FAQ

Find below some answers to the most recurrent problems related to the management of research data at UNIL.

If you have not found the information you are looking for, do not hesitate to contact UNIRIS or the faculty research consultants.

General questions

Can I freely dispose of my research data ? Who owns the research data related to my projects ?

Regardless of where the data are stored and regardless of the storage medium, any data created or modified as part of the professional activity of a UNIL employee is protected by copyright but belongs to UNIL. This means that for any use other than for scientific and academic purposes, the agreement of the Management is required (e. g. for commercialization). More information.

I'm leaving the university. Can I take my data with me ?

In the event of the departure of a group leader (Principal Investigator), a copy of all data created or modified during the professional activity must be returned to the dean's office of his faculty (directive 4.5 Art. 19 al. 1) regardless of the degree of confidentiality, accompanied by the information necessary for their understanding and management. To do this, we recommend saving them to the NAS storage space. In case of commercial use, the prior agreement of the UNIL Management is required.

If desired, the IAP may request, through its faculty, permission to take a copy of the research data of its research group. In case of agreement of its faculty, an assignment contract between UNIL and the institution hosting the IP is established and signed in accordance with directive 4.1 of the UNIL Directorate on the signing of research contracts (assignment contract). If personal data are involved, the relevant provisions are reserved.

Who is responsible for research data and its proper management ?

The Principal Investigator (PI) is responsible for ensuring that the research data of his or her research group is managed throughout its life cycle, from creation or receipt to destruction or archiving, in compliance with applicable legislation and UNIL guidelines or, when data is received from a third party, according to agreed contractual terms (directive 4.5 Art. 10 al.1).

Where can I store my business data at UNIL ? Which infrastructure is available to me ?

UNIL encourages employees to backup all their professional data generated in the course of their work at UNIL on the University's institutional infrastructure (directive 4.5 Art. 8 al. 2). To this end, the UNIL Computer Centre (Ci) provides a NAS storage server.

UNIL's Isilon NAS server is a secure and robust storage service that guarantees the security and durability of your data. This network storage server is available for all UNIL contract employees and offers a high availability rate. It is divided into two distinct trees - research and administrative - which make it possible to organize the data according to their nature. More information.

What are the computer resources dedicated to research at UNIL ? What are the conditions of use ?

Since June 2019, the UNIL Computer Centre has strengthened its research services at the University by creating the Division of Computing and Research Support (DCSR). This unit is competent to advise researchers and provides them with new infrastructures for the storage and processing of research data.

The RESEARCH NAS server (nas.unil.ch\RESEARCH) is dedicated to storing research data organized by project for each Principal Investigator (PI). HCP infrastructures allow researchers to do scientific computation.

To benefit from these resources, IPs must complete the DCSR application form and, if applicable, submit a Data Management Plan (DMP) when requesting storage space related to a research project.

These services are subject to a charge and their use is invoiced to IPs according to the annual fee schedule (authenticated UNIL access) established by the UNIL Computer Centre.

Can I use services in the cloud (Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, etc.) to process and store my data ?

The use of services in the Cloud must meet the legal requirements of UNIL. In addition, any use of these services is the sole responsibility of the user, who fully assumes the risks, knowing that no assistance is offered by the Data Center.

The University allows the use of third-party storage services provided that the data is stored in Switzerland (directive 6.9, art. 5). If the data is stored abroad, the data must be encrypted and the encryption key must be stored in Switzerland.

Unfortunately, most known services do not meet these criteria (e. g. Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, etc.). SWITCHDrive is currently the only one to meet the required conditions. For more information, please refer to the Computer Centre (Ci) documentation on SWITCHDrive.

However, we would like to draw your attention to the fact that the use of services in the Cloud may involve risks for your data :

  • The service provider may modify his service at any time (service interruption, change in price, etc.).
  • In the event of data loss, no assistance is provided by the Data Center.
  • Data may be read and used by third parties (foreign legislation is often more flexible in terms of data protection).

To the pages dedicated to storing your data at UNIL.

Who should write a Data Management Plan ?

Since October 2017, each request to the SNSF must include a Data Management Plan (DMP), as well as projects submitted to the H2020 funding programme.

It is also planned that each request for storage space at the DCSR will be accompanied by a DMP. More information.

How do I write my Data Management Plan ? Where can I find information about Open Data ?

