Institutes and laboratories

Bank Innovation Competence Center (BAICC) | Business Information Systems and Architecture (BISA) Lab | Center for Risk Management (CRML) | China Economics and Finance Center (CEFC) | Distributed Object Programming Lab (DOPLab) | Future Skills LAB | Institute of Applied Economics (CREA) | Interpersonal Behavior Laboratory | Information Security and Privacy (ISP) Lab | Interdisciplinary Platform | Interfaculty Platform in Health Economics and Management (IEMS) | Operations Laboratory (OpLab) | Research group on mathematical logic | Tax Policy Center
 

Bank Innovation Competence Center (BAICC)

The Bank Innovation Competence Center (BAICC) is specialized on the new financial technologies and their impact on banking business models and operations. In a context where banks face several challenges, this competence center aims at helping decision makers evaluate opportunities and threats pertaining to digital technologies, elaborate models, methods and tools for banking institutions, as well as offer a platform for exchange and experimentations around digital technologies and their integration in the banks' strategy and operations.  

The BAICC was created by HEC Lausanne, in partnership with other academic institutions and regional partners.

Website: www.unil.ch/baicc

Blog: www.baicc.news

Business Information Systems and Architecture (BISA) Lab

BISA stands for Business Information Systems & Architecture, a lab headed by Prof. Christine Legner, at the Department of Information Systems. The research conducted focuses on the implications of new technologies for businesses and the management of business and IS architecture.

Website: www.unil.ch/bisa

Center for Risk Management (CRML)

The Center for Risk Management Lausanne (CRML) focuses on risk management and quantitative methods. The main objective of the CRML is to carry out internationally competitive research and to translate breakthroughs into ideas that are implemented in the local and global industry as well as by the regulator and central banks.

Website: www.crml.ch

China Economics and Finance Center (CEFC)

Created in 2018, the China Economics and Finance Center (CEFC) aims to build a platform for exchanges and cooperation between Chinese and Swiss universities and companies. Based on this platform, CEFC provides companies with tailored training programs about banking and finance, management, technology, start-up incubation and other professional competences to help Chinese and Swiss entrepreneurs achieve innovation and development. CEFC is also an interdisciplinary center conducting cutting-edge research on the Chinese economic development, economic cooperation between Switzerland, European countries and China, to help Swiss and Chinese researchers carry out joint work in fields such as international economy, financial services, transnational and innovation management. Besides, CEFC regularly holds seminars and conferences on Chinese economy and management topics.

Website: www.unil.ch/cefc

Distributed Object Programming Lab (DOPLab)

Since its creation in 2004, DOPLab has focused its research and teaching activities on the design and implementation of programming and communication abstractions for creating reliable distributed systems, with a special emphasis on the object paradigm. One of the key elements of the DOPLab as a laboratory of the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Lausanne is to consider not only the theoretical and practical aspects of distributed technologies, but also to encompass business concerns, such as the deployment and maintenance of distributed architectures, or the adoption of new programming abstractions within a development team.

Today, the research conducted at the DOPLab focuses on understanding how best to use the next generation of distributed systems based on the Internet of Things (IoT), which are facing extreme mobility requirements and the lack of centralized trust. Extreme mobility implies the need to design systems capable of scaling by the mere addition of computing nodes (horizontal scalability), while the lack of centralized trust requires the adoption of distributed architectures based on the blockchain technology.

Website: www.doplab.unil.ch

Future Skills LAB

The Future Skills LAB is an observation, analysis and research unit for all issues related to obsolescence and the updating of professional skills induced not only by technological breakthroughs, but also by societal changes and environmental constraints.

We are working to identify the evolution of professions and define new portfolios of skills that individuals must develop today to prosper in tomorrow's world and that companies must anticipate in order to sustain their human capital.

The Future Skills LAB connects and collaborates with academic experts from all campus institutions as well as experts from the professional world to identify the risks and opportunities associated with this acceleration and thus co-create a better future by providing relevant and timely responses to urgent and complex challenges in the world of work.

The Future Skills LAB also hosts a UNIL-EPFL research project (CROSS) that aims to identify the skills that will enable humans to resist machine advances.

