PROWD (PROfessional Women with Doctorates)

PROWD.png

 

The postdoctoral stage is a key moment in the career of women researchers, after which many of them leave academia or encounter difficulties finding positions outside the university that match their high qualification.

 

Supporting women’s careers and developing policies in favour of young researchers are major objectives in the Action plan for gender equality 2017-2020 and the Intention plan 2017-2021 (PDF, in French) of the University of Lausanne.

 

The PROWD programme responds to these objectives by providing female PhD holders at UNIL a career support offer that complements both other existing UNIL-specific career support programmes for young researchers of both sexes (Graduate Campus) and women’s careers support programmes conducted in cooperation with the other universities of western Switzerland (Réseau Romand de Mentoring, REGARD workshops). PROWD addresses female postdocs’ diverse needs and professional prospects through two specific tracks, while offering them opportunities for sharing experiences and concerns at joint events.

 

You plan to apply for a professorship?

Register for Academic Career

 

You want to pursue a career outside academia?

Register for Non-academic Career

Practical information

Programme duration and structure

PROWD is a complete programme running over several months. Participants commit to follow the entire programme. It will start on October 10th 2019 (Kick-off event) and will end on May 12th 2020 (closing event).

 

It consists of events specific to each track (Academic Career and Non-academic Career) as well as common events bringing together all the participants in the programme.

 

People registered for each track commit to participating in the main events (Programme kick-off event, one-day workshops, mentoring or coaching). Participation in the other, shorter events (lunch-workshops, informal meetings, etc.) is optional.

Programme language

Most workshops and other events will be given in French, others will be given in English. The language for each event is indicated in the description, and generally matches the language of the event’s title. Participants can in any case choose to speak in French or in English during workshops. For some workshops, the language will depend on participants' preferences, which they are asked to indicate in the programme registration form. 

Conditions of participation
  • Hold a PhD (by the beginning of the programme)
  • Have a UNIL affiliation
    • hold a non permanent academic position at UNIL (first assistant/junior lecturer, maître-assistante/lecturer, postdoc, SNF senior researcher, scientific collaborator, part time lecturer); people with other kinds of positions may be accepted if they can justify the programme’s relevance to their career development
    • or, have obtained their PhD from UNIL up to 3 years agoBe available on the dates of the main events and take part in the whole programme (from October 2018 to April 2019)
  • Be available on the dates of the main events and take part in the whole programme (from October 2019 to May 2020)
Selection criteria
  • Motivation for the programme
  • Motivation for an academic/non-academic career
  • Relevance of the programme at this stage in the applicant’s career planning and development
Number of participants

12 people in each track

Registration procedure and deadline

Registration for the 2019-2020 programme is now closed. 

Registration for the 3rd edition, 2020-2021 will open in June 2020.

Questions and additional information

For any question, please contact the programme coordinator at Joanne.Chassot@unil.ch or 021 692 67 86.

Follow us:    

Flyer PROWD pour site_Page_1.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

With the support of

lives-logo-highres-fr.png

Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 59

PROWD (PROfessional Women with Doctorates)

PROWD.png

 

 

La période postdoctorale est un moment clé dans le parcours des femmes scientifiques, à l’issue duquel nombre d’entre elles quittent la voie académique ou rencontrent des difficultés à trouver un poste à la hauteur de leurs qualifications.

 

L’encouragement des carrières féminines et le développement de la politique de la relève scientifique sont des axes majeurs du Plan d’action pour l’égalité 2017-2020 et du Plan d’intentions 2017-2021 de l’Université de Lausanne.

 

Le programme PROWD s’inscrit dans ces objectifs, en mettant à disposition des femmes de l’UNIL titulaires d’un doctorat une offre de soutien de carrière. Celle-ci vient compléter tant les offres internes destinées à un public mixte (Graduate Campus) que les programmes de soutien aux carrières féminines menés en coopération avec les autres universités de Suisse occidentale (Réseau Romand de Mentoring, ateliers REGARD). PROWD s’adresse aux besoins et perspectives professionnelles diverses des postdoctorantes au travers de deux volets spécifiques, tout en offrant des opportunités d’échanges entre les participantes lors d’événements communs.

 

Vous visez un poste de professeure?

Inscrivez-vous au volet Carrière académique

 

Vous envisagez de poursuivre votre carrière hors de l’université?

Inscrivez-vous au volet Carrière non-académique

Informations pratiques

Durée et structure du programme

PROWD est un programme complet sur plusieurs mois. Les participantes s’engagent pour toute la durée du programme. Celui-ci débutera le 10 octobre 2019 (événement de lancement) et se terminera le 12 mai 2020 (événement de clôture).

 

Il se compose d’événements spécifiques à chaque volet (Carrière académique et Carrière non-académique) ainsi que d’événements communs rassemblant toutes les participantes du programme.

 

Les personnes inscrites dans chaque volet s’engagent à participer aux événements principaux (événement de lancement et de clôture, ateliers d’une journée de leur volet, mentoring ou coaching). La participation aux autres événements de format plus court (ateliers-midis, rencontres informelles, etc.) est facultative. 

Langue du programme

La plupart des ateliers et autres événements seront animés en français, les autres seront donnés en anglais. La langue de chaque événement est indiquée dans le descriptif et correspond en principe à la langue du titre de l’événement. Les participantes pourront en tous les cas s’exprimer en français ou en anglais durant les ateliers. Pour certains ateliers, la langue sera choisie en fonction des préférences des participantes, qui sont invitées à l'indiquer dans le formulaire d'inscription au programme. 

Conditions de participation
  • Être titulaire d’un doctorat (au moment du lancement du programme)
  • Être affiliée à l’UNIL:
    • occuper une fonction académique non stabilisée à l’UNIL (première assistante, maître-assistante, postdoc, chercheuse FNS seniore, collaboratrice scientifique, chargée de cours); les personnes occupant d’autres types de postes peuvent être acceptées sur justification de l’intérêt du programme pour leur développement de carrière
    • ou avoir obtenu un doctorat de l’UNIL depuis 3 ans au maximum
  • Être disponible aux dates des événements obligatoires et suivre l’entier du programme (d’octobre 2019 à mai 2020)
Critères de sélection
  • Motivation pour le programme
  • Motivation pour la carrière académique/non-académique
  • Pertinence du programme à ce stade de la réflexion et du développement de carrière de la candidate
Nombre de participantes

12 personnes par volet

Procédure et délai d'inscription

Les inscriptions pour l'édition 2019-2020 sont désormais closes. 

Les inscriptions pour la 3e édition, 2020-2021 s'ouvriront en juin 2020.

Questions et informations supplémentaires

Pour toute question, veuillez contacter la coordinatrice du programme par mail à Joanne.Chassot@unil.ch ou au 021 692 67 86.

Suivez nous:    

Télécharger le flyer

Flyer PROWD pour site_Page_1.jpg

Partagez:
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 59