Welcome to Campus

WelcomeToCampus_small.jpg

© Eric Pitteloud, UNIL

Welcome to Campus

The University of Lausanne is a research institution composed of seven faculties where approximately 14 980 students and 2 800 researchers work and study. (photos of campus)


UNIL is focused on several academic disciplines, especially Medicine, Life Sciences, Geosciences, Environment, Business, Humanities and Social Sciences. An emphasis is placed on an interdisciplinary approach, with close cooperation between students, teaching staff, and professors.


The University of Lausanne’s main campus is located on the shores of Lake Geneva. This picturesque landscape of the Alps and Lake provides the ideal setting for study and research. To preserve this natural environment, UNIL’s campus is managed according to the principles of sustainable development.
The University of Lausanne is situated in the heart of the French-speaking region of Switzerland, found in the centre of Western Europe – close to France, Germany, Italy, and Austria. It pursues an active policy of collaboration at both local and international levels.

TOP ^

Films about UNIL

You will find this film and others on the UNILTV.

TOP ^

Welcome to UNIL

Welcome to UNIL

Academic Calendar

Important dates on campus are noted in the academic calendar. For example: start dates of the fall and spring semesters, exam periods, and public holidays.

TOP ^

What is happening on campus and beyond?

Make sure to bookmark this website in your internet browser: the UNIL online newspaper (in French). This source of news will keep you up to date with all events, news and activities on campus and beyond. Here you'll find information about conferences, seminars, research, but also practical matters and so much more. 

We also advise to sign up within our social event, Meet & Greet. Registration is mandatory!

TOP ^

Campus card

On campus, the Campus Card is necessary. This card functions as a campus id card, a wallet, a key and a library card. So make sure you get one of these. The person who welcomes you upon your arrival on campus can help you get a card. Look at the map to find out where you can charge and validate your card.

TOP ^

UNIL web-account and e-mail address

As soon as the Human Resources Department registers your work contract, a web-account will be created for you automatically. This account gives you access to the Intranet, your personal account, and a UNIL mail-account (webmail.unil.ch). The username and password will be sent to your new work address in a sealed envelope.
It is not possible to create your account before the Human Resources Department has entered the contract into the electronic system.

TOP ^

Restaurants, menus and shops

There are several options for where to grab something to eat and drink on campus. Prices are very affordable, especially if you show your campus card to get the reductions. The website for the different restaurants shows menus (where they are available), the menu in the left sidebar shows the different restaurants/cafeterias on campus. There is also a map over the restaurants/cafeterias.


On Thursdays between 9:30 and 14:30 there is a farmers market in front of the Geopolis building. You can pre-order baskets with seasonal fruit, vegetables, bread and cheese (check the website for dates and details).

A few stores are available on campus, as well as two cash machines (bank BCV): one in the Internef building, the other at the Sport Centre.
Also, over at the neighboring EPFL (Technical University) there is a recently built shopping centre including stores, medical centre, pharmacy, dentist, and more. The shopping centre is right by the metro station EPFL.

TOP ^

Parking at UNIL

It is very easy to access the campus using public transportations. However, if you use your car you need to buy a parking permit. You sign up online and then you get the permit at the Parking office which is located in the building called Annexe de la Mouline, office 202 and is open Monday to Friday 9.00-17:00. There are several big parkings and with the parking permit you can park your car depending on the parking authorizations of your choice. 

TOP ^

Sport

The Sport Centre (Centre Sport et Santé) is situated on the shores of the lake, at the south border of campus (map). The beautiful surroundings and the top quality infrastructure is an opportunity for employees and students to increase their health and well-being. The choice is abundant and there is an activity for all tastes and types. To access the sport centre you have to pass the secretariat and pay for a membership card. The colleagues can also give you more information about the different activities.

TOP ^

Library

The Cantonal and University Library in Lausanne (BCUL) has five libraries, two are situated on the main University campus. It is one of the biggest public libraries in Switzerland with vast collections of books, journals, manuscripts, electronic resources, and more. The library on top of the main cafeteria in the Unithèque building on campus covers all specific subject areas of humanities and all historic periods. This site also offers many study places where you can work and study. The library in the Internef building has books and journals related to law and economy subjects and also offers a calm place to read and work.

