Structure of the Institute

| The Management | Council of the Institute | Associate members | Permanent Committees | Research Units | The Secretariat

The Swiss Graduate School of Public Administration is a part of the University of Lausanne’s Faculty of Law, Criminal Sciences and Public Administration. It has its own Council, management, a secretariat and four permanent committees. The Institute is organised into specialist units for research and consulting.

The Management

IDHEAP’s management team is made up of four members:

  • Andreas Ladner, Director and Vice-Dean
  • Laure Athias, Vice-director
  • Giuliano Bonoli, Vice-director
  • Nils Soguel, Vice-director


Council of the Institute

The Council of the Institute is composed of 11 members: five representing senior faculty, two representing non-professorial teaching staff, two representing administrative and technical personnel and two representing the students.

Composition of the Council for 2020–2022

Senior faculty (5 members):

  • Pirmin Bundi
  • Flavia Fossati
  • Stéphane Nahrath
  • Oliver Neumann
  • Sophie Weerts

Doctoral student and researcher (2 members):

  • Auriane Marmier
  • Naomi Luta

Administrative and technical personnel (2 members):

  • Jérôme Berthoud
  • Dhouha Steiner
  • NN (suppléante)
  • NN (suppléante)

Student body (2 members):

  • Eloïse Eperon (PMP)
  • Daniele Lopes (MPA)

Direction (consultative voice), June 2020

  • Andreas Ladner (director)
  • Nils Soguel (vice-director)
  • Giuliano Bonoli (vice-director)
  • Laure Athias (vice-director)



Associate members

Permanent Committees

Committee for Continuous Education and Training

The Committee for Continuous Education and Training is responsible for the MPA, CEMAP, DAS and CAS programmes and training.


  • Chairman: Laure Athias (senior faculty)
  • Yves Emery (senior faculty)
  • Stéphane Nahrath (senior faculty)
  • Pascale Dalla Piazza (FC UNIL‐EPFL)
  • Christophe Randin (student body)
  • Ada Amsellem (doctoral student and researcher)
  • Dhouha Steiner (administrative and technical personnel)

Teaching Committee

The Teaching Committee is responsible for the programmes leading to the Master of Arts in PMP and to the Doctorate in Public Administration.


  • Chairman: Giuliano Bonoli (senior faculty)
  • Tobias Mettler (senior faculty)
  • Sophie Weerts (senior faculty)
  • Eloïse Eperon (student body)
  • Alexander Bastianen (doctoral student and researcher)

Committee for Academic Planning

The Committee for Academic Planning is led by a member of the Dean’s Office. This committee’s role is to plan all academic positions within the Institute.


  • Chairman: Laurent Moreillon (Dean)
  • Giuliano Bonoli
  • Andreas Ladner
  • Stéphane Nahrath
  • Nils Soguel
  • Sophie Weerts
  • Geert Bouckaert (KU Leuven)

Appeals Committee


  • Chairman: Nils Soguel (senior faculty)
  • Sophie Weerts (senior faculty)
  • Amalia Sofia (doctoral student and researcher)
  • Eloïse Eperon (student body, PMP)


Research Units

Swiss Public Administration and Institutional Policy (Prof. Andreas Ladner)
Public Law (Prof. Sophie Weerts)
Economics of Regulation (Prof. Laure Athias)
Public Finance (Prof. Nils Soguel)
Inequality and integration (Prof. Flavia Fossati)
Information Management (Prof. Tobias Mettler)
Public Management and Human Resource Management (Prof. Yves Emery)
Public Management and Marketing (Prof. Martial Pasquier)
Public Policy and Evaluation (Prof. Pirmin Bundi)
Public Policy and Sustainability (Prof. Stéphane Nahrath)
Social Policy (Prof. Giuliano Bonoli)
Strategy and Organization (Prof. Oliver Neumann)


The Secretariat

The Institute Secretariat is responsible for managing the administration of IDHEAP’s education and training programmes, as well as supporting all the Institute’s promotional, administrative, technical and logistical activities.


Follow us:        


IDHEAP Swiss Graduate School of Public Administration
Quartier UNIL-Mouline
Bâtiment IDHEAP
CH-1015 Lausanne
+41 21 692 68 00

IDHEAP Regulations

Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Tel. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09