Website: www.unil.ch/futureskillslab/

Institute of Applied Economics (CREA)

The CREA Institute provides the private and public sectors and international organizations with a team of economists for the realization of punctual economic research projects. It regularly publishes works designed to bridge the gap between academic research, the business world and the public. This institute specializes in economic analysis and forecasts at national and international level. It is the only institute in Switzerland to publish economic forecasts for Switzerland.

Website: www.unil.ch/crea

Interpersonal Behavior Laboratory

The Interpersonal Behavior Laboratory is headed by Prof. Marianne Schmid Mast. The research carried out in the lab aims at a better understanding of human interpersonal behavior, mostly at the workplace. The lab is situated at the crossroad of social psychology, management, and leadership. Research in the lab focuses on topics such as nonverbal behavior, first impressions, power and leadership, interpersonal communication, behavioral adaptability, responsible interpersonal behavior, interpersonal accuracy, and effects of physical environment on behavior.

One of the particularities of this lab is to use immersive virtual reality technology to explore interpersonal behaviors.

Website: https://wp.unil.ch/msmlab

Information Security and Privacy (ISP) Lab

The Information Security and Privacy (ISP) Lab is headed by Prof. Kévin Huguenin. The research interest of the lab is in security and privacy in mobile (social) networks, with a special emphasis on the human and social aspects. The lab carries interdisciplinary research projects on privacy, at the frontier between computer science and social sciences (incl. law) and medicine (mHealth, genomics). The current activities focus mainly on the exploration of the privacy / utility trade-off in location-based and activity-based online social networks.

Website: www.unil.ch/isplab

Interdisciplinary Platform

The Interdisciplinary Platform is headed by Dr Marc Laperrouza and it aims at equipping our students with interdisciplinary competences to prepare them for interactions in challenging projects involving stakeholders from different backgrounds. The Interdisciplinary Platform leverages the close proximity of a wide range of disciplines on the campus and creates and promotes learning experiences for interdisciplinary group work, co-design, rapid prototyping, agile project management and other 21st century skills (collaboration, creativity). Particular attention will be given to cross-faculty collaboration.

Interfaculty Platform in Health Economics and Management (IEMS)

The Interfaculty Platform in Health Economics and Management (IEMS) promotes research in the fields of health economics, health management, health services research and health policy. It brings together academics and practitioners from several research units active in these fields at HEC Lausanne, at the Faculty of Biology and Medicine of the University of Lausanne and the Lausanne University Hospital (CHUV).

One of IEMS' main research projects is the Swiss component study of the Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE). A second important research project is part of the Swiss Programme for Research on Global Issues for Development (r4d programme). 

The IEMS supports regular seminars on health, labor and development economics.

Website: www.unil.ch/iems

Operations Laboratory (OpLab)

OpLab is a laboratory under the professorship of Suzanne de Treville. Its mission is to create and deploy tools that calculate the value of supply-chain responsiveness. These tools are based on quantitative finance, under the realization that a responsive supply chain can exercise extremely valuable - but often invisible - real options.

A first tool offered by OpLab is the Cost-Differential Frontier (CDF, available at cdf-oplab.unil.ch). It calculates the percentage of reduction of production costs necessary to justify relocation, knowing that it will be necessary to decide, by offshoring, the quantity to be produced before knowing the level of demand. Other tools are available in beta form that provide deeper insights into how to translate responsiveness and its option value into innovation and sustainability.

OpLab also develops teaching games and simulations to aid managers and other decision makers in using tools and interpreting results. 

Research group on mathematical logic

The activities of this group mainly focus on descriptive set theory — which classifies some well-behaved classes of subsets of the real line or more generally of Polish spaces — as well as some applications  to theoretical computer science (more precisely, automata theory). The methods used arise from the mathematical framework of game theory as developed in set theory: infinite two-player games with perfect information.

Website: www.hec.unil.ch/logique

Tax Policy Center

The University of Lausanne’s Tax Policy Center is hosted jointly by its Faculty of Law, Criminal Justice and Public Administration and its Faculty of Business and Economics, HEC Lausanne. It aims at bringing together the research and teaching activities in this area carried out at the University of Lausanne, and facilitating exchanges with outside experts and students. The Center actively collaborates with the OECD and the IBFD, and it coordinates a research network on fiscal federalism. It manages two executive education programs: the Master of Advanced Studies in International Taxation (MASIT) and the Executive Program in Transfer Pricing (EPTP).

