Committee 2012-2016


The management of the proposed commission follows the rules of the IGU in having an Executive, (Chair and two Deputy Chairs) and a Steering Committee (up to eight members). These have been chosen from participants with records of high quality research, with an equitable global and gender distribution, and have been elected by vote of the membership at large. In addition, we added two advisory committees to increase participation within the commission: first, the expertise of long-term members is available in a Mentors Committee, and second, a Younger Scholars Committee encourage participation and ideas from younger members. Both consist of four members, elected every four years during annual meetings. These committees normally meet the day before each annual meeting to discuss problems, procedures and new initiatives.

Activities of the commission is open to all qualified urban geographers. A new effort is made to attract members from countries that do not currently participate in our work. The new commission formalise procedures to identify voting members, such as one based on attending at least two meetings during the previous six years, in order to encourage more active participation in the commission. Every effort is made each year to publish a book of research papers, or special editions of journals based on lectures presented at the annual meeting, in order to create a wider audience for the work of the commission. The commission also develop the website, listing current members and interests, the titles of papers, and how to access them, to help those unable to attend meetings.

During each yearly conference two formal open business meetings, will be organized by the Executive and Steering Committee. This will include: an agenda and minutes that will be available in advance of the meeting; votes on specific motions if necessary, as well as a section on ‘Any Other Business’ to allow members to raise issues of interest. Specific task forces, made up of separate and representative committees, is constituted on a temporary basis to deal with major urban problems as they arise. The proposed commission follows the successful pattern of previous urban commissions by organizing annual meetings in different cities, usually lasting for three or four days, followed by two days of scientific excursions so that participants will be able to have personal experiences of local urban issues and problems. The organisation of the meeting is the responsibility of the hosts and the Executive and Steering committee. Usually one day of the meeting is set aside for papers on one of the main problem areas to focus debate, and include invited papers by experts and/or roundtables. Written proposals for hosting commissions is required, along with presentations to the business meetings so members can provide advice on the plans of any host, and, if necessary, vote on competing proposals.


Name Institution Email
Professor CĂ©line Rozenblat University of Lausanne, Switzerland

Associated Chairs

Name Institution Email
Professor Adrian Aguilar UNAM, Mexico
Dr. Daniel O'Donoghue Canterbury Christ Church University, United Kingdom

Steering Committee

Name Institution Email
Prof. Ludger Basten TU Dortmund, Germany
Professor Liliane Buccianti-Barakat Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth, Lebanon
Dr. Nico Kotze University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Dr. Keisuke Matsui Tsukuba University
Dr. Lidia Mierzejewska Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
Professor Petros Petsimeris University Paris 1, France
Dr. Maria Jose Pineira-Mantinan University of Santiago de Compostella, Spain
Professor Ivan Townshend University of Lethbridge, Canada

Correspondents and advisers from India and China: To be invited to join the activities of the steering committee.

Observer for the preparation of Beijing 2016:


- Prof. Shenjing He, secretary of the Chinese Urban commission, The University of Hong-Kong, China,

- Prof. Yanwei Chai, member of the Chinese Urban commission, Vice-Chair of Department of Urban and Economic Geography, Beijing University,

- Prof. Werner Breitung, Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool Univ., Suzhou China,


Follow us:  
Institute of Geography - University of Lausanne - CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel. +41 21 692 30 70