UNIL participants in the H.I.T. programme

Portrait of UNIL participants

Professors Bernardi, Green and Jendly were selected among many candidates for the H.I.T. programme. They explain why they wanted to take part and why such a programme is useful for female professors in general.

 

Laura Bernardi

Full Professor at the Institute of Social Sciences, Faculty of Social and Political Sciences
Unisciences page

14-3_Laura Bernardi.jpg
 

"During my career I have had the opportunity to take up a number of leadership positions of various nature in the US, Germany, Switzerland and France. I am currently at a stage of my professional trajectory when solicitations to take up both scientific and governance responsibilities increase exponentially and I hope that H.I.T will provide me with the opportunity to reflect on my own previous experiences and the challenges related to future ones and to learn from those women in academia who are further along the path. My observations and experience so far tell me that gender plays a large role in decision-making processes in various ways and I would like to learn how other women in leadership positions face it. I am convinced that a more gender-balanced leadership improves the academic context through clearer and more transparent criteria as well as fairer opportunities for academic careers for everyone, not only for women."

 

"We often are thrown into the business of governance missing a specific training and transparent exchange with peers on what this may represent. I have been building my competences by observing what I felt as good or bad practices or taking advice from my predecessors (often men), by investing extra-time, and by improvising quite often. And yet, the different nature of leading a research project and leading other academic bodies is evident; the latter task often requires even more the ability to manage diverging objectives and interests, different perspectives and work cultures, caring for representation balance and for the sustainability of a cooperative environment. These requirements make the leadership role in academic bodies on the one hand extremely challenging and, on the other hand, worth investing personal and collective time to prepare for it. 

Despite the uneasiness that may accompany leaving the comfort zone of research and teaching, I am convinced that women professors need to engage in both mentoring and leadership positions, since we contribute to science both by doing good research and by creating, managing, and sustaining good scientific policies and practices."

 

Eva Green

Associate Professor at the Institute of Psychology, Faculty of Social and Political Sciences
Unisciences page

EGreen_2018.jpg
 

"After a year of very interesting experiences as Vice-Dean for Junior faculty & Equality at the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences, I had to learn a lot of things "on the job". I am now curious to learn and reflect further on different aspects of academic leadership through workshops and sharing with other participants in this programme. I also hope to be able to discover new ways to develop an academic culture that promotes equality and that I can share with my colleagues. Even if our faculty's gender equality plan is ambitious, and several elements are already implemented, many challenges remain. In particular, how to encourage and support brilliant young women researchers so that they can remain in academia while knowing that work-life balance remains very complicated in Switzerland with a limited childcare and extracurricular system."

"It will be easier to answer this question at the end of the programme, but I suppose such training would be useful for BOTH female and male professors. While the objective of this specific programme is to encourage women to take on high-level academic leadership roles, the content of the programme applies equally to women and men. There is an implicit assumption that leadership skills are acquired when one occupies such positions, and no doubt one learns a lot by doing. However, without wishing to transform professors into professional managers, more generalized gender-sensitive training would provide some basic skills, for example in planning and institutional issues, human resources, and conflict management at different levels. Such training would then provide valuable support and tools for anyone starting in these roles."

 

Manon Jendly

Associate Professor, Department of Criminology, Faculty of Law, Criminal Sciences and Public Administration
Unisciences page

PictManon.jpeg
 

"I want to play a more important role in promoting, in my University, a better representation of diversity in terms of gender, race, origin and sexual orientation, in particular. Through the H.I.T. programme, I hope to acquire new skills to encourage and participate more actively in initiatives aimed at a definitely more inclusive academia."

 

"The H.I.T. programme aims to formalize the leadership skills of female professors, strengthen their networks and give them the keys to impact the long-term vision of the Swiss university system. By expressly recognizing their power for change, it supports their commitment, strengthens their aspirations and values their place in the evolution of plural equality practices and policies in the academic world."

Follow us:    
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 59

Participantes de l'UNIL au programme H.I.T.

Portrait des participantes de l'UNIL

Les professeures Bernardi, Green et Jendly ont été sélectionnées parmi de nombreuses candidates pour le programme H.I.T. Elles nous expliquent pourquoi elles ont souhaité participer à ce programme et en quoi un tel programme est utile pour les professeures en général. 

