Living in Lausanne

LivingInLausanne_small.jpg

© ThinkStockphotos.com

Living in Lausanne

Lausanne, located on the shores of Lake Geneva (Lac Léman) with a beautiful Alpine backdrop, and surrounded by UNESCO protected terraced vineyards, is easy to love. The city is built on three hills with the cathedral perched at the very top, in the heart of the medieval old town. With a vast cultural scene, top-end skiing within reach, situated in the center of Europe, quality of life in this region is great.

On this page we have put together some useful information about living in Lausanne (see below).

We wish you a pleasant stay in Lausanne and a warm welcome.

TOP ^

Film about Lausanne and the region
Getting to the University of Lausanne

Getting to the University of Lausanne.

Switzerland has three international airports: Zurich, Basel-Mulhouse and Geneva. All three are located less than three hours by road or train from Lausanne. The airport nearest Lausanne is Geneva airport.

TOP ^

Public transportation

The Swiss Federal Railroads (in French: Chemins de Fer Fédéraux - CFF) offer a wide range of travel documents: tickets, cards for specific itineraries, season tickets and a half-fare travel card that most Swiss people have. For travelling at the lowest fares, do not miss supersaver tickets. The CFF also have a very effective on-line timetable covering the entire public transport network (trains, buses and boats). It is even possible for you to order and print a ticket at home.

The public transport system of the Lausanne region (TL) is part of the MOBILIS fare consortium that serves a network of 400 km, with 8 train lines, 32 urban bus lines, 29 regional bus lines and 2 subway or underground railway lines. Mobilis has a single fare grid divided into zones: the number of zones covered determines the price of your ticket. The frequency of your movements determines whether it is advantageous for you to buy a ticket, a one-day card, a monthly pass or a season ticket.

The Compagnie Générale de Navigation (CGN), which is the main boat company, offers a speedy and comfortable service around the shores of Lake Geneva. In addition to ordinary transportation, it offers cruises that give you the opportunity to admire ports and castles, hills and vineyards and, last but not least, the snow-covered peaks of the Swiss and Savoy Alps.

TOP ^

Biking

Despite the challenging topography, a bicycle is very suitable for many short and medium distance journeys in the vicinity of Lausanne.

On campus, bikes are at disposal for free after an initial sign-up (PubliBike). There are numerous places where you can rent bikes, also for a long-term period within the company ReCycloBike

TOP ^

Driving

The car-sharing service Mobility is beneficial if you need a car at regular intervals. Traditional car rental.

More information about cars and driving in Switzerland. Here you can find information about exchanging your international driver's licence and getting a Swiss driver's licence. Also, information about parking on campus (in French only).

TOP ^

Culture

The cultural offer in Lausanne and the region is plentiful. Museums, art galleries, cinemas, castles, vineyards, parks as well as performing arts and festivals fill the cultural agenda and give many options for how to spend your spare time. Of course, there are restaurants for all tastes and wallets. Gastronomy, budget alternatives and local specialities in typical restaurants.
Find out more about leisure activities:

Lausanne Tourism (not all pages are translated into English, but good website to find addresses and phone numbers)

Lake Geneva Region

Calendar of events

TOP ^

Sports and Nature

Lausanne is an ideal place for many sports, especially outdoor sports like hiking, skiing, biking, and climbing. The region is not only close to the mountains; the proximity to the lake makes watersports accessible (“sport aquatiques” in French). As the Olympic Capital, Lausanne has an inevitable connection to the world of sports and sports facilities are often high quality and abundant.
The University has a top-quality sport center where more than 100 different sports are practiced and courses are offered. Find out more about the sport center here.

Do not miss the Olympic Museum.