Find online journals with online subscriptions.

It is very easy to connect to the library databases from home and get access to all online journals and resources. Information about how to log in.

TOP ^

Research

Useful information for researchers at UNIL.

Unisciences is a database where you can find information about the work of researchers and research departments at the University of Lausanne.

TOP ^

Teaching

Le Centre de Soutien à l'Enseignement

The centre for teaching support (CSE) provides help for new teachers and teachers who wish to reflect upon and develop their teaching methods to improve student learning in their courses. The goal of CSE is to promote a culture that values and rewards teaching across the university. The competencies and resources of the CSE straddle four fields:

1. Teaching at the university (pedagogy of higher education);

2. Individual coaching and advice;

3. Teaching evaluations;

4. Research projects on teaching and learning.

Courses and workshops available for teachers (some in French and some in English).

Practical information about technical material in the classrooms and technical assistance from the UNICOM department (in French).

TOP ^

Organizational Departments of UNIL (services)

International Relations Office - Relations Internationales

The International Relations Office is in charge of public relations and the marketing of UNIL internationally. This department is also providing assistance to researchers in motion. The Welcome Centre is part of the International Relations department.

The Human Resources Department - Service des Ressources Humaines

The Human Resources Department at UNIL is organized in Faculty teams. An HR manager and one, or two, HR assistants are in charge of one faculty and help this faculty with all HR issues. This team can help out with all questions related to your engagement and contract, taxes, recruitment, family allocations, working permits, salaries, social charges, ombudsman/woman, UNIL regulations, conflict resolution, and the management of departments.

IT Support - Centre Informatique

The IT department can help you with your questions concerning IT, whether in relation to your teaching, your research, or your personal e-mail account.

Buildings, offices and infrastructure - Unibat

If you need a new desk, chair or a key, a room for a conference or research seminar, help moving offices, or flowers for a front desk, you contact Unibat. The department for buildings, offices and infrastructure, is responsible for providing an appropriate work, study and research environment for all the members of the University community.

The Equal Opportunities Office - Bureau de l'Egalité

The Equal Opportunities Office is the driver of many initiatives pertaining to the full participation of women, on a par with men, at the University of Lausanne. More specifically, the colleagues at BEC are working closely with the faculties to increase the number of women at professorial levels and to promote gender equality in general.

List of all organizational departments - Services

List of all the organizational departments of UNIL (services)

 

TOP ^

TOP ^

Ch√Ęteau de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05

Bienvenue sur le campus

WelcomeToCampus_small.jpg

© Eric Pitteloud, UNIL

Bienvenue sur le campus

L'Université de Lausanne est une institution de recherche composée de sept facultés au sein desquelles environ 14 980 étudiants et 2 800 chercheur·e·s travaillent et étudient. (photos du campus).

L'UNIL se concentre sur plusieurs disciplines académiques, en particulier la médecine, la biologie, les géosciences, l'environnement, le commerce et les sciences humaines et sociales. Elle s'appuie sur une approche interdisciplinaire, reposant elle-même sur une étroite collaboration entre les étudiants, le personnel enseignant et les professeur·e·s.

Le campus principal de l'Université de Lausanne est situé sur les rives du lac Léman. Les paysages pittoresques des Alpes et du lac fournissent un cadre idéal pour les études et la recherche. Pour préserver cet environnement naturel, le campus de l'UNIL est géré selon les principes du développement durable.

L'Université de Lausanne est située au cœur de la Suisse romande, elle-même au centre de l'Europe de l'Ouest, à proximité de la France, de l'Allemagne, de l'Italie et de l'Autriche. Elle pratique une politique de collaboration active tant au niveau local qu'au niveau international.

TOP ^

Film sur l'UNIL

Ce film et d'autres films sur l'UNIL sur UNILTV.

TOP ^

Calendrier académique

Les dates importantes sont notées dans le calendrier académique. Par exemple, les dates de début des semestres d'automne et de printemps, les périodes d'examen et les jours fériés.