 

Laura Bernardi

Professeure ordinaire à l’Institut des sciences sociales, Faculté des sciences sociales et politiques

Page Unisciences

 

14-3_Laura Bernardi.jpg

 

"Au cours de ma carrière, j'ai eu l'occasion d'occuper plusieurs postes de direction de natures diverses aux Etats-Unis, en Allemagne, en Suisse et en France. Je suis actuellement à un stade de ma trajectoire professionnelle où les sollicitations pour assumer des responsabilités à la fois scientifiques et de gouvernance augmentent de façon exponentielle et j'espère que H.I.T. me donnera l'occasion de réfléchir sur mes propres expériences passées et les défis liés à celles à venir et d'apprendre de ces femmes universitaires qui sont plus avancées dans cette voie. Mes observations et mon expérience jusqu'à présent me disent que le genre joue un rôle important dans les processus de prise de décision de diverses manières et j'aimerais savoir comment d'autres femmes occupant des postes de direction y font face. Je suis convaincue qu'un leadership plus équilibré en terme de genre améliore le contexte académique grâce à des critères plus clairs et plus transparents ainsi qu'à des possibilités de carrière universitaire plus équitables pour tout le monde, pas seulement pour les femmes".
 
"Nous nous lançons souvent dans le domaine de la gouvernance sans formation spécifique et sans échange transparent avec nos pairs sur ce que cela peut représenter. J'ai développé mes compétences en observant ce que j'ai perçu comme de bonnes ou de mauvaises pratiques ou en suivant les conseils de mes prédécesseurs (souvent des hommes), en investissant des heures supplémentaires et en improvisant assez souvent. Pourtant, la nature différente de la direction d'un projet de recherche et de la direction d'autres organes académiques est évidente ; cette dernière tâche exige souvent encore plus la capacité de gérer des objectifs et des intérêts divergents, des perspectives et des cultures de travail différentes, en veillant à une représentation équilibrée et à la durabilité d'un environnement coopératif. Ces exigences rendent le rôle de leadership dans les instances académiques extrêmement exigeant d'une part et, d'autre part, valent la peine d'investir du temps personnel et collectif pour s'y préparer. 
Malgré les inquiétudes qui peuvent accompagner le fait de quitter la zone de confort de la recherche et de l'enseignement, je suis convaincue que les professeures doivent s'engager à la fois dans le mentorat et le leadership, puisque nous contribuons à la science en faisant de la recherche de qualité et en créant, gérant et maintenant de bonnes politiques et pratiques scientifiques."

 

Eva Green

Professeure associée à l’Institut de psychologie, Faculté des sciences sociales et politiques

Page Unisciences

 

EGreen_2018.jpg

 

"Après une année d’expériences très intéressantes comme Vice-Doyenne Relève & Égalité à la Faculté des SSP j’ai dû apprendre beaucoup de choses « sur le tas ». Je suis maintenant curieuse d’apprendre et de réfléchir davantage sur différents aspects de leadership académique via des ateliers et le partage avec les autres participantes de ce programme. J’espère aussi pouvoir découvrir de nouvelles pistes pour développer une culture académique promouvant l’égalité que je pourrai partager avec mes collègues. Même si le plan égalité de notre faculté est ambitieux, et que plusieurs éléments sont déjà implémentés, il y a beaucoup de défis qui restent. Notamment la manière d’encourager et de soutenir des jeunes chercheuses brillantes pour qu’elles puissent rester dans le monde académique tout en sachant que la conciliation travail-famille reste très compliquée en Suisse avec un système de garde et parascolaire limité."

 

"Il sera plus facile de répondre à cette question à la fin du programme, mais je suppose qu’une telle formation serait utile pour les professeures ET les professeurs. Certes l’objectif de ce programme spécifique est d’encourager les femmes à assumer des rôles de leadership académique de haut niveau, mais le contenu du programme vaut autant pour les femmes que pour les hommes. Il y a un présupposé implicite qu’on acquiert des compétences de leadership lorsque l’on occupe de telles positions, et sans doute, on apprend beaucoup en faisant. Or, sans vouloir transformer les professeur·e·s en managers professionnel·le·s, une formation sensible au genre plus généralisée assurerait quelques compétences de base, par exemple concernant la planification et les enjeux institutionnels, les ressources humaines, et la gestion des conflits à différents niveaux. Une telle formation fournirait alors un soutien et des outils précieux pour toute personne débutant dans ces rôles."

 

Manon Jendly

Professeure associée au Département de criminologie, Faculté de droit, des sciences criminelles de d’administration publique

Page Unisciences

 

PictManon.jpeg

 

"Je souhaite jouer un rôle plus important dans la promotion, dans mon Université, d'une meilleure représentation de la diversité en termes de genre, de race, d’origine et d’orientation sexuelle, notamment. A travers le programme H.I.T, j’espère acquérir de nouvelles compétences pour susciter et participer plus activement à des initiatives visant une académie définitivement plus inclusive."

 

"Le programme H.I.T. ambitionne de formaliser les compétences en leadership des professeures, renforcer leur réseau et leur donner des clés pour impacter la vision à long terme du système universitaire suisse. En reconnaissant expressément leur pouvoir de changement, il soutient leur engagement, renforce leurs aspirations et valorise leur place dans l'évolution de pratiques et politiques d'égalité plurielle en milieu académique."

 

Suivez nous:    
Partagez:
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 59