TOP ^

Shopping

Most stores in Lausanne are open from Monday to Friday between 8:30 and 18:30. On Saturday stores close earlier, around 18:00. Most stores are closed on Sundays, but there are exceptions around train stations and by the lake in Ouchy. Also, many gas stations have basic food items.
Migros and Coop dominate the food distribution market in Switzerland. Both have online stores as well (Migros and Coop), where products are delivered home. Migros does not sell alcohol or cigarettes.
The center of Lausanne has farmers markets on Wednesday and Saturday morning, selling local and regional produce. On campus, there is a farmer's market on Thursdays between 9:30 and 14:30 in front of the building Geopolis. Here you can buy fruit, vegetables, bread and cheese and also pre-order a seasonal basket with fresh produce.


More information about shopping here (in English) and here (in French).

TOP ^

Internet

@Home: Internet via cable or ADSL is widely used in Switzerland. The main providers active on the broadband market are Swisscom and Sunrise. Subscriptions generally run for a minimum of 12 months and the necessary modem is often supplied free of charge to the user. In many cases, you are obliged to use the phone services of the same operator. Connection to the Internet via TV cable is also possible in many cities. For information concerning use, modes and rates, contact Cablecom or your municipal utility services (in Lausanne Citycable, in French).

@UNIL: At the University of Lausanne there is a wireless Internet service open to all members of the community. If your portable computer is correctly equipped and configured, you will see the "public" network that you should select. Open your Internet browser and then type in: https://reseau.unil.ch Enter your user name and your UNIL messaging password.

@Lausanne: Follow this link to discover where you can find free WiFi in the city of Lausanne.

TOP ^

Phones

Fixed line

For internationally calls, a fixed landline is the best option. To get a telephone line you must contact Swisscom (in English). It might be worthwhile to get the ADSL connection (Internet) by the same provider, but this is not compulsory (see section on Internet above).

Mobile phone

In the beginning, and for shorter stays, it might be easiest to get a prepaid mobile phone (bring your passport to the store). There are stores specializing in mobile phones in most shopping centers. Also, big electronic stores also carry mobile phones. Prepaid phones can be recharged in most kiosks and in ticket machines at train stations.
To get a subscription, contact a store or a provider for more information.

Some of the providers are Swisscom, Salt, Sunrise and Migros (in French).

TOP ^

Recycling

Recycling is an important issue in Switzerland, the world leader in household recycling. You have to buy special white rubbish bags at the supermarket (usually at the information desk) or at the post office. Other bags are not collected.
The following recyclable materials are taken care of at separate collection points:

Paper & cardboard
Pet bottles
Glass
Tins & Aluminum & Coffee capsules
Compost
Batteries
Light bulbs
Electronic devices
Old oil
Textiles & shoes

Find out in your neighborhood (in French) where the nearest recycling point (in English) is for the different types of waste.

Short recycling leaflet and a longer, more detailed recycling manual (in French).

More information on waste management in Switzerland.

TOP ^

Learn French

School of French as a Foreign Language

The School of French as a Foreign Language (EFLE) is attached to the Faculty of Arts of the university and offers a range of French courses to non-French speakers. In order to benefit from the supplementary courses or to take diploma courses at EFLE, you have to be enrolled at the UNIL.

On-line basic French course

The Language Centre at the University offers a website for non-French speaking people who just arrived in Lausanne to learn a few words and phrases through an online web interface. Using short video clips, pictures, audio clips and interactive exercises, you will learn some basic French to get by in the beginning. The idea with this playful interface is also to learn about Swiss culture, about some administrative procedures, shopping and so on. Highly recommended as an introduction to French.

French as a foreign language at distance

The School of French as a foreign language (EFLE) organizes a continuing education at distance in French as a foreign language. A basic knowledge of French is required in order to enroll (A2). One module consists of 2 units of 25 hours each. Every unit achieved leads to a certificate; every module achieved leads to a certificate in form of credits (5 ECTS).

Holiday French-courses at the University

The Cours de vacances (CVAC) offers intensive French courses for non-French speakers (all levels) during the summer and winter breaks at the University. Participants must be over 17 years old.

Tandem language learning

The university Tandem program helps participants find a partner to learn the language of their choice. Two people with different native languages meet and learn from each other.

