Psychologie de la couleur

Les couleurs façonnent notre environnement. Les humains y sont rarement indifférents, en particulier lorsqu'elles sont saillantes. L'opinion populaire suppose que les couleurs interagissent avec notre état affectif, que ce soit sous la forme de changements d'humeur ou de bien-être. Compte tenu de la littérature scientifique publiée, nous sommes très sceptiques quant aux allégations générales concernant les relations couleur-affect. Jusqu'à présent, la communauté scientifique manque cruellement d’études systématiques qui répondent à des normes empiriques communes et qui évalue les effets des couleurs sur les affects. Avec nos études, nous visons à enrichir la littérature scientifique grâce à des études démontrant comment la couleur peut être liée aux affects de manière fiable et valide. Les différents projets énumérés ci-dessous regroupent trois axes d'expertise: les paradigmes expérimentaux de la psychologie cognitive, les cadres théoriques de la psychologie des émotions et les connaissances approfondies sur la science des couleurs dans les applications quotidiennes.

Quelques exemples de publications récentes:

  • Mohr, C., Jonauskaite, D., Dan-Glauser, E. S., Uusküla, M., & Dael, N. (2018). Unifying research on colour and emotion: Time for a cross-cultural survey on emotion associations to colour terms. In L. W. MacDonald, C. P. Biggam, & G. V. Paramei (Eds.), Progress in Colour Studies: Cognition, Language, and beyond. Amsterdam/Philadelphia: John Benjamins.
  • Jonauskaite, D., Mohr, C., Antonietti, J.-P., Spiers, P. M., Althaus, B., Anil, S., & Dael, N. (2016). Most and Least Preferred Colours Differ According to Object Context: New Insights from an Unrestricted Colour Range. Plos One, 11(3), 1–22. http://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0152194
  • Dael, N., Perseguers, M.-N., Marchand, C., Antonietti, J.-P., & Mohr, C. (2015). Put on that colour, it fits your emotion: Colour appropriateness as a function of expressed emotion. Quarterly Journal of Experimental Psychology (2006), 218(October), 1–12. http://doi.org/10.1080/17470218.2015.1090462
  • Dael, N., Sierro, G., & Mohr, C. (2013). Affect-related synesthesias: a prospective view on their existence, expression and underlying mechanisms. Frontiers in Psychology, 4(October), 754. http://doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2013.00754

Collaborateurs du CARLA :

Principaux collaborateurs externes:

Liens

Associations sémantiques couleur-émotion

Les couleurs sont souvent associées aux émotions dans notre façon de penser et de communiquer.

Alors que les opinions populaires sont claires, les résultats des études scientifiques sont mitigés (par exemple, le rouge est-il négatif?). Dans ce projet, nous étudions les associations sémantiques implicites et explicites des couleurs et des émotions:

  • En laboratoire, nous adoptons un paradigme d'amorçage masqué pour étudier comment les connotations émotionnelles des concepts de couleur sont traitées et évaluées implicitement.
  • Nous réalisons un sondage international à grande échelle (http://www2.unil.ch/onlinepsylab/colour/main.php) dans lequel nous cherchons à évaluer comment les concepts de couleur (termes de couleur) s'associent à une grande variété d'émotions. Ayant des répondants de nombreuses langues et cultures, nous évaluons leurs points communs et leurs différences, qui sont potentiellement basés sur des expériences biologiques ou culturellement (in)variants. Les cartographies obtenues permettent la représentation de multiples associations interdépendantes entre couleur et émotions, plutôt que des relations exclusives de type un-à-un. Ces données s'appuient sur un inventaire complet des associations sémantiques couleur-émotion qui nous permettront, ainsi qu'à d'autres, de développer et de tester d'autres questions de recherche. Les résultats peuvent également favoriser les domaines de recherche voisins, en particulier sur la façon dont les associations couleur-émotion façonnent les préférences de couleur.
Choix de couleurs orientés par les affects

Dans ce projet, nous examinons comment les stimuli émotionnellement saillants influencent les choix de couleurs à travers plusieurs lignes de recherche.

