Research data in general

Multiple definitions

Many definitions attempt to capture the notion of Research data. This challenge is all the more difficult because it is necessary to find a common denominator for many types of data (sociological, economic, medical, biological, constructed from sounds, images or even odours, etc.).

It is commonly accepted (OECD - 2007) that research data are factual records used as primary sources for scientific research. They are generally recognized by the scientific community as necessary to validate research results. They can take many forms (experimental data, observational data, operational data, third party data, public sector data, etc.).

Research data at UNIL

At UNIL, according to Directive 4.5, research data are records used as primary sources for scientific research.

They include in particular, but not exclusively :

  • primary data: original data (measurement, text, image, sound, video, questionnaires, etc.) collected or generated for the purpose of carrying out a research project ;
  • existing data collected or copied for immediate or future use in Projects (in particular administrative or statistical data, digitised content from collections, data available in databases expressly made available to a research community) - original data or content is not covered by this Directive ;
  • any new data resulting from the processing (analysis, aggregation, transformation, etc.) of the primary data.

The following are not considered as research data :

  • files containing constituent elements of the publication of the research (texts forming the core of the publication, as well as annexes - tables, graphs, images, etc.) ;
  • files generated by the project administration (scientific, financial reports) or media communication related to a project.

In order to facilitate their publication and/or sharing in possible open access, research data are organized and managed according to international standards specific to each field in order to respect the FAIR principles (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Re-usable) supported in particular by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF).

Follow us:    
Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 81

Les données de recherche

De multiples définitions

De nombreux essais de définitions tentent de ciconscrire la notion de données de recherche. Challenge d’autant plus difficile qu’il convient de trouver un dénominateur commun pour de nombreux types de données (sociologiques, économiques, médicales, biologiques, construites de sons, d’images voire d’odeurs, etc.).

Il est communément admis (OCDE - 2007) que les données de recherche sont des enregistrements factuels utilisés comme sources principales pour la recherche scientifique. Elles sont généralement reconnus par la communauté scientifique comme nécessaires pour valider des résultats de recherche. Elles peuvent prendre de multiples formes (données expérimentales,  données d’observation,  données opérationnelles,  données de tiers,  données du secteur public, etc.).

Les données de recherche à l'UNIL

A l'UNIL, selon la directive 4.5 de la Direction, les données de recherche sont des enregistrements utilisés comme sources principales pour la recherche scientifique.

Elles comprennent en particulier, mais pas exclusivement :

  • les données primaires : données originales (mesure, texte, image, son, vidéo, questionnaires, etc.) collectées ou générées dans le but de mener à bien un projet de recherche ;
  • les données existantes rassemblées ou copiées à des fins d’utilisation immédiate ou future pour des Projets (en particulier données administratives ou statistiques, contenus numérisés de collections, données disponibles dans les bases de données expressément mises à disposition d’une communauté de chercheurs) - les données ou contenus originaux ne sont pas visés par la présente directive ;
  • toute nouvelle donnée résultant du traitement (analyse, agrégation, transformation, etc.) des données primaires.

Ne sont pas considérés comme données de recherche :

  • les fichiers rassemblant des éléments constitutifs de la publication des recherches, (textes formant le coeur de la publication, ainsi que les annexes – tableaux, graphiques, images, etc.).
  • les fichiers générés par l’administration du projet (rapports scientifiques, financiers) ou la communication médiatique liée à un projet.

Afin de favoriser leur publication et/ou leur partage en accès ouvert éventuel, les données de recherche sont organisées et gérées selon les standards internationaux spécifiques à chaque domaine en vue du respect des principes FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Re-usable) soutenus notamment par le Fonds National Suisse.

Partagez:
Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 81