Orientation Sedimentary, Environmental, and Reservoir Geology - SERG

| Study plan 2018/2019 | Master topic
 

Coordinators : Martini R. – Adatte T.

The sedimentary cover of the Earth is the result of the interaction between tectonics, weathering and erosion, sediment transport and biological and geochemical processes. Sediments and sedimentary rocks therefore contain fundamental information on the history of the Earth, the environment, climate and life. In addition, sediments and sedimentary rocks are the largest reservoir of the main natural resources such as water, fossil fuels, metals and raw materials. The orientation Sedimentary, Environmental, and Reservoir geology offers a wide and extensive training focusing on sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleontology, basin analysis, reservoir geology, environmental geology and geophysics.

Instruction is provided in the form of ex-cathedra courses, seminars, field trips and independent research. This orientation is unique in Switzerland and Central Europe in general due to its focus on current and fossil surface processes, its interdisciplinary approach, access to a natural laboratory that is the Swiss Jura and the Alps, the number of experts involved, internal to the Universities of Geneva and Lausanne and external guests.

The program proposed in this Master is an ideal preparation to further academic training (PhD) as well as to environmental professions, to engineering geology and to industrial reservoirs and to geo-energy.

TOP ^

Study plan 2018/2019

Mandatory modules given in this orientation:

• Module Depositional environments and sedimentary processes from source to sink
• Module Paleogeography, Paleoclimatology, Paleoecology
• Module Basin research
• Module Geophysics across scales for geologists

Optional modules given in this orientation:

• Integrated basin analysis
• Fundamentals of numerical modelling and data analysis
• Reservoir geology I
• Reservoir geology II
• Advanced structural geology
• Practical seismic reflection
• Borehole logging and rock physics
• Pratique de la géologie environnementale (in French)
• Introduction to fluid flow for geologists
• Spatial analysis applied to geology and risk

Detailed study plan of this orientation for the year 2018/2019

TOP ^

Master topic

You will find here some propositions of Master thesis topic for the academic year 2020.

TOP ^

MartiniR_Foram4.jpg

LOGO_ELSTE.jpg

universite_de_geneve-logo.svg universite_de_lausanne-logo.svg

Orientation Géologie sédimentaire, environnementale et des réservoirs - SERG

| Plan d'études dès 2020 | Sujet de mémoire
 

Coordinateur·e·s : Martini R. – Adatte T.

 

La couverture sédimentaire de la Terre est le résultat de l’interaction entre la tectonique, l’altération et l’érosion, le transport de sédiments et les processus biologiques et géochimiques. Les sédiments et les roches sédimentaires contiennent de ce fait des informations fondamentales sur l’histoire de la Terre, l’environnement, le climat et la vie. En outre, les sédiments et les roches sédimentaires constituent le plus important réservoir des principales ressources naturelles telles que l’eau, les hydrocarbures fossiles, les métaux et les matières premières. L’orientation Géologie sédimentaire, environnementale et des réservoirs offre une formation large et approfondie axée sur la sédimentologie, la stratigraphie, la paléontologie, l’analyse de bassins, la géologie des réservoirs, la géologie de l’environnement et la géophysique.

L’enseignement est dispensé sous forme de cours ex-cathedra, séminaires, excursions et de recherche indépendante. Cette orientation est unique en Suisse et en Europe Centrale en général de part son focus sur les processus de surface actuels et fossiles, son approche interdisciplinaire, l’accès à un laboratoire naturel que sont le Jura Suisse et les Alpes, le nombre d’experts impliqués, internes aux Universités de Genève et Lausanne et externes invités. 

Le cursus proposé dans ce Master constitue une préparation optimale à la poursuite d’une formation académique (thèse de doctorat) ainsi qu’aux métiers de l’environnement, de la géologie appliquée et de l’industrie des réservoirs et géo-énergies.

TOP ^

Plan d'études dès 2020

Modules obligatoires dispensés dans cette orientation:

  • Sedimentary rocks and processes from source-to-sink
  • Life evolving with Earth
  • Basin research
  • Geophysics across scales for geologists

 

Modules à choix dispensés dans cette orientation:

  • Integrated basin analysis
  • Reservoir geology I
  • Reservoir geology II
  • Biostratigraphy and micropalentology
  • 2D and 3D seismic interpretations
  • Borehole logging and rock physics
  • Fluid flow for geologists
  • Spatial analysis applied to geology and risk
  • Fundamentals of numerical modelling and data analysis
  • Advanced structural geology
  • Pratique de la géologie environnementale

 

Sujet de mémoire

Vous trouverez ici quelques propositions de sujet de travail de mémoire pour la rentrée 2021

TOP ^

MartiniR_Foram4.jpg

LOGO_ELSTE.jpg

Partagez:
universite_de_geneve-logo.svg universite_de_lausanne-logo.svg