  • Dans une série d'expériences en laboratoire, nous démontrons que les jugements d'adéquation des couleurs et même une basique reproduction des couleurs sont influencés par le contexte émotionnel de telle sorte que les choix de couleurs correspondent au sens affectif du stimulus (par exemple expression corporelle, voir aussi le projet "Communication non-verbale de l'émotion"). Les résultats soutiennent l'existence d'associations systématiques couleur-émotion mais non pas individuelles (comme la valence affective avec la luminosité des couleurs, avec une grande variance concernant la teinte) qui affectent implicitement la cognition des couleurs de base et supérieure.
  • Dans une deuxième série d'études, nous testons comment l'affect induit (humeur, émotion) influence les choix de couleurs et inversement, comment des couleurs choisies individuellement (plutôt que des couleurs présélectionnées par les chercheurs comme proposées en chromothérapie) peuvent être utilisées pour induire un état affectif.
  • Une troisième ligne de recherche se concentre sur la façon dont les associations couleur-émotion conduisent le jugement esthétique des couleurs. Nous utilisons ce cadre pour étudier les préférences de couleur (aimer et ne pas aimer) en explorant les différences selon les individus et les contextes. Les résultats étendent notre compréhension actuelle du rôle de l'affect dans les préférences de couleur, indiquant principalement a) que les préférences de couleur générales ne se généralisent pas à des objets spécifiques (vêtements, intérieur etc.), b) que les couleurs non aimées semblent être traitées différemment des couleurs aimées, et c) que les associations affectives des couleurs choisies ne sont pas seulement liées à des objets aimés ou peu aimés, mais aussi à des concepts (symboles).
  • Dans le cadre de ces études, de nouvelles méthodes sont développées et utilisées, permettant une sélection intuitive mais précise de couleurs par les utilisateurs, aussi bien en laboratoire qu'à l'extérieur, dans le but d'améliorer la fiabilité de la sélection des couleurs en ligne.
Effet des couleurs sur la perception subjective de l’espace

Expert opinions in consultancy and marketing motivate consumers to colour their environment in order to boost cognitive or affective functions (such as “violet helps to concentrate in an office”), or to create perceptions of bigger space. Surprisingly little empirical evidence exists that translate to founded messages.

This project is aimed at understanding how coloured environments influence spatial exploration of these environments. Of particular interest is the causal relation between colour perception and the subjective experience of room size, including its impact on subjective well-being or adaptiveness in particular situations.

Communication non verbale de l’émotion

La recherche sur la communication émotionnelle met fortement l'accent sur le visage et la voix en tant que modalités expressives, laissant le reste du corps et son environnement (par exemple, l'environnement de couleurs) relativement sous-étudiés.

  • Contrairement à l’idée de départ selon laquelle les mouvements corporels n'indiquent qu'une intensité émotionnelle, cette recherche ajoute aux preuves en augmentation que les mouvements corporels véhiculent également des informations spécifiques aux émotions. Cette recherche implique des hypothèses dans les domaines de la recherche sur les émotions (visage et voix), des approches linguistiques (gestuelle et langage des signes), de la psychologie clinique et de l'éthologie. Afin de mieux comprendre le rôle du mouvement corporel dans la communication non verbale (émotionnelle ou autre), nous avons développé des outils manuels et automatiques assistés par ordinateur tels que le système de codage Body Action et Posture et des algorithmes d'extraction de caractéristiques. Ces outils nous permettent, ainsi qu'à d'autres, de mesurer de manière fiable et objective les schémas d'expression et de perception à travers les mouvements corporels et de les évaluer par rapport à des hypothèses issues de différentes perspectives théoriques.

    Collaborateurs externes :
    Annika Huber, Stefanie Riemer, & Hanno Würbel (University of Bern)
    Martijn Goudbeek (University of Tilburg)
    Klaus Scherer & Marcello Mortillaro (Swiss Centre for Affective Sciences, University of Geneva)
    Michael Kipp (Augsburg University of Applied Sciences)
    Antonio Camurri (University of Genova)
     
  • Au-delà de l'expression d'une personne, les caractéristiques de l'environnement influencent également l'interaction humaine. Ici, nous fusionnons les domaines de la communication affective non verbale et de la science des couleurs, afin de mieux comprendre comment nous utilisons la couleur pour nous exprimer et juger les autres. Dans une étude, nous avons montré par exemple que nous associons systématiquement et spontanément des couleurs particulières à des expressions corporelles, congruentes avec l'émotion sous-jacente. De plus, le simple fait de voir ces expressions émotionnelles change la façon dont nous nous rappelons la couleur des vêtements de l'expresseur en accord avec l'émotion représentée (par exemple, plus lumineux pour les expressions positives, voir aussi le projet "Choix de couleurs orientés par les affects"
Différences individuelles dans les associations couleur-émotion