Other language schools

Here is a useful brochure with a list of schools and associations that offer French courses for non-French speaker.

TOP ^

Emergency numbers
Service Number
Ambulance 144
Police 117
Fire department 118
Rega (helicopter rescue) 1414
Poisoning 145
Road assistance 140
Psychological support (main tendue) 143
UNIL emergency numbers UniSep

TOP ^

TOP ^

Ch√Ęteau de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05

Vivre à Lausanne

LivingInLausanne_small.jpg

© ThinkStockphotos.com

Vivre à Lausanne

Lausanne, située sur les rives du lac Léman avec les Alpes en arrière-plan et entourée de vignobles en terrasses protégés par l'UNESCO, est facile à aimer. La ville s'est construite sur trois collines avec une cathédrale perchée sur le point le plus haut, au cœur de la vieille cité médiévale. Grâce à sa vaste scène culturelle, ses installations haut de gamme destinées à la pratique du ski et sa situation géographique au sein de l'Europe, la qualité de vie dans cette région est exceptionnelle.

Nous avons rassemblé sur cette page quelques informations utiles sur la vie à Lausanne (voir ci-dessous).

Nous vous souhaitons la bienvenue, ainsi qu'un agréable séjour à Lausanne.

TOP ^

Film sur Lausanne et sa région
Se rendre à l'Université de Lausanne

Se rendre à l'Université de Lausanne.

La Suisse possède trois aéroports internationaux : Zurich, Bâle-Mulhouse et Genève. Ces trois aéroports sont situés à moins de trois heures de voiture ou de train de Lausanne. L'aéroport le plus proche de Lausanne est Genève Aéroport.

TOP ^

Transports publics

Les Chemins de Fer Fédéraux (CFF) proposent une large gamme de titres de transport: billets, cartes pour itinéraires spécifiques, abonnements, ainsi qu'un abonnement demi-tarif que la plupart des Suissesses et Suisses possèdent. Pour dénicher les meilleures offres, pensez aux billets dégriffés. Les CFF possèdent également un horaire en ligne très performant qui couvre l'intégralité du réseau de transport public (trains, bus et bateaux). Il est même possible de commander et d'imprimer un billet chez soi.

Les Transports publics de la région lausannoise (TL) font partie de la communauté tarifaire MOBILIS et s'etendent sur un réseau de 400 km, avec 8 lignes de train, 32 lignes de bus urbains, 29 lignes de bus régionaux et 2 lignes de métro. Mobilis propose une grille tarifaire répartie en zones: le nombre de zones couvertes détermine le prix de votre billet. Suivant la fréquence de vos déplacements, il sera plus avantageux pour vous d'acheter un billet, une carte journalière ou un abonnement mesuel ou annuel.

La Compagnie Générale de Navigation (CGN), qui est la compagnie de navigation principale, offre un service rapide et confortable autour des rives du lac Léman. Outre le transport ordinaire, elle propose des croisières permettant d'admirer les ports et châteaux, les vallées et vignobles, sans oublier les sommets enneigés des Alpes savoyardes et suisses.

TOP ^

Faire du vélo

Malgré la topographie difficile, le vélo est un moyen de transport idéal pour les courts et moyens trajets dans les environs de Lausanne.

Sur le campus, des vélos sont mis à disposition gratuitement après inscription (PubliBike). Il existe un grand nombre d'endroits où vous puovez louer un vélo, également pour une longue durée auprès de l'association ReCycloBike

 

TOP ^

Conduire

Le service d'autopartage (car-sharing) Mobility est avantageux si vous avez besoin d'une voiture à intervalles réguliers. 

Location de voitures traditionnelle.

Plus d'informations sur les voitures et la conduite en Suisse. Vous trouverez ici des informations sur l'échange de votre permis de conduire international et l'obtention d'un permis de conduire suisse. Des informations sont fournies également concernant le stationnement sur le campus.

