Research

Whether primary or applied, the research developed at IDHEAP is oriented towards innovation.

We cultivate an interdisciplinary approach. We take up this challenge thanks to solid disciplinary anchors coupled with a collaborative approach. This is why we often conduct our research with partners from Swiss or international universities. The themes addressed cover the major challenges and issues to which the public administration must answer:

Public Administration per se

  • The standards and the strategy which form the basis of the action of the public administration in the long term; and more specifically law, ethics, strategy, tactics, governance and leadership;
  • The organization and the processes which, in the short and medium term, play a capital role in the deployment of the strategy; and more specifically organizational techniques and specific processes such as human resource management, communication or finance;
  • The change management that underlies most of the actions and projects undertaken within the public administration, whether it involves changing the public administration itself, changing its environment or more fundamentally responding to society’s expectations regarding state interventions; and this through organizational learning, evaluation, innovation, digitalisation, or even project management.

The Environment of Public Administration

The environment in which the public administration operates and deploys its action is also a subject of research. This environment, this research object, covers both societal values (liberalism, democracy, responsibility) and expectations vis-à-vis the State (efficiency, redistribution, macroeconomic stabilization), but also stakeholders (citizen, political parties, NGOs, media, etc.) and political institutions (separation of powers, federalism, direct democracy, militia).

Public Policies

Finally, several public policies are among our research subjects. These include the sustainability policy, the training policy, the integration policy and even the social policy. In the study of these public policies, our research integrates the different dimensions of public administration and its environment, as mentioned above.

 

Follow us:        

Vice-Director Doctorate and Research
Prof. Tobias Mettler
+41 21 692 69 50
Tobias.Mettler@unil.ch

Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09

Forschung

Ob grundlagenorientiert oder angewandt: Die Forschung am IDHEAP ist auf Innovation ausgerichtet.

Wir pflegen einen interdisziplinären Ansatz. Dabei stützen wir uns auf eine solide Verankerung in diversen Fachbereichen in enger Zusammenarbeit. Deshalb forschen wir oft mit Schweizer oder internationalen Hochschulpartnern gemeinsam. Die von uns behandelten Themen decken die wichtigsten Herausforderungen und Fragestellungen der öffentlichen Verwaltung ab:

Die öffentliche Verwaltung als solche

  • Normen und Strategien, die das allgemeine und langfristige Fundament des Handelns der öffentlichen Verwaltung bilden; z. B. Recht, Ethik, Strategie, Taktik, Governance und Leadership. 

  • Organisationsformen und Prozesse, die kurz- und mittelfristig eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Umsetzung der Strategien spielen; z. B. Organisationstechniken und spezifische Prozesse wie etwa Personalmanagement, Kommunikation oder Finanzen.

  • Management des Wandels (oder Change Management), das den meisten Massnahmen und Projekten in der öffentlichen Verwaltung zugrunde liegt, sei es, um die öffentliche Verwaltung selbst zu verändern, ihr Umfeld weiterzuentwickeln oder grundsätzlich auf die Erwartungen der Gesellschaft an die Interventionen des Staates zu reagieren; und zwar mithilfe von organisationalem Lernen, Evaluation, Innovation, Digitalisierung oder auch Projektmanagement.

Das Umfeld der öffentlichen Verwaltung

Auch das Umfeld, in dem sich die öffentliche Verwaltung entwickelt und ihr Handeln gestaltet, ist Gegenstand der Forschung. Dieses Umfeld respektive dieser Forschungsgegenstand umfasst nicht nur gesellschaftliche Werte (Liberalismus, Demokratie, Verantwortung) und Erwartungen an den Staat (Effizienz, Umverteilung, makroökonomische Stabilisierung), sondern auch die Akteurinnen und Akteure (Bürgerinnen und Bürger, Parteien, NGOs, Medien usw.) und die politischen Institutionen (Gewaltenteilung, Föderalismus, direkte Demokratie, Milizsystem).

Die öffentlichen Politiken

Schliesslich gehören auch verschiedene öffentliche Politiken zu unseren Forschungsthemen. Dazu zählen die Nachhaltigkeitspolitik, die Bildungspolitik, die Integrationspolitik oder auch die Sozialpolitik. Bei der Untersuchung dieser öffentlichen Politiken bezieht unsere Forschung wie erwähnt die verschiedenen Dimensionen der öffentlichen Verwaltung und ihres Umfelds mit ein.

Folge uns:        

Vizedirektor Doktorat und Forschung
Prof. Tobias Mettler
+41 21 692 69 50
Tobias.Mettler@unil.ch

Teilen:
Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Schweiz
Tél. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09