Les couleurs sont associées à des émotions dans le langage commun (par exemple, vert de jalousie) et le comportement quotidien (par exemple, choisir des couleurs de vêtements pour correspondre à son humeur ou l'améliorer). Nous testons les liens entre les couleurs et les émotions en utilisant différentes techniques, en mesurant les couleurs sémantiques et perceptives, et dans différentes populations pour évaluer l'universalité / spécificité des associations couleur-émotion. En étudiant des populations cliniques (par exemple, les personnes daltoniennes) et des personnes provenant de différents milieux culturels et linguistiques, nous serons en mesure d'évaluer les contributions biologiques et environnementales à la formation d'associations de couleurs et d'émotions. Une enquête internationale de grande envergure sur les couleurs fait partie du projet (http://www2.unil.ch/onlinepsylab/colour/main.php).

Partagez:
Géopolis - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 35 25

Colour psychology

Colors shape our environment. Humans are rarely indifferent about them, in particular when they are salient. Popular opinion assumes that colors are interacting with our affective state, may it be in the form of mood changes or wellbeing. Given the current published scientific literature, we are very skeptical that general claims can be made regarding color-affect relationships. So far, we miss a sufficient number of systematic investigations that adhere to common empirical standards. With our studies, we aim to enrich the scientific literature that will eventually inform on how color can be linked to affect in a reliable and valid manner. The different projects listed below join three axes of expertise: experimental paradigms from cognitive psychology, theoretical frameworks from emotion psychology, and extensive knowledge on colour science in everyday applications.

Some examples of recent publications:

  • Mohr, C., Jonauskaite, D., Dan-Glauser, E. S., Uusküla, M., & Dael, N. (2018). Unifying research on colour and emotion: Time for a cross-cultural survey on emotion associations to colour terms. In L. W. MacDonald, C. P. Biggam, & G. V. Paramei (Eds.), Progress in Colour Studies: Cognition, Language, and beyond. Amsterdam/Philadelphia: John Benjamins.
  • Jonauskaite, D., Mohr, C., Antonietti, J.-P., Spiers, P. M., Althaus, B., Anil, S., & Dael, N. (2016). Most and Least Preferred Colours Differ According to Object Context: New Insights from an Unrestricted Colour Range. Plos One, 11(3), 1–22. http://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0152194
  • Dael, N., Perseguers, M.-N., Marchand, C., Antonietti, J.-P., & Mohr, C. (2015). Put on that colour, it fits your emotion: Colour appropriateness as a function of expressed emotion. Quarterly Journal of Experimental Psychology (2006), 218(October), 1–12. http://doi.org/10.1080/17470218.2015.1090462
  • Dael, N., Sierro, G., & Mohr, C. (2013). Affect-related synesthesias: a prospective view on their existence, expression and underlying mechanisms. Frontiers in Psychology, 4(October), 754. http://doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2013.00754

CARLA collaborators:

Principal external collaborators:

Link

Semantic colour-emotion associations

Colours are frequently associated to emotions in how we think and communicate.

Whereas popular opinions are clear-cut, results from scientific studies are mixed (e.g. is red negative?). In this project we study implicit and explicit semantic colour-emotion associations:

  • In the laboratory, we adopt a masked priming paradigm to investigate how emotional connotations of colour concepts are processed and assessed implicitly.
     
  • We are performing a large-scale, international survey (http://www2.unil.ch/onlinepsylab/colour/main.php) in which we aim to assess how color concepts (color terms) associate to a large variety of emotions. Having respondents from many languages and cultures, we assess their commonalities and differences that are potentially based on biological or culturally (in)variant experiences. Further, mappings consist in multiple interrelated colour-emotional associations rather than exclusive one-to-one relationships. These data build on a comprehensive inventory of semantic colour-emotion associations that will allow us and others to develop and test further research questions. Results may also foster neighbouring research areas, in particular on how colour-emotion associations shape color preferences.
Affectively driven colour choices

In this project we examine how emotionally salient stimuli influence colour choices through several lines of research.

