Issues

Why do these inequalities exist?

Why is it that the proportion of women decreases steadily, particularly after the post-doctoral stage? And why are men more closely associated with the exact and natural sciences than women? Vertical and horizontal segregation within universities is the result of various mechanisms, which tend to have cumulative effects.

Individual level

At the individual level, female researchers may have the sense that they do not belong in certain disciplines or at higher levels, where they are in a minority, and therefore opt to leave the academic world altogether. People’s individual attitudes are driven by differences in how they are socialized, which implies that certain skills are associated with girls and women (for example, empathy, altruism and kindness) and others with boys and men (such as competitiveness, rationality and leadership) and internalized accordingly from childhood onwards.

Structural and normative factors

Structural and normative factors also play a part. For example, because of the lack of child-care facilities in Switzerland and the fact that family responsibilities still fall largely to women, female researchers often have to assume (or are believed to have to assume) a double workload if they want to pursue an academic career and start a family and/or if they have family members who need care. Very often, there is a clash between family and professional commitments, creating a significant source of tension.

Institutional elements

The university itself may discourage applications from women, by adopting a typically masculine view of scientific careers. For example, if excellence is defined as an intensive, linear and uninterrupted investment, women’s CVs run the risk of being viewed as less competitive than men’s.

Bias and gender stereotypes

Finally, given that everyone has their own unconscious bias and stereotypes in relation to gender, applications from women can be unjustly dismissed during selection and appointment procedures. It is therefore essential to be aware of the cognitive mechanisms that can produce biased judgments, in order to guarantee fair and equitable procedures.

Find out more about gender bias.

 

More information

Scientific references

Results of research carried out at UNIL


Other publications


Watch / Listen

Gender bias in the academic world
Best practices and tools
Follow us:    
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 59

Enjeux

Pourquoi ces inégalités ?

Comment expliquer que la proportion de femmes diminue de manière constante, notamment à partir de la phase postdoctorale ? Et pourquoi les hommes sont-ils davantage associés aux sciences exactes et naturelles que les femmes ? La ségrégation verticale et horizontale à l’université est le résultat de différents mécanismes, dont les effets ont tendance à se cumuler.

 

Niveau individuel

Au niveau individuel, les chercheuses peuvent avoir le sentiment qu’elles n’ont pas leur place dans certaines disciplines ou positions élevées où elles sont en minorité et ainsi préférer quitter le monde académique. Les dispositions individuelles des unes et des autres découlent d’une socialisation différenciée, qui implique que certaines compétences soient associées aux filles/femmes (par exemple, empathie, altruisme, gentillesse) et d’autres aux garçons/hommes (compétitivité, rationalité, leadership) et intériorisées comme telles depuis l’enfance.

 

Facteurs structurels et normatifs

Des facteurs structurels et normatifs interviennent également. Par exemple, en raison du manque de structures de garde pour les enfants en Suisse et du fait que les tâches familiales sont encore en grande partie assurées par les femmes, les chercheuses doivent souvent assumer (ou sont supposées devoir assumer) une double charge si elles veulent poursuivre une carrière académique et fonder une famille et/ou si elles ont des proches qui nécessitent des soins. Bien souvent, les calendriers familiaux et professionnels se court-circuitent et sont source de tensions importantes.

 

Eléments institutionnels

L’institution universitaire elle-même peut défavoriser les candidatures féminines en adoptant une vision typiquement masculine de la carrière scientifique. Par exemple, si l’excellence est définie comme un investissement intensif, linéaire et ininterrompu, les CVs féminins risquent d’être considérés comme moins compétitifs que ceux des hommes.

 

Biais et stéréotypes de genre

Finalement, étant donné que tout individu est soumis à des biais et des stéréotypes inconscients de genre, les candidatures féminines peuvent être injustement écartées lors des procédures de sélection et de nomination. Pour garantir des procédures justes et équitables, il est donc primordial de prendre conscience des mécanismes cognitifs qui peuvent biaiser le jugement.

En savoir plus sur les biais de genre.

Pour approfondir

Références scientifiques

Résultats de recherches menées à l'UNIL


Autres publications


Regarder/Ecouter

Biais de genre dans le monde académique
Bonnes pratiques et outils

TOP ^

Suivez nous:    
Partagez:
Vieux Pressoir  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 59