TOP ^

Culture

L'offre culturelle de Lausanne et sa région est diversifiée. Musées, galeries d'art, cinémas, châteaux, vignobles, parcs, arts de la scène et festivals remplissent l'agenda culturel et vous offrent de nombreuses possibilités d'occuper votre temps libre. Bien entendu, vous trouverez également à Lausanne des restaurants pour tous les goûts et tous les budgets. Gastronomie, restaurants pour petits budgets et spécialités locales dans des restaurants typiques.
En savoir plus sur les activités de loisirs:

Lausanne Tourisme (bon site pour trouver des adresses et des numéros de téléphone)

Région du Léman

Agenda des manifestations

TOP ^

Sports et Nature

Lausanne est un endroit idéal pour de nombreux sports, en particulier les sports de plein air tels que la randonnée, le ski, le vélo et l'escalade. La région n'est pas seulement proche des montagnes; la proximité du lac rend les sports aquatiques accessibles. En tant que capitale olympique, Lausanne est inévitablement liée au monde du sport et les installations sportives sont souvent de grande qualité et abondantes.
L'Université possède un centre sportif de qualité dans lequel plus de 100 sports différents sont pratiqués et des cours sont proposés. Pour en savoir plus sur le centre sportif, cliquez ici.  

Ne manquez pas le Musée olympique.

TOP ^

Shopping

La plupart des magasins de Lausanne sont ouverts du lundi au vendredi de 8h30 à 18h30. Le samedi, les magasins ferment plus tôt, aux environs de 18h. La majorité des magasins sont fermés le dimanche, à l'exception de magasins situés à proximité de gares et du lac à Ouchy. Par ailleurs, de nombreuses stations-service vendent des aliments de base.
Migros et Coop dominent le marché de la distribution alimentaire en Suisse. Elles possèdent toutes deux des magasins en ligne (Migros et Coop), permettant une livraison à domicile des produits. Migros ne vend ni alcool ni cigarettes.

Des marchés de produits locaux et régionaux ont lieu les mercredis et samedis matin dans le centre de Lausanne. Sur le campus, un marché a lieu le jeudi entre 9h30 et 14h30 devant le bâtiment Geopolis. Vous pouvez y acheter des fruits et légumes, du pain et du fromage ou encore précommander un panier de saison contenant des produits frais.

Pour plus d'informations sur le shopping, cliquez ici (en anglais) ou ici (en français).

TOP ^

Internet

A la maison: La connexion à Internet s'effectue principalement via le câble ou l'ADSL en Suisse. Les principaux fournisseurs présents sur le marché du haut débit sont Swisscom et Sunrise. En général, l'engagement est d'une durée minimum de 12 mois et le modem nécessaire est fourni gratuitement à l'utilisateur. Il arrive fréquemment que vous deviez utiliser les services téléphoniques de ce même opérateur. La connexion à Internet via le câble TV est également possible dans de nombreuses villes. Pour plus d'informations concernant l'utilisation, les modes ou les débits, contactez Cablecom ou les services municipaux (Citycable à Lausanne).

A l'UNIL: Un accès Internet sans fil est disponible pour tous les membres de la communauté. Si votre ordinateur portable est correctement équipé et configuré, vous verrez le réseau public s'afficher. Vous devrez alors le sélectionner, puis ouvrir votre navigateur Internet et taper: https://reseau.unil.ch. Vous saisirez ensuite votre nom d'utilisateur et votre mot de passe de messagerie UNIL.

A Lausanne: Cliquez sur ce lien pour découvrir les accès WiFi gratuits disponibles à Lausanne.

TOP ^

Téléphones

Ligne fixe

Pour les appels à l’étranger, une ligne fixe reste la meilleure option. Pour obtenir une ligne téléphonique, vous devez contacter Swisscom. Cela peut valoir la peine d'opter pour la connexion ADSL (Internet) proposée par ce même fournisseur, mais ce n'est pas obligatoire (voir la section sur Internet ci-dessus).