  • In a series of laboratory experiments we demonstrate that colour appropriateness judgments and even basic colour reproduction is influenced by the emotional context in a way that the colour choices match or fit the affective meaning of the stimulus (e.g., bodily expression, see also project “Nonverbal communication of emotion”). Findings support the existence of systematic yet not one-to-one colour-emotion associations (such as affective valence with colour brightness, with a large variance regarding hue) that implicitly affect both basic and higher order colour cognition.
     
  • In a second line of studies we test how induced affect (mood, emotion) impacts on colour choices and vice versa, how individually chosen colours rather than preselected colours (by the researcher) as proposed in chromatherapy may be used to induce an affective state.
     
  • A third research line focuses on how colour-emotion associations drive aesthetic colour judgment. We use this framework to investigate colour preferences (liking and disliking) exploring differences between individuals and contexts. Findings extend our current understanding of the role of affect in colour preferences, indicating mainly a) that general colour preferences do not generalize to specific objects (clothes, interior etc.), b) disliked colours seem to be processed differently than liked colours, c) affective associations to chosen colours are not only related to liked or disliked objects but also to concepts (symbols). Research gate link to project here?
     
  • Across these studies, new methods are being developed and used allowing intuitive yet precise colour selection in the laboratory as well as outside, aiming to improve reliability of online colour selection.
Effect of colour on the subjective perception of space

Expert opinions in consultancy and marketing motivate consumers to colour their environment in order to boost cognitive or affective functions (such as “violet helps to concentrate in an office”), or to create perceptions of bigger space. Surprisingly little empirical evidence exists that translate to founded messages.

This project is aimed at understanding how coloured environments influence spatial exploration of these environments. Of particular interest is the causal relation between colour perception and the subjective experience of room size, including its impact on subjective well-being or adaptiveness in particular situations.

Nonverbal communication of emotion

Emotion communication research strongly focuses on the face and voice as expressive modalities, leaving the rest of the body and its surroundings (e.g., colour environment) relatively understudied.

  • Contrary to the early assumption that body movement only indicates emotional intensity, this research adds to the growing evidence that body movement also conveys emotion specific information. This research translates assumptions across the domains of emotion research (face and voice), linguistic approaches (gesture and sign language), clinical psychology and ethology. In order to enhance our understanding on the role of body movement in nonverbal communication (of emotion or other), we developed computer-assisted manual and automatic tools such as the Body Action and Posture coding system and feature extraction algorithms. These tools allow us and others to reliably and objectively measure patterns of expression and perception through body movement and to evaluate them against hypotheses from different theoretical perspectives.

    External collaborators:
    Annika Huber, Stefanie Riemer, & Hanno Würbel (University of Bern)
    Martijn Goudbeek (University of Tilburg)
    Klaus Scherer & Marcello Mortillaro (Swiss Centre for Affective Sciences, University of Geneva)
    Michael Kipp (Augsburg University of Applied Sciences)
    Antonio Camurri (University of Genova)
     
  • Beyond a person’s expression, features of the surrounding environment also influence human interaction. Here, we merge the fields of affective nonverbal communication and colour science, in order to better understand how we use colour to express ourselves and judge others. In one study we showed for example that we systematically and spontaneously associate particular colours to bodily expressions, congruent with the underlying emotion. Further, merely seeing these emotional expressions changes the way we remember the colour on the expressor’s clothes in line with the depicted emotion (e.g., brighter for positive expressions, see also project “Affectively driven colour choices”).
Individual differences in colour-emotion associations

Colours are associated to emotions in common language (e.g. feeling blue) and everyday behaviour (e.g., choosing clothing colours to match or improve one’s mood). We are testing the links between colours and emotions using different techniques, measuring semantic and perceptual colours, and in different populations to assess the universality/specificity of colour-emotion associations. By investigating clinical populations (e.g., colour-blind people) and people coming from different cultural and linguistic backgrounds, we will be able to assess biological and environmental contributions to the formation of colour and emotions associations. A large-scale international colour survey is part of the project (http://www2.unil.ch/onlinepsylab/colour/main.php).

colour_psy_2.jpg

colour_psy_1.jpg
© Nele Dael

GĂ©opolis - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 35 25