Website: www.unil.ch/taxpolicy

Follow us:        
Internef - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 33 00
Fax +41 21 692 33 05
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg

Instituts et laboratoires

Bank Innovation Competence Center (BAICC) | Business Information Systems and Architecture (BISA) Lab | Center for Risk Management (CRML) | China Economics and Finance Center (CEFC) | Distributed Object Programming Lab (DOPLab) | Future Skills LAB | Groupe de recherche en logique mathématique | Institut d'économie appliquée (CREA) | Interpersonal Behavior Laboratory | Laboratoire de sécurité de l’information et de vie privée (ISP Lab) | Plateforme interdisciplinaire | Plateforme interfacultaire en économie et management de la santé (IEMS) | Operations Laboratory (OpLab) | Persuasive Technology (PET) | Tax Policy Center
 

Bank Innovation Competence Center (BAICC)

Le Bank Innovation Competence Center (BAICC) est spécialisé dans les nouvelles technologies financières et leur impact sur les modèles d’affaires et opérationnels bancaires. Dans un contexte qui pose de multiples défis aux banques, ce centre de compétences a pour but de permettreaux décideurs bancaires d'évaluer les opportunités et menaces relatives aux technologies digitales, d’élaborer des modèles, des méthodes et des outils au service des établissements bancaires, ainsi que d'offrir une plate-forme d'échanges et d'expérimentation autour des technologies digitales et de leur intégration dans la stratégie et les opérations des banques.

Le BAICC a été créé par la Faculté des HEC en collaboration avec d’autres institutions académiques et partenaires régionaux.

Site web: www.unil.ch/baicc

Blog: www.baicc.news

Business Information Systems and Architecture (BISA) Lab

Business Information Systems & Architecture (BISA) est un laboratoire dirigé par la Prof. Christine Legner au Département des Systèmes d'information. Les recherches qui y sont conduites se focalisent sur les implications des nouvelles technologies pour les entreprises ainsi que sur la gestion d'entreprise et l'architecture des systèmes d'information.

Site web: www.unil.ch/bisa

Center for Risk Management (CRML)

Le Center for Risk Management Lausanne (CRML) se focalise sur la gestion du risque et les méthodes quantitatives. Le principal objectif du CRML est de mener des recherches compétitives au niveau international et de traduire les avancées ainsi réalisées en idées utiles à l'industrie financière, qu’elle soit locale ou mondiale, ainsi qu’aux régulateurs et aux banques centrales.

Site web: www.crml.ch

China Economics and Finance Center (CEFC)

Créé en 2018, le China Economics and Finance Center (CEFC) vise à bâtir une plateforme d’échange et de coopération entre universités et entreprises chinoises et suisses. Avec cette plateforme, le CEFC fournit aux entreprises des formations sur mesure en banque et finance, gestion, technologie, incubation de start-ups et autres compétences professionnelles pour l’innovation et le développement. Le CEFC est aussi un centre interdisciplinaire conduisant des recherches de pointe sur le développement économique chinois et sur la coopération économique entre la Suisse, les pays européens et la Chine, afin d'aider les chercheur·euse·s suisses et chinois·e·s à collaborer dans des domaines tels que l'économie internationale, les services financiers, la gestion transnationale et la gestion de l’innovation. Le CEFC organise également des séminaires et des conférences sur la gestion et l’économie chinoise.

Site web: www.unil.ch/cefc

Distributed Object Programming Lab (DOPLab)

Depuis sa création en 2004, le DOPLab concentre ses activités de recherche et d’enseignement sur la conception et la mise en œuvre d'abstractions de programmation et de communication adaptées à la création de systèmes répartis fiables (reliable distributed systems), avec un accent particulier sur le paradigme objet. L'un des éléments clés du DOPLab, en tant que laboratoire de la Faculté des HEC de l'Université de Lausanne, est de s’intéresser non seulement aux aspects théoriques et pratiques des technologies réparties, mais de considérer aussi les préoccupations des entreprises, telles que le déploiement et la maintenance d'architectures réparties, ou l'adoption de nouvelles abstractions de programmation au sein d’une équipe de développement.