Mobiles

Au début, et pour des séjours courts, il est généralement plus simple de se procurer un téléphone mobile prépayé (en apportant son passeport au magasin). Des magasins spécialisés dans la téléphonie mobile sont présents dans la plupart des centres commerciaux. Les grands magasins d'électronique vendent également des téléphones mobiles. Les téléphones prépayés peuvent être rechargés dans de nombreux kiosques ou les distributeurs de billets dans les gares.
Pour souscrire un abonnement, contactez un magasin ou un fournisseur pour obtenir plus d'informations.
Parmi les fournisseurs existants: Swisscom, Salt, Sunrise et Migros.

TOP ^

Recyclage

Le recyclage est un sujet important en Suisse, leader mondial dans le domaine du recyclage des ordures ménagères. Vous devez acheter des sacs poubelle blancs spéciaux au supermarché (généralement en vente à l'accueil) ou à la Poste. Les autres sacs ne sont pas collectés.
Les matières recyclables suivantes sont prises en charge dans des points de collecte séparés:

Papier et carton
Bouteilles PET
Verre
Canettes, conserves et capsules de café
Compost
Batteries
Ampoules
Appareils électroniques
Huile usagée
Textiles et chaussures

Recherchez sur le plan (saisissez votre adresse) où se situe le point de recyclage le plus proche de chez vous (en anglais) pour les différents types de déchets.

Brochure rapide et manuel plus détaillé sur le recyclage.

Plus d'informations sur la gestion des déchets en Suisse.

TOP ^

Apprendre le français

Ecole de français langue étrangère

L'Ecole de français langue étrangère (EFLE) est rattachée à la Faculté des lettres de l'UNIL et propose toute une gamme de cours de français pour les non-francophones. Afin de bénéficier de cours supplémentaires ou de suivre des cours sanctionnés par un diplôme à l'EFLE, vous devez être inscrit·e à l'UNIL.

Cours de français élémentaire en ligne

Le Centre des langues de l'UNIL a créé un site Web destiné aux personnes non francophones venant d'arriver à Lausanne, afin de leur permettre d'apprendre quelques mots ou phrases par le biais d'une interface en ligne. Grâce aux clips vidéo de courte durée, photos, clips audio et exercices interactifs, vous apprendrez les quelques mots de français nécessaires pour vos premières semaines en Suisse. Cette interface ludique a également été conçue pour vous permettre d'en apprendre plus sur la culture suisse, les démarches administratives, le shopping, etc. Il s'agit d'une introduction idéale au français.

Formation à distance en français langue étrangère

L'Ecole de français langue étrangère (EFLE) organise une formation continue à distance en français langue étrangère. Une connaissance basique du français est requise pour s'inscrire (A2). Un module comprend 2 unités de 25 heures chacune. Chaque unité achevée entraîne l'obtention d'un certificat; chaque module achevé entraîne l'obtention d'un certificat sous forme de crédits (5 ECTS).

Cours de vacances à l'UNIL

Les Cours de vacances (CVAC) consistent en cours de français intensifs pour les non-francophones (de tous les niveaux) pendant les vacances d'été ou d'hiver à l'UNIL. Les participant·e·s doivent être âgé·e·s de plus de 17 ans.

Apprentissage en tandem

Le programme Tandem de l'Université aide les participant·e·s à trouver un·e partenaire pour apprendre la langue de leur choix. Deux personnes de langues maternelles différentes se rencontrent et apprennent l'une de l'autre.

Autres écoles de français

Brochure utile contenant une liste des écoles et associations proposant des cours de français pour les non-francophones.

TOP ^

Numéros d'urgence
Service Numéro
Ambulance 144
Police 117
Pompiers 118
Rega (sauvetage par hélicoptère) 1414
Empoisonnement 145
Assistance routière 140
Soutien psychologique (main tendue) 143
Numéros d'urgence UNIL UniSep

TOP ^

TOP ^

Partagez:
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05