UNIRIS has developed a Data Management Plan template for UNIL researchers and provides personalized advice. To the pages dedicated to the DMP.

Training courses are organised via the Graduate Campus on DMP writing and Open Access publishing. To consult the calendar of proposed activities and register, we invite you to visit their website.

Online tools are also available to researchers: the SNSF framework is available on MyFNS and the Swiss Institute for Bioinformatics (SIB) has created a Data Management Plan generator compatible with SNSF requirements.

At UNIL, are there any software programs to facilitate laboratory and inventory management (LIMS, ELN, etc.) ?

Several projects are underway at university level to answer these questions (see CRUS). Indeed, even if it is very tempting to use a program downloaded from the Internet that would meet the needs of a group of people, management very quickly exceeds the resources (financial and human) and knowledge (legal, computer, etc.) of a single research group, or even a department.

We observe that more and more users interested in replacing the paper laboratory notebook want to make the management of the different data carriers more efficient or are looking for stock management solutions for the equipment used in the laboratories.

To meet this need(s), the FBM IT Department has tested several software packages and is in very close contact with the EPFL Faculty of Life Sciences, which has already set up a system.

How to share large files ?

The SWITCHFileSender web application allows you to send files of up to 50GB to a list of recipients of your choice (info on the IT Center website).

Under what conditions should I keep my data after my research is published ?

After publication, data produced in the course of research must be kept secure for at least 10 years (directive 4.2, art. 2.4). Responsibility for the appropriate storage of data rests with the research project manager. More information.

How long should I keep my research data ?

In the event of a patent application and at the request of the Technology Transfer Office (PACTT), UNIL's patent data will be kept at least for the duration of the patent (20 years) (directive 4.5 Art. 15 al.2).

Data related to a publication must be deposited on a non-commercial repository, subject to other requirements formulated by the research funding body (directive 4.5 Art. 15 al.3).

Data not related to a publication can be archived on a Ci infrastructure and/or on a non-commercial repository. The decision to file is the responsibility of the IP (directive 4.5 Art. 15 para. 4). More information.

Questions related to SNSF

Where can I find information on the DMP obligation in SNSF-funded projects ?

Since October 2017, it has been mandatory to include a Data Management Plan (DMP) with each request. The SNSF provides a DMP in the account of each researcher on MyFNS.

More information available on our dedicated pages.

My research is funded by the SNSF and not the University. So Data belong to me ?

In accordance with Article 44 of the General Regulations on Subsidies of the Swiss National Science Foundation, the ownership of research data initially collected or created at UNIL in the context of research financed by the said Swiss National Science Foundation is attributed to UNIL, regardless of the status of the collaborator who conducted the research (directive 4.5 Art. 5 al.3).

What is the "data set" tab in MyFNS and how do I fill it in ?

The link to the data is to be entered in mySNF, with some metadata, including DOI. The name of the chosen InfoStore is also to be specified. The data itself must not be uploaded to mySNF.

The data must be made available at the same time as the corresponding publication. If publication takes place after the end of the project, the link to the data must be indicated at that time and therefore not necessarily at the end of the project as such.

The aim of the SNSF's Open research Data policy is to promote the impact, transparency and reproducibility of research results. To this end, the aim is that these data should respect the FAIR data principles and can be accessed later. As the SNSF has signed the DORA declaration, the creation of databases is also an output to be taken into account in the evaluation process. The data are not archived at the SNSF but are made available on data repositories that comply with FAIR data principles. As the links to the data are included in the mySNF output data, they will be accessible in particular on the SNSF P3 database.

Answers to the concerns of the researchers

Good data management practices are too costly.

Data management, such as metadata allocation, repository management and data retention activities, obviously have a cost, but the benefits far outweigh these costs. Repeating the research to obtain the same data is expensive. In addition, this is impossible in many cases because the researchers, subjects, test conditions, etc. are no longer there. Maintaining a reliable and orderly framework to protect the considerable investments made by institutions in the creation of research data represents a relatively modest cost compared to the prohibitive cost of recreating such data.

from Data Management Toolkit : trousse de sensibilisation réalisée pour l’Association des bibliothèques de recherche du Canada (ABRC)

If I share my data, I limit my options to exploit patents and other economic benefits.

