Geochemistry and Petrology of Earth Systems


The research focuses on deciphering processes shaping the interior of the Earth. Processes act from the sub-micron to the planetary scale. The major areas of research are on (i) igneous processes forming the continental and oceanic crust, (ii) metamorphism, fluid-rock interaction, kinetics and mineral reactions in orogenic environments, (iii) in-situ characterization of isotopic compositions of crystals, fluids and melts, (iv) continent forming processes such as due to mantle heterogeneity and its consequences on volcanic products, and (v) element cycling between the deep Earth, the crust, and the near surface geosphere. A combination of fieldwork, state-of the art laboratory analysis, experimental and computational approaches is used to solve complex problems in the Earth interior.


Aiguilles Rouges d’Arolla.jpg

The Aiguilles Rouges d'Arolla (Western Alps) represents the youngest oceanic core complex in the European Alps. It comprises a preserved segment of Jurassic-aged (ultra) slow-spreading Western Tethys ocean floor. From left to right: The highest peak in the background is cumulate gabbro; the reddish peak is formed of gabbro mylonite; the greenish rocks represent deformed metamorphosed basalts; the grayish-brownish rocks on the right are metamorphosed calc-schists (schistes lustrés); the rocks in the foreground (in front of the lake) are serpentinite scree. (Picture from O. Müntener).



Permanent staff

  • Prof. Anders Meibom
  • Prof. Daniela Rubatto
  • Prof. François Bussy
  • Prof. Lukas Baumgartner
  • Prof. Othmar Muntener
  • Prof. Sébastien Pilet
  • Dr. Anne-Sophie Bouvier
  • Dr. Benita Putlitz
  • Dr. Pierre Vonlanthen
  • Dr. Stéphane Escrig
  • Dr. Florent Plane
  • Dr. Johana Marin Carbonne
  • Dr. Alexey Ulyanov
  • Dr. Youness Zangui
  • Dr. Martin Robyr
  • Dr. Olivier Reubi


  • Dr. Elias Bloch
  • Dr. Julien Alleon
  • Dr. Antoine Bénard
  • Dr. Marisa Acosta
  • Dr. Chang Zhang
  • Dr. Masafumi Saithoh
  • Dr. David Zakharov
  • Dr. Benjamin Malvoisin

PhD students

  • Alexandra Demers-Roberge
  • Annelore Bessat
  • Arnaud Devoir
  • Davide Roggero
  • Clémence Le Ley
  • Marko Repac
  • Maud Jordan
  • Selena Galdini
  • Michelle Foley
  • Marie-Noëlle Decraene

Former members

  • Dr. Florence Begué
  • Dr. Mattia Pistone
  • Dr. Michael Jollands
  • Dr. Tania Ewing
  • Dr. Paola Manzotti
  • Dr. Romain Lafay
  • Dr. Suzanne Picazo
  • Dr. Benoit Petri


Géopolis - CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel. +41 21 692 43 06
Fax +41 21 692 43 05