Young scholars paper competition 2014

IGU Awards 2014



  • Charles Bohan (University of Lausanne): Central European Cities in the Global Value Chain of the Automobile Industry


  • Hao Pu (Hong Kong Baptist University): Rural-Urban Migration in Post-reform China: A Trade-off between Rural Land and Urban Residency 
  • Leopoldo Eudes (University of Sao Paulo): From Urbanization to Metropolization: New Concepts and Questions Open to Urban Geography
  • Aránzazu Pérez Indaverea & Jose Ignacio Vila Vázquez Aránzazu Pérez Indaverea & Jose Ignacio Vila Vázquez (University of Santiago de Compostela; Panthéon-Sorbonne, Paris): Analysing a Spatial Pattern of Innovative and Brand Architecture in European Cities: Clustering and Diffusion of Media and Signature Projects?

Deadline for full paper submission: June 30th 2014

The Urban Commission is delighted to announce the Young Scholars Paper Competition 2014.

Participation is open to all Young Scholars (those under 35 years of age on June 30th 2014) participating in the IGU Urban Commission meeting in Poznan, Poland on August 11th to 14th 2014.

The prize fund is 1'000 US $ for the best paper.

Depending on the number and quality of the entries, we could give a 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize if needed. The prize will be delivered during the banquet of the Poznan meeting.

The Urban Commission Steering Committee will handle the adjudication process. It will be chaired by Prof Wayne Davies (University of Calgary). The judges’ decision will be final and there will be no correspondence regarding the decision. A full paper must be submitted by June 30th 2014 by the author in the following format:

• PDF format
• Maximum ten A4 pages (1.5 spacing)
• Times New Roman 12 pt font
• Images and tables should be included (all in black and white)

The official entry form MUST accompany the submission of papers. Only papers submitted in this way will be judged as part of the competition. Papers and entry forms should be submitted by email to:
Prof Wayne Davies, Chair of the Evaluation Committee :

with a copy to the IGU Urban Commission coordinators of young scholar Committee:

- Niamh Moore:

- Tomoko Kubo:

- Maria Jose Pineira:


Final date for submission: June 30th 2014

Please fill the form and send it with your submission paper:



Follow us:  
Institute of Geography - University of Lausanne - CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel. +41 21 692 30 70