Good data management principles are not incompatible with those governing intellectual property and data ownership. Researchers may choose to restrict access to their data in order to maximize their professional and economic benefits by postponing the release of data until the patent is published or enforced, or by using a non-commercial use license for the data. The OECD recommends that measures that promote access and exploitation for non-commercial purposes while protecting commercial interests, such as deferred or partial release of data or voluntary licensing mechanisms, be taken into account. Such measures can enable key participants to make full use of research data, without unnecessarily restricting access to it

from Data Management Toolkit : trousse de sensibilisation réalisée pour l’Association des bibliothèques de recherche du Canada (ABRC)

I cannot archive and communicate my data because it is about humans.

The best way to protect the confidentiality of personal information is through anonymity. If the data stored and made accessible are anonymous, then no problems of opening and reusing the data.

Well-established procedures exist to ensure anonymity of data and researchers can consult with the Coordinator for Ethical Issues at Unil to determine whether and how to anonymize data containing personal information so that they can share it.

 

Follow us:    

More informations - CLICK !

 

i_2-data-management-plan.png

Data Management Plan

 

i_3-organisation.png

Organize your data

 

i_5-securite.png

Storage and security

 

i_8-archivage-perenne.png

Preservation and sharing

Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 81

FAQ

Retrouvez ci-dessous des éléments de réponse pour les problématiques les plus récurrentes liées à la gestion des données de recherche à l'UNIL.

 

Dans le cas où vous n'auriez pas trouvé les informations que vous recherchiez, n'hésitez pas à contacter le service UNIRIS ou les consultant·es recherche des facultés.

Questions générales

Puis-je disposer librement de mes données de recherche ? À qui appartiennent les données de recherche liées à mes projets ?

Quel que soit l'endroit où sont stockées les données et indépendamment du support de stockage, toute donnée créée ou modifiée dans le cadre de l'activité professionnelle d'un collaborateur UNIL est protégée par le droit d'auteur mais appartient à l'UNIL. Cela signifie que pour toute utilisation autre qu'à des fins scientifiques et académiques, l'accord de la Direction est nécessaire (p.ex. pour une commercialisation). Plus d'informations.

Je quitte l’Université. Puis-je emporter mes données ?

En cas de départ d'un chef de groupe (Principal Investigator), une copie de toutes les données créées ou modifiées durant l'activité professionnelle doit être restituée au décanat de sa faculté (Directive 4.5 Art. 19 al.1) quel que soit le degré de confidentialité, accompagnée des informations nécessaires à leur compréhension et leur gestion. Pour ce faire, nous recommandons de les enregistrer sur l'espace de stockage NAS. En cas d'utilisation commerciale, l'accord préalable de la Direction de l'UNIL est nécessaire.

 

S’il le désire, le PI peut demander par l’intermédiaire de sa faculté l’autorisation d’emporter une copie des données de recherche de son groupe de recherche. En cas d’accord de sa faculté, un contrat de cession entre l’UNIL et l’institution accueillant le PI est établi et signé en conformité avec la Directive 4.1 de la Direction de l’UNIL sur la signature des contrats de recherche (contrat de cession). Si des données personnelles sont concernées, les dispositions en la matière sont réservées.

Qui est responsable des données de recherche et de leur bonne gestion ?

Le Principal Investigator (PI) a la responsabilité de faire en sorte que les données de recherche de son groupe de recherche soient gérées tout au long de leur cycle de vie, depuis leur création ou réception jusqu’à leur destruction ou archivage, dans le respect de la législation applicable et des directives de l’UNIL ou, lorsque les données sont reçues d’un tiers, selon les conditions contractuelles convenues  (Directive 4.5 Art. 10 al.1).

Où puis-je stocker mes données professionnelles à l'UNIL ? Quelles sont les infrastructures à ma disposition ?

L’UNIL encourage les collaborateurs à sauvegarder toutes leurs données professionnelles générées dans le cadre de leur activité à l’UNIL sur les infrastructures institutionnelles de l'Université (Directive 4.5 Art. 8 al. 2). À cette fin, le Centre informatique de l’UNIL (Ci) met à disposition un serveur NAS de stockage.

