Research

Whether primary or applied, the research developed at IDHEAP is oriented towards innovation.

We cultivate an interdisciplinary approach. We take up this challenge thanks to solid disciplinary anchors coupled with a collaborative approach. This is why we often conduct our research with partners from Swiss or international universities. The themes addressed cover the major challenges and issues to which the public administration must answer:

Public Administration per se

  • The standards and the strategy which form the basis of the action of the public administration in the long term; and more specifically law, ethics, strategy, tactics, governance and leadership;
  • The organization and the processes which, in the short and medium term, play a capital role in the deployment of the strategy; and more specifically organizational techniques and specific processes such as human resource management, communication or finance;
  • The change management that underlies most of the actions and projects undertaken within the public administration, whether it involves changing the public administration itself, changing its environment or more fundamentally responding to society’s expectations regarding state interventions; and this through organizational learning, evaluation, innovation, digitalisation, or even project management.

The Environment of Public Administration

The environment in which the public administration operates and deploys its action is also a subject of research. This environment, this research object, covers both societal values (liberalism, democracy, responsibility) and expectations vis-à-vis the State (efficiency, redistribution, macroeconomic stabilization), but also stakeholders (citizen, political parties, NGOs, media, etc.) and political institutions (separation of powers, federalism, direct democracy, militia).

Public Policies

Finally, several public policies are among our research subjects. These include the sustainability policy, the training policy, the integration policy and even the social policy. In the study of these public policies, our research integrates the different dimensions of public administration and its environment, as mentioned above.

 

Follow us:        

Vice-Director Doctorate and Research
Prof. Tobias Mettler
+41 21 692 69 50
Tobias.Mettler@unil.ch

Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09

Recherche

Qu’elle soit fondamentale ou appliquée, la recherche développée à l’IDHEAP est orientée vers l’innovation.

Nous cultivons une approche interdisciplinaire. Nous relevons ce défi grâce à de solides ancrages disciplinaires couplés à une démarche collaborative. C’est pourquoi nous menons souvent nos recherches avec des partenaires universitaires suisses ou internationaux. Les thématiques abordées couvrent les grands défis et enjeux auxquels l’administration publique doit répondre :

L’administration publique per se

  • Les normes et la stratégie qui fondent globalement et à long terme l’action de l’administration publique ; et plus spécifiquement le droit, l’éthique, la stratégie, la tactique, la gouvernance et le leadership ;
  • L’organisation et les processus qui, à court et moyen terme, jouent un rôle capital dans le déploiement de la stratégie ; et plus spécialement les techniques d’organisation et les processus spécifiques comme la gestion des ressources humaines, de la communication ou des finances ;
  • La gestion du changement qui sous-tend la plupart des actions et de projets entrepris au sein de l’administration publique, qu’il s’agisse de changer l’administration publique elle-même, de faire évoluer son environnement ou plus fondamentalement de répondre aux attentes de la société concernant les interventions de l’Etat ; et cela à travers l’apprentissage organisationnel, l’évaluation, l’innovation, la digitalisation, ou encore la gestion de projets.

L’environnement de l’administration publique

L’environnement dans lequel l’administration publique évolue et déploie son action est également un objet de recherche. Cet environnement, cet objet de recherche, couvre à la fois les valeurs sociétales (libéralisme, démocratie, responsabilité) et les attentes vis-à-vis de l’Etat (efficacité, redistribution, stabilisation macroéconomique), mais aussi les parties prenantes (citoyen·ne·s, partis politiques, ONG, médias, etc.) et les institutions politiques (séparation des pouvoirs, fédéralisme, démocratie directe, milice).

Les politiques publiques

Finalement, plusieurs politiques publiques figurent parmi nos objets de recherche. Mentionnons la politique de la durabilité, la politique de la formation, la politique de l’intégration ou encore la politique sociale. Dans l’étude de ces politiques publiques, notre recherche intègre les différentes dimensions de l’administration publique et de son environnement, telles que mentionnées ci-dessus.

Suivez nous:        

Vice-directeur Doctorat et recherche
Prof. Tobias Mettler
+41 21 692 69 50
Tobias.Mettler@unil.ch

Partagez:
Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09