Description | Executive Committee | Members of the Steering Committee | Young Scholars Committee | This page in pdf


The management of the proposed commission  follows the rules of the IGU in having an Executive, (Chair and two Deputy Chairs) and a Steering Committee (up to eight members). These have been chosen from participants with records of high quality research, have had an equitable global and gender distribution, and have been elected by vote of the membership at large.

Two former presidents of the commission (Jean-Bernard Racine, Larry Bourne) have taken care of a democratic election process.

In addition to the formal management of the commission we wish to add two advisory committees to increase participation within the commission: first, the expertise of long-term members will be available in a Mentors Committee, and second, a Younger Scholars Committee ( will encourage participation and ideas from younger members. Both will consist of four members, elected every four years during annual meetings. These committees will normally meet the day before each annual meeting to discuss problems, procedures and new initiatives.

Executive Committee

Name Address E-Mail
Professor Christian Matthiessen
Institute of Geography and Geology - University of Copenhagen
Oster Voldgade 10
1350 Copenhagen K
Professor Adrian G. Aguilar
Associate Chair
Instituto de Geografia UNAM
Circuito Exterior, Ciudad
04510 D.F
Professor Celine Rozenblat
Associate Chair
Université de Lausanne
Institut de Géographie - Faculté des Géosciences
Bâtiment Anthropole - Bureau 4064
Quartier Dorigny
CH-1015 Lausanne

Members of the Steering Committee

Name Address E-Mail
Professor Lilian Barakat
Geography Department
Faculty of Letters and Human Sciences
St. Joseph University
Professor Kam-Wing Chan
Dept. of geography
Univ. of Washington
Box 353550
WA 98195-3550
Professor Guoqing Du
Rikkyo (St. Paul) University
College of Tourism
Niza Campus
1-2-26 Kitano
Niiza City
Saitama 352-8558
Professor Andre Horn
(South Africa)
Department of Geography and Geoinformatics
Univ. of Pretoria
Pretoria 0002
South Africa
Professor Lienhard Loetscher
Department of Geography
Ruhr-University Bochum
Universitetsstrasse 150
D-44780 Bochum
Professor Jose Somoza Medina
Dept. de Geografía y Geología
Facultad de Filosofía y Letras
24071 León
Professor Michael Pacione
(United Kingdom)
Department of Geography
Univ. of Strathclyde
26 Richmond Street
United Kingdom G1 1XH
Professor Petros Petsimeris
UMR Geographie-cites
13, rue du four
75006 Paris

Young Scholars Committee

Name Address E-Mail
Dr Niamh Moore University College Dublin, Ireland (Chair)
Dr Tetsuya Ito University of Rissho, Japan
Dr Maria Jose Pineira Mantinan University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain

This page in pdf

Committee.pdf  (63 Ko)


Follow us:  
Institute of Geography - University of Lausanne - CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel. +41 21 692 30 70