Aujourd'hui, la recherche conduite au DOPLab vise plus particulièrement à comprendre comment utiliser au mieux la prochaine génération de systèmes répartis basés sur l’Internet des objets (Internet of Things – IoT), systèmes qui doivent faire face à des exigences extrêmes de mobilité et à l’absence de confiance centralisée (centralized trust). Cette mobilité extrême implique la nécessité de concevoir des systèmes capables de monter en charge par simple ajout de nœuds de calcul (horizontal scalability), tandis que l’absence de confiance centralisée requiert l’adoption d’architectures réparties basées sur la technologie des blockchains.

Site web: www.doplab.unil.ch

Future Skills LAB

Le Future Skills LAB est une unité d'observation, d'analyse et de recherche pour toutes les questions liées à l'obsolescence et à l'actualisation des compétences professionnelles induites non seulement par des ruptures technologiques, mais aussi par des évolutions sociétales et des contraintes environnementales.
 

Nous travaillons à identifier l'évolution des professions et à définir de nouveaux portefeuilles de compétences que les individus doivent développer aujourd'hui pour prospérer dans le monde de demain et que les entreprises doivent anticiper afin de pérenniser leur capital humain.
 

Le Future Skills LAB connecte et collabore avec les experts académiques de toutes les institutions du campus ainsi qu’avec les experts du monde professionnel afin d’identifier les risques et les opportunités liées à cette accélération et ainsi co-créer un avenir meilleur en apportant des réponses pertinentes et rapides aux défis urgents et complexes du monde du travail.
 

Le Future Skills LAB héberge également un projet de recherche UNIL-EPFL (CROSS) qui vise à identifier les compétences qui permettront aux humains de résister à l’avancée des machines.

 

Site web: www.unil.ch/futureskillslab/

Groupe de recherche en logique mathématique

Les activités de recherche du groupe concernent principalement la théorie descriptive des ensembles — dont l’objet principal est la classification de classes bien structurées de sous-ensembles de la droite réelle et plus généralement d’espaces topologiques Polonais — ainsi que certaines applications à l’informatique théorique (essentiellement la théorie des automates). Les méthodes utilisées proviennent du cadre mathématique de la théorie des jeux développées en théorie des ensembles: les jeux infinis à deux joueurs et information parfaite.

Site web: www.hec.unil.ch/logique

Institut d'économie appliquée (CREA)

L'Institut CREA met à disposition des secteurs privé et public et des organisations internationales une équipe d'économistes pour la réalisation de projets ponctuels de recherche économique. Il publie régulièrement des travaux destinés à faire le pont entre la recherche académique, le monde économique et le public.

Cet institut est spécialisé dans les analyses et les prévisions conjoncturelles à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Il est le seul institut romand à publier des prévisions économiques pour la Suisse. 

Site web: www.unil.ch/crea

Interpersonal Behavior Laboratory

L’Interpersonal Behavior Laboratory est dirigé par la Professeure Marianne Schmid Mast. La recherche effectuée dans ce laboratoire a pour but de mieux comprendre le comportement humain interpersonnel, principalement sur le lieu de travail. Les travaux du laboratoire se situent au croisement de la psychologie sociale, du management et du leadership. La recherche qui y est effectuée se focalise sur les sujets tels que lecomportement non verbal, les premières impressions, le pouvoir et le leadership, la communication interpersonnelle, l'adaptabilité comportementale, le comportement interpersonnel responsable, la précision interpersonnelle, et les effets de l'environnement physique sur le comportement.

L’une des particularités de ce laboratoire est d’utiliser la technologie de réalité virtuelle immersive pour explorer les comportements interpersonnels.

Site web: www.unil.ch/msmlab

Laboratoire de sécurité de l’information et de vie privée (ISP Lab)

Le laboratoire de sécurité de l’information et de vie privée est dirigé par le Prof. Kévin Huguenin. Le laboratoire s’intéresse à la recherche dans les domaines de la sécurité et de la vie privée dans le cadre des réseaux mobiles et sociaux, avec un accent particulier sur les aspects humains et sociaux. Le laboratoire mène des projets de recherche interdisciplinaires, à l’intersection entre les sciences informatiques et les sciences sociales (y compris le droit) et la médecine (mHealth, génomique). Ses activités se concentrent actuellement sur la question du compromis entre vie privée et utilité sur les réseaux sociaux fondés sur le partage de données de localisation ou d’activités.

