20 years old ELSTE

20elstestewart.jpg (20ELSTE_Stewart)

Conference_Stewart.jpg (Conference_Stewart)After several years of informal collaboration, the Earth sciences departments of the University of Geneva and the University of Lausanne joined together to form the "l'Ecole Lémanique des Sciences de la Terre", the ELSTE in 1999. ELSTE offers a Master ès sciences in Earth sciences, jointly between UNIGE and UNIL. With more than 50 teachers, ELSTE proposes around a hundred courses in as many different fields as: geophysics - petrology - volcanology - sedimentology - reservoir geology - ore deposits - paleontology - geochronology - isotopic geochemistry - alpine geology - risk assessment.

On November, 28th, 2019 at UNIGE, to celebrate this 20th birthday, ELSTE invited the Prof. Iain Stewart to give a talk linked with current events entitled "Natural Hazards: how to communicate to save life". It was a success and the attendance was over 200!

The video of the lecture is available in original version, with French translation or with English translation.

Click on this link to view all the pictures.

Iain Stewart was also interviewed by the RTS for the radio program "tout un monde".

Iain Stewart

Iain_Stewart.jpg (Iain_Stewart)Following his graduation in geology at the University of Strathclyde in Scotland, Iain Stewart continued his academic career at the University of Bristol with a PhD on earthquakes in the Mediterranean. He first taught at Brunel University and after that he entered the geosciences center at the University of Glasgow in 2002. In parallel, he launched a TV series on geology. The following year, he worked with BBC on the program Rough Science and two special programs: The real Atlantis and The seismic storms. Since 2004, Iain Stewart has been a lecturer  in geosciences communications at the University of Plymouth. His work have been awarded with several prices, such as the European Federation of Geologists’ Merit Award in 2016 or the Ness medal from the Royal Geographical Society in 2010, for popularizing the Earth sciences.

universite_de_geneve-logo.svg universite_de_lausanne-logo.svg

20 ans de l'ELSTE

20elstestewart.jpg (20ELSTE_Stewart)

Conference_Stewart.jpg (Conference_Stewart)Après plusieurs années de collaboration informelle, les sciences de la Terre de l'Université de Genève et de l'Université de Lausanne se sont associées en 1999, créant l'Ecole Lémanique des Sciences de la Terre et de l'Environnement, devenue aujourd’hui l’Ecole Lémanique des Sciences de la Terre: l'ELSTE. L'ELSTE offre un Master ès sciences en sciences de la Terre conjointement entre l'UNIGE et l'UNIL. Forte de 50 enseignantes et enseignants, elle dispense une centaine de cours dans toutes les spécialités, de la géophysique à la pétrologie et la volcanologie, de la sédimentologie et la géologie des réservoirs à la gîtologie, de la paléontologie et la géochronologie à la géochimie isotopique, de la géologie alpine à l'analyse des risques.

Pour fêter dignement ce bel anniversaire, l'ELSTE a invité le Pr. Iain Stewart à venir donner une conférence d'actualité intitulée "Catastrophes naturelles: communiquer pour sauver des vies" le 28 novembre 2019 à l'Université de Genève. Ce fut un succès avec presque 200 personnes présentes!

La vidéo de la conférence disponible en version originale, intégralement en français ou intégralement en anglais.

Toutes les photos de la conférences sont disponibles sur ce lien

Iain Stewart a également été interviewé par la rts dans le cadre de l'émission radio "tout un monde"

Iain Stewart

Iain_Stewart.jpg (Iain_Stewart)Suite à l’obtention de son diplôme de géologue à l'Université de Strathclyde en Écosse, Iain Stewart poursuit sa carrière académique à l’Université de Bristol en faisant un doctorat sur les tremblements de terre en Méditerranée. Après avoir enseigné à l'Université Brunel, il entre au Centre de géosciences de l'Université de Glasgow en 2002 et lance parallèlement une série télévisée sur la géologie. L'année suivante, il travaille avec la BBC sur l'émission Rough Science et sur deux émissions spéciales : La vraie Atlantide et Les tempêtes sismiques. Depuis 2004, Iain Stewart est chargé de cours en communication sur les géosciences à l'Université de Plymouth. Ses travaux ont été récompensés par de nombreux prix, à l’image du prix du mérite de la Fédération européennes des géologues en 2016 ou la médaille Ness de la Royal Geographical Society pour avoir popularisé les sciences de la Terre en 2010.

Partagez:
universite_de_geneve-logo.svg universite_de_lausanne-logo.svg