Confederation

Federal Constitution | Federal Act on Gender Equality
 

Federal Constitution

The Federal Constitution prohibits discrimination, notably on the grounds of gender.

Art. 8 Equality before the law

1 Every person is equal before the law.

2 No person may be discriminated against, in particular on grounds of origin, race, gender, age, language, social position, way of life, religious, ideological, or political convictions, or because of a physical, mental or psychological disability.

3 Men and women have equal rights. The law shall ensure their equality, both in law and in practice, most particularly in the family, in education, and in the workplace. Men and women have the right to equal pay for work of equal value.

4 The law shall provide for the elimination of inequalities that affect persons with disabilities.
 

TOP ^

Federal Act on Gender Equality

The Gender Equality Act (LEg) came into effect in 1996. It aims to make gender equality a concrete reality in the professional world. The key point is the prohibition of direct and indirect discrimination throughout the salaried working relationship (in both the private and public sectors), from recruitment to dismissal, including the distribution of tasks, working conditions, salary, continuing education and promotion.
Discrimination is unlawful, not only when it is based on gender, but also civil status, family situation or pregnancy. Sexual harassment at the workplace is one of the forms of discrimination that is expressly prohibited. Lightening the burden of proof (except for discrimination during recruitment and sexual harassment) and the capacity for organizations to take legal action are designed to make proceedings easier on the basis of this law.

The website leg.ch was designed by the Conférence romande de l’égalité, egalite.ch, which brings together all the cantonal Equal Opportunities Offices in French-speaking Switzerland. The aim of the site is to raise greater awareness among the general public and professionals about equal opportunities law, case law and  legal opinion in this area. It also sets out the procedure to be followed in the event of a dispute coming to court.

View / Read

TOP ^

Follow us:    
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 59

Confédération

Constitution fédérale | Loi fédérale sur l’égalité entre femmes et hommes
 

Constitution fédérale

La Constitution fédérale interdit les discriminations, notamment à raison du sexe.

Art. 8 Egalité

1 Tous les êtres humains sont égaux devant la loi.

2 Nul ne doit subir de discrimination du fait notamment de son origine, de sa race, de son sexe, de son âge, de sa langue, de sa situation sociale, de son mode de vie, de ses convictions religieuses, philosophiques ou politiques ni du fait d’une déficience corporelle, mentale ou psychique.

3 L’homme et la femme sont égaux en droit. La loi pourvoit à l’égalité de droit et de fait, en particulier dans les domaines de la famille, de la formation et du travail. L’homme et la femme ont droit à un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale.

4 La loi prévoit des mesures en vue d’éliminer les inégalités qui frappent les personnes handicapées.

TOP ^

Loi fédérale sur l’égalité entre femmes et hommes

La loi sur l’égalité (LEg) est entrée en vigueur en 1996. Elle vise à concrétiser l’égalité entre femmes et hommes dans le domaine professionnel. Le point central en est l’interdiction des discriminations directes et indirectes dans toute la relation de travail salarié (secteurs privé et public), de l’embauche au licenciement, en passant par la répartition des tâches, les conditions de travail, le salaire, la formation continue et la promotion.

Les discriminations sont illicites non seulement lorsqu’elles reposent sur le sexe, mais aussi quand elles sont liées à l’état civil, à la situation familiale ou à la grossesse. Le harcèlement sexuel sur le lieu de travail constitue l’une des formes de discrimination expressément interdites. L’allègement du fardeau de la preuve (sauf pour la discrimination à l’embauche et le harcèlement sexuel) ainsi que la qualité pour agir des organisations visent à faciliter les actions sur la base de cette loi.

Le site leg.ch a été conçu par la Conférence romande de l’égalité, egalite.ch, qui réunit les bureaux cantonaux romands de l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Ce site a pour objectif de faire mieux connaître au grand public et aux professionnel·le·s le droit de l’égalité, la jurisprudence et la doctrine en la matière. Il présente également la procédure à suivre en cas de litige porté devant les tribunaux.

Consulter / Lire
Brochure de présentation
Site du Bureau cantonal de l’égalité

TOP ^

Suivez nous:    
Partagez:
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 59