Site web: www.unil.ch/isplab

Plateforme interdisciplinaire

La Plateforme interdisciplinaire, dirigée par le Dr. Marc Laperrouza, vise à doter les étudiants de compétences interdisciplinaires afin de les préparer à des interactions dans des projets stimulants impliquant des acteurs de différents horizons. La Plateforme interdisciplinaire tire parti de la proximité d'un large éventail de disciplines sur le campus et crée et promeut des expériences d'apprentissage en groupe interdisciplinaire, co-design, prototypage rapide, gestion de projet agile et autres compétences du 21e siècle (collaboration, créativité). Une attention particulière est accordée à la collaboration entre facultés.

Plateforme interfacultaire en économie et management de la santé (IEMS)

La plateforme interfacultaire en économie et management de la santé (IEMS) promeut la recherche dans les domaines de l'économie de la santé, du management de la santé et de la politique de la santé. Elle rassemble des chercheur·euse·s et praticien·ne·s de différentes unités actives dans ces domaines au sein de HEC Lausanne, de la Faculté de biologie et de médecine de l'UNIL ou encore du Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHUV). 

L'IEMS mène d'importants projets de recherche, notamment dans le cadre de l'Enquête sur la santé, le vieillissement et la retraite en Europe (Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe - SHARE) et du Programme suisse pour la recherche dédié aux enjeux mondiaux de développement (Swiss Programme for Research on Global Issues for Development - r4d programme).

La plateforme organise régulièrement des séminaires sur l'économie de la santé, du travail et du développement.

Site web: www.unil.ch/iems

Operations Laboratory (OpLab)

OpLab est un laboratoire placé sous la direction de la Professeure Suzanne de Treville. Sa mission est de développer et diffuser des outils qui calculent la valeur de la réactivité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Ces outils sont basés sur la finance quantitative, avec le constat qu’une chaîne d’approvisionnement réactive constitue une option concrète extrêmement précieuse, mais souvent invisible.

Le premier outil proposé par OpLab est le Cost-Differential Frontier (CDF, disponible sur cdf-oplab.unil.ch). Il calcule le pourcentage de réduction des coûts de production nécessaire pour justifier d’une délocalisation, sachant qu’il faudra décider, en délocalisant, de la quantité à produire avant de connaître le niveau de demande. D’autres outils, disponibles en version bêta, permettent de mieux comprendre comment la réactivité et sa valeur d'option peuvent être traduites en innovation et en durabilité.

OpLab développe également des jeux pédagogiques et des simulations qui aident les managers et décideurs dans l’utilisation des outils et l’interprétation des résultats. 

Persuasive Technology (PET)

Le laboratoire Persuasive Technology (PET) est dirigé par le professeur Mauro Cherubini. Les recherches menées au laboratoire portent sur la manière dont la technologie peut améliorer la vie des gens. Nous effectuons des recherches sur l’utilisation des technologies à des fins d’amélioration personnelle et qui aident les personnes à devenir de meilleurs citoyens de l’organisation ou de la société dont elles font partie. Le laboratoire mène des recherches interdisciplinaires dans plusieurs domaines: interaction homme-machine, psychologie, économie comportementale et vie privée. Les projets actuels sont axés sur l'augmentation de l'activité physique, le soutien aux demandeurs d'emploi et la réduction des conflits en ligne relatifs à la vie privée.

Site web: www.unil.ch/persuasivelab/

Tax Policy Center

L’Université de Lausanne a créé un Centre de Politique Fiscale en commun entre la Faculté de droit, des sciences criminelles et d'administration publique et la Faculté des HEC. Il a pour but de mettre en commun les différents efforts d’enseignement et de recherche liés à ce domaine. Le Centre collabore activement avec l’OCDE et l’IBFD et il coordonne un réseau de recherche sur le fédéralisme fiscal. Il gère également deux programmes de formation continue: le Master of Advanced Studies in International Taxation (MASIT) et l’Executive Program in Transfer Pricing (EPTP).

Site web: www.unil.ch/taxpolicy

Suivez nous:        
Partagez:
Internef - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 33 00
Fax +41 21 692 33 05
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg