Facts and figures

| Gender equality at universities | Other equality issues at universities
 

The University does not tolerate any form of discrimination, including on the grounds of sex, gender identity or sexual orientation, social, national or ethnic origin, age or living with a disability.

The University Rectorate takes measures to achieve the principle of equality and, to do so, relies on the Equal Opportunities Office and the Gender Equality Commission.

 

Gender equality at universities

In the late 1990s, the political and university authorities began to be concerned at the small proportion of women (7%) on university teaching staff. The measures introduced in 2000 – driven by the federal “Equality of Opportunities” program – produced positive results.

Today, women are well represented in universities, particularly within the student body, and administrative and technical personnel. But the number of women falls sharply at higher levels, particularly within academic hierarchies. This vertical segregation is found across the board, in Swiss, European and US universities. At UNIL, in 2018, women made up 52% of graduate assistants but just 23% of full professors.

At the same time, there is also horizontal segmentation, i.e. unequal representation of men and women across the different disciplines. In 2018, for example, women made up 51% of academic staff in the Faculty of Arts (all levels of seniority combined) but just 33% in the Faculty of Business and Economics.

There has certainly been progress in recent years but it is still too slow, which is why it is essential to pursue measures to promote equality at the university.

Gender equality at universities  
Issues 
Statistics 

Other equality issues at universities

Equality of opportunities at universities does not only apply to men and women. There are multiple issues, for example in relation to sexual orientation, gender identity, disability and social, national or ethnic origin.

UNIL is committed to creating a culture of openness and integration, which draws on difference to highlight its advantages and allows everyone to develop their skills and potential to the full. With this in mind, it takes a series of measures to support diversity.

View

Read

Follow us:    

Equality monitoring at UNIL 2017 (in French)

Capture d’écran 2019-03-11 à 11.13.08.png

 

To listen

Pourquoi si peu de femmes profs d'université? (Tribu, RTS La 1ère, 16.03.2017)

Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 59

Faits et chiffres

| Egalité entre femmes et hommes à l'université | Autres enjeux de l'égalité à l'université
 

L’Université ne tolère aucune forme de discrimination, notamment à raison du sexe, de l’identité de genre ou de l’orientation sexuelle, de l’origine sociale, nationale ou ethnique, de l’âge ou du fait de vivre en situation de handicap.

 

La Direction de l’Université prend des mesures visant à concrétiser dans les faits le principe d’égalité. Pour atteindre ses objectifs, elle s'appuie sur le Bureau de l’égalité et la Commission consultative de l’égalité.

 

 

Egalité entre femmes et hommes à l'université

À la fin des années 1990, les autorités politiques et universitaires ont commencé à s’inquiéter du faible taux de femmes au sein du corps professoral (7%). Les mesures engagées dès 2000 – sur l’impulsion du Programme fédéral «Egalité des chances» – ont donné des résultats positifs.

Aujourd’hui, les femmes sont largement présentes dans les universités, en particulier au sein du corps estudiantin et du personnel administratif et technique. Mais leur nombre diminue fortement au cours de l’ascension professionnelle, en particulier dans les hiérarchies académiques. Ce constat de ségrégation verticale vaut pour les universités tant suisses qu’européennes et américaines. A l’UNIL, en 2018, les femmes composaient 52% des assistant·e·s diplômé·e·s, mais seulement 23% des professeur·e·s ordinaires.

À ce phénomène s’ajoute celui de ségrégation horizontale, à savoir l’inégale représentation des hommes et des femmes entre les différentes disciplines. Ainsi, en 2018, on comptait 51% de femmes parmi le personnel académique de la Faculté des Lettres (tous degrés hiérarchiques confondus) et seulement 33% en Faculté des Hautes études commerciales.

La progression certaine, mais trop lente des dernières années le montre: il est essentiel de poursuivre les mesures de promotion de l’égalité à l’université.

Egalité femmes-hommes à l'université  
Enjeux 
L'égalité en chiffres 

Autres enjeux de l'égalité à l'université

L’égalité des chances à l'université, ce n’est pas seulement celle entre femmes et hommes. Les enjeux sont multiples: ils concernent par exemple l'orientation sexuelle, l'identité de genre, les situations de handicap et l’origine sociale, nationale ou ethnique.

L’UNIL s’engage à créer une culture de l’ouverture et de l’intégration qui s’appuie sur les différences pour en souligner les avantages, et à permettre à chacun·e de développer pleinement son potentiel et ses compétences. Dans ce sens, elle prend différentes mesures en faveur de la diversité.


Consulter

Lire

Suivez nous:    

Monitoring de l'égalité à l'UNIL 2017

Capture d’écran 2019-03-11 à 11.13.08.png

À écouter

Pourquoi si peu de femmes profs d'université? (Tribu, RTS La 1ère, 16.03.2017)

Partagez:
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 59