trouver un logement - Sur Internet

La plupart des offres de location d'appartements ou de maisons sont disponibles sur Internet. Il existe de nombreux sites/moteurs de recherche sur lesquels des agences immobilières et/ou des particuliers mettent leurs offres en ligne. Vous pouvez généralement saisir vos critères de recherche et programmer des alertes pour recevoir les offres par e-mail dès lors qu'elles sont mises en ligne. Parmi les sites/moteurs de recherche disponibles:

Comparis
Immoscout
Homegate
Immostreet
Anibis
UMS
Sabbaticalhomes
Housinganywhere
Lausanne tourisme
Bnb
Visionapartments
Studentsplace4u
Silobleu (minimum une année)

Attention aux annonces qui semblent trop belles pour être vraies et/ou dans lesquelles des transferts d'argent sont exigés au préalable (en particulier via Western Union, MoneyGram, etc.). Si possible, visitez l'appartement avant d'envoyer l'argent. Si une garantie ou un premier loyer est exigé, transférez l'argent de préférence sur un compte bancaire suisse. En cas de doute, n'hésitez pas à contacter le Welcome Centre pour demander conseil.

TOP ^

Trouver un logement - Autres solutions

Agences immobilières

Les agences immobilières mettent également un grand nombre de leurs annonces en ligne sur leurs sites Internet. Il peut parfois être utile de les appeler pour vérifier les disponibilités.

Petites annonces

Vous avez également la possibilité d'utiliser les petites annonces publiées dans la presse locale, soit en consultant les offres, soit en publiant vous-même une annonce. De nombreuses personnes trouvent un logement via leur réseau social. Faites donc savoir autour de vous que vous recherchez un appartement ou une maison (par exemple, à vos futur·e·s collègues de l'UNIL).

Attention aux annonces qui semblent trop belles pour être vraies et/ou dans lesquelles des transferts d'argent sont exigés au préalable (en particulier via Western Union, MoneyGram, etc.). Si possible, visitez l'appartement avant d'envoyer l'argent. Si une garantie ou un premier loyer est exigé, transférez l'argent de préférence sur un compte bancaire suisse. En cas de doute, n'hésitez pas à contacter le Welcome Centre pour demander conseil.

TOP ^

Déposer sa candidature pour un appartement

Si une annonce vous intéresse, contactez l'agence immobilière ou la personne qui a publié l'annonce pour organiser une visite de l'appartement. Si vous êtes intéressé·e, vous devez déposer votre candidature auprès de l'agence immobilière ou du propriétaire en remplissant un formulaire et en fournissant une preuve de solvabilité (voir la liste des documents ci-dessous). Contactez l'agence le plus rapidement possible pour connaître les formulaires nécessaires et les délais.

Il est important d'être rapide. Le marché est tendu et les logements attractifs libres sont rares. Ayez vos papiers avec vous lorsque vous visitez l'appartement. L'agence immobilière ou le propriétaire sélectionnera le locataire parmi tous les candidats. Cette procédure peut prendre plusieurs semaines et n'offre aucune garantie. Une recommandation du locataire précédent peut parfois vous donner un avantage. Par ailleurs, la plupart du temps, les familles sont prioritaires dans le processus de sélection.

Les documents suivants sont souvent nécessaires pour faire une demande de location d'un appartement ou d'une maison. Cependant, en tant qu'étranger·ère, et si vous venez d'arriver en Suisse, vous devez demander à l'agence ou au propriétaire les documents que vous devez lui fournir:

  • Une copie des permis de séjour.
  • Une copie des passeports.
  • Un certificat de salaire récent, de moins de trois mois, ou une copie du contrat de travail.
  • Un extrait du registre des poursuites, contenant toutes les poursuites ainsi que les procédures contre une personne physique ou morale.
  • Des preuves de votre identité, comme votre carte d'identité ou la certification temporaire de la Mission suisse.
  • L'assurance responsabilité civile est également très souvent demandée.
  • Une lettre de motivation peut permettre d'en savoir plus sur vous ou votre famille (pas obligatoire).

TOP ^

Le contrat

Une fois que vous avez été choisi·e pour l'appartement pour lequel vous aviez déposé un dossier, vous devez conclure un accord de location avec l'agence ou le propriétaire. La plupart du temps, cela implique la signature d'un contrat (bail à loyer). Il s'agit d'un document mentionnant votre nom, le loyer, le coût du chauffage, de l'eau et d'autres charges supplémentaires, les caractéristiques de l'appartement (taille, étage, etc.) et la durée du contrat.

Comprendre, signer un contrat et modèle de contrat

TOP ^

Caution pour la location d'un appartement ou d'une maison

Lors de la signature du contrat de location de l'appartement, l'agence ou le propriétaire vous demandera une caution. Cette caution correspond à trois mois de loyer (parfois seulement un mois de loyer est demandé, cela dépend du contrat mais cela n'est pas négociable) . Cet argent peut être déposé sur un compte bancaire à intérêt fixe. Il est rendu au locataire lorsqu'il quitte l'appartement, si aucune dégradation sérieuse n'est constatée.

Certaines compagnies proposent de fournir cette garantie à votre place, par l'intermédiaire d'un prêt (attention: vous devez verser une prime forfataire et une prime annuelle à la société qui verse la somme à votre place). Cela vous évite de bloquer plusieurs milliers de francs.

Le logement en Suisse est une brochure utile contenant des informations et des règles sur la location d'un appartement ou d'une maison.

Informations utiles sur la location d'un appartement ou d'une maison

TOP ^

Solutions de logement temporaire

Informations sur des studios meublés est disponibles sur demande (welcomecentre@unil.ch).

Auberges de jeunesse et autres possibilités de logement courte durée

Effectuez des séjours de courte durée dans des logements privés via Airbnb

D'autres possibilités d'hébergement temporaires sur le site de Lausanne Tourisme

Trouvez un hôtel dans votre budget

TOP ^

Partagez:
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05