Le serveur NAS Isilon de l'UNIL est un service de stockage sûr et robuste qui garantit la sécurité et la pérennité de vos données professionnelles. Ce serveur de stockage en réseau est disponible pour toutes les personnes sous contrat UNIL et offre un taux élevé de disponibilité. Il est partagé en deux arborescences distinctes – recherche et administratif – qui permettent d’organiser les données en fonction de leur nature. Plus d'informations.

Quels sont les ressources informatiques dédiées à la recherche à l’UNIL ? Quelles en sont les conditions d’utilisation ?

Depuis juin 2019, le Centre informatique de l’UNIL a renforcé ses services dédiés à la recherche à l’Université en créant la Division calcul et soutien à la recherche (DCSR). Cette unité est compétente pour conseiller les chercheurs et leur offre des infrastructures nouvelles pour le stockage et le traitement des données de recherche.

 

Le serveur NAS RECHERCHE (nas.unil.ch\RECHERCHE) est dédié au stockage des données de recherche organisées par projet pour chaque Principal Investigator (PI). Les infrastructures HCP permettent aux chercheurs de faire du calcul scientifique.

 

Pour bénéficier de ces ressources, les PI doivent remplir le formulaire de demande de la DCSR et, le cas échéant, soumettre un Data Management Plan (DMP) lorsqu’il s’agit d’une requête pour un espace de stockage lié à un projet de recherche.

 

Ces services sont payants et leur utilisation est facturée aux PI selon la grille tarifaire annuelle (accès UNIL authentifié) établie par le Centre informatique de l’UNIL.

Puis-je utiliser des services dans le Cloud (Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, etc.) pour traiter et stocker mes données ?

L’utilisation de services dans le Cloud doit répondre aux exigences légales de l’UNIL. De plus, toute utilisation de ces services se fait sous l’unique responsabilité de l’utilisateur qui en assume pleinement les risques en sachant qu'aucune assistance n’est offerte de la part du Centre informatique.

 

L'Université autorise l'utilisation de services de stockage tiers à condition que les données soient stockées en Suisse (Directive 6.9, art. 5). Si les données sont stockées à l'étranger, les données doivent être cryptées et la clé de cryptage doit être stockée en Suisse.

 

Malheureusement, la plupart des services connus ne satisfont pas ces critères (p.ex. Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, etc.). Actuellement, SWITCHDrive est le seul à remplir les conditions requises. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez-vous référer à la documentation du Centre informatique (Ci) relative à SWITCHDrive.

 

Nous attirons cependant votre attention sur le fait que l'utilisation de services dans le Cloud peut impliquer des risques pour vos données :

  • Le prestataire peut modifier sa prestation à tout moment (arrêt de service, changement du tarif, etc.).
  • En cas de perte de données, aucune assistance n’est fournie par le Centre informatique.
  • Les données peuvent éventuellement être lues et utilisées par des tiers (les législations étrangères sont souvent plus souples en matière de protection des données).

Vers les pages dédiées au stockage de vos données à l'UNIL.

Qui doit rédiger un Data Management Plan ?

Depuis octobre 2017, chaque requête au FNS doit inclure un plan de gestion des données (Data Management Plan ou DMP), de même que les projets soumis au programme de financement H2020.

Il est également prévu que chaque demande d’espace de stockage à la DCSR soit accompagnée d’un DMP. Plus d'informations.

Comment rédiger mon Data Management Plan ? Où puis-je trouver des informations concernant l’Open Data ?

UNIRIS a élaboré un modèle de Data Management Plan pour les chercheurs de l’UNIL et fournit des conseils personnalisés. Vers les pages dédiées au DMP..

 

Des formations sont organisées via le Graduate Campus sur la rédaction des DMP et sur la publication en Open Access. Pour consulter le calendrier des activités proposées et vous y inscrire, nous vous invitons à vous rendre sur leur site internet.

 

Des outils en ligne sont également à disposition des chercheurs: le canevas du FNS est disponible sur MyFNS et l'Institut Suisse de Bioinformatique (SIB) a créé un générateur de Data Management Plan compatible avec les exigences du FNS.

A l’UNIL, existe-t-il des logiciels pour faciliter la gestion du laboratoire et des stocks (LIMS, ELN, etc.) ?

Plusieurs projets sont en cours au niveau des universités pour répondre à ces questions (cf. CRUS). En effet, même s’il est très tentant d’utiliser un programme téléchargé depuis Internet qui répondrait au besoin d’un groupe de personnes, la gestion dépasse très rapidement les ressources (financières et humaines) et les connaissances (légales, informatiques, etc.) d’un seul groupe de recherche, voire même d'un département.

 

Nous observons que de plus en plus d’utilisateurs s’intéressant au remplacement du cahier de laboratoire papier souhaitent rendre la gestion des différents supports de données plus efficaces ou cherchent des solutions de gestion de stock pour le matériel utilisé dans les laboratoires.

 

Pour répondre à ce(s) besoin(s), le Service informatique FBM a testé plusieurs logiciels et est en contact très étroit avec la Faculté des Sciences de la vie de l’EPFL qui a déjà mis en place un système.

Comment partager des fichiers volumineux ?

L'application web SWITCHFileSender permet d'envoyer des fichiers de maximum 50Go à une liste de destinataires de votre choix (infos sur le site du Centre informatique).

Sous quelles conditions dois-je conserver mes données après la publication de ma recherche ?

Après publication, les données produites dans le cadre de la recherche doivent être conservées en sécurité pendant au moins 10 ans (Directive 4.2, art. 2.4). La responsabilité de la conservation appropriée des données incombe au chef de projet de la recherche. Plus d'informations.

Combien de temps dois-je garder mes données de recherche ?

En cas de dépôt de brevet et sur demande du bureau de transfert de technologie (PACTT), les données relatives aux brevets de l’UNIL seront conservées au minimum pour toute la durée de validité du brevet (20 ans) (Directive 4.5 Art. 15 al.2).

 

Les données liées à une publication doivent être déposées sur un dépôt non-commercial, sous réserve d’autres exigences formulées par l’organisme de financement de la recherche (Directive 4.5 Art. 15 al.3).

 

Les données non liées à une publication peuvent être archivées sur une infrastructure du Ci et/ou sur un dépôt non-commercial. La décision de dépôt est du ressort du PI (Directive 4.5 Art. 15 al.4).

 

Plus d'informations sur nos pages dédiées au stockage des données..

Questions en lien avec le FNS

Où puis-je trouver des informations sur l'obligation de rédiger un DMP dans le cadre de projets financés par le FNS ?

Depuis octobre 2017il est obligatoire d’inclure un Plan de gestion des données (Data Management Plan ou DMP) avec chaque requête. La FNS met à disposition un DMP dans le compte de chaque chercheur·e·s sur MyFNS .

Plus d'informations disponibles sur nos pages dédiées.

Mes recherches sont financées par le FNS et non l’Université. Donc elles m’appartiennent ?

En application de l’article 44 du Règlement général des subsides du Fonds National Suisse, la propriété des données de recherche initialement collectées ou créées à l’UNIL dans le cadre de recherches financées par ledit Fonds National Suisse est attribuée à l’UNIL, quel que soit le statut du collaborateur ayant mené les recherches (Directive 4.5 Art. 5 al.3).

Comment remplir l'onglet "set de données" dans le formulaire MyFNS ?

Le lien vers les données est à introduire sous mySNF, avec quelques métadonnées, notamment le DOI. Le nom du dépôt de données choisi est également à indiquer. Les données elles-mêmes ne doivent pas être chargées sur mySNF.

 

Les données doivent être rendues accessibles en même temps que la publication correspondante. Si la publication a lieu après la fin du projet, le lien vers les données doit être indiqué à ce moment-là et donc pas forcément à la fin du projet en tant que tel.

 

Le but de la politique Open research Data du FNS est de favoriser l’impact, la transparence et la reproductibilité des résultats de la recherche. A cet effet, le but est que ces données respectent les principes de données FAIR et puissent être accessibles par la suite. Le FNS ayant signé la déclaration DORA, la création de bases de données est également un output à prendre en compte dans le processus d’évaluation. Les données ne sont pas archivées au FNS mais mises à disposition sur des dépôts de données qui satisfont aux principes de données FAIR. Les liens vers les données étant introduits dans les données output de mySNF, ceux-ci seront notamment accessibles sur la base de données P3 du FNS.

Suivez nous:    

Plus d'informations ? Cliquez !

i_2-data-management-plan.png

Data Management Plan
 

i_3-organisation.png

Organisation & description
 

i_5-securite.png

Stockage & sécurité
 

i_8-archivage-perenne.png

Archivage & partage

Partagez:
Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 81