TOP ^

Que se passe-t-il sur le campus et en dehors?

Assurez-vous d'ajouter le Journal en ligne de l'UNIL (en français) à vos favoris dans votre navigateur Internet. Cette source d'informations vous tiendra informé·e de l'ensemble des événements, actualités et activités sur le campus et en dehors. Vous y trouverez des informations sur les conférences, séminaires et recherches, mais également des sujets pratiques et bien d'autres choses encore.

Nous vous invitons également à vous inscrire au prochain Meet & Greet. L'inscription est obligatoire! 

TOP ^

Campus Card

Sur le campus, la Campus Card est indispensable. Cette carte sert de carte d'identité sur le campus, de porte-monnaie, de clé et de carte de bibliothèque. Assurez-vous d'en posséder une. La personne qui vous accueillera à votre arrivée sur le campus pourra vous aider à en obtenir une. Jetez un coup d'œil aux plans afin de savoir où charger et valider votre carte.

TOP ^

Compte web et adresse e-mail UNIL

Dès lors que le Service des ressources humaines a enregistré votre contrat de travail, un compte Web est automatiquement créé pour vous. Ce compte vous donne accès à l'Intranet, votre dossier administratif et un compte e-mail UNIL (webmail.unil.ch). Le nom d'utilisateur et le mot de passe seront envoyés à votre nouvelle adresse de travail dans une enveloppe scellée.
Il est impossible de créer votre compte avant que le Service des ressources humaines ait saisi votre contrat dans le système électronique.

TOP ^

Restaurants, menus et boutiques

Plusieurs solutions de restauration existent sur le campus. Les prix sont très abordables, en particulier si vous présentez votre Campus Card pour bénéficier des réductions. Le site Web des différents restaurants affiche les menus (lorsqu'ils sont disponibles) et la barre latérale gauche répertorie l'ensemble des restaurants/cafétérias présents sur le campus. Un plan est disponible pour repérer l'emplacement des restaurants/cafétérias.

Les mardis, un marché se tient de 15h00 à 18h00 devant la Grange de Dorigny. Vous pouvez précommander des paniers contenant des fruits et légumes de saison, du pain et du fromage (consultez le site pour obtenir les dates et plus de détails). Quelques commerces sont présents sur le campus, ainsi que deux distributeurs de billets (banque BCV): l'un dans le bâtiment Internef, l'autre dans le Centre sport et santé.

Par ailleurs, une galerie marchande s'est récemment construite au sein de l'EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne). Vous y trouverez des boutiques, un centre médical, une pharmacie, un cabinet dentaire, etc. La galerie marchande est située juste à côté de la station de métro EPFL.

TOP ^

Stationnement

L'accès au campus par les transports en commun est très simple. Cependant, pour utiliser votre voiture, vous devez vous procurer une autorisation de stationnement. Pour cela, il vous faut consulter le site web des parkings à l'UNIL, puis d'aller récupérer l'autorisation dans le Bureau dédié au stationnement situé dans l'Annexe de la Mouline (bureau 202), ouvert de 9h00 à 17h00 du lundi au vendredi. Plusieurs grands parkings sont à disposition. Le type d'autorisation de stationnement défini l'emplacement et le type de parking. 

TOP ^

Sport

Le Centre Sportif est situé sur les rives du lac, au sud du campus (plan). Le cadre magnifique et les infrastructures de qualité contribuent à l'amélioration de la santé et du bien-être des employé·e·s et des étudiant·e·s. L'offre est large: vous trouverez forcément une activité qui vous correspond. Pour accéder au centre sportif, vous devez vous rendre au secrétariat et acheter une carte d'adhésion. Vos collègues pourront également vous fournir plus d'informations sur les différentes activités.

TOP ^

Bibliothèques

La Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire de Lausanne (BCUL) possède cinq bibliothèques, dont deux sont situées sur le campus principal de l'université. Elle est l'une des plus grandes bibliothèques publiques de Suisse grâce à ses vastes collections de livres, périodiques, manuscrits, ressources électroniques, etc. La bibliothèque au-dessus de la cafétéria principale dans le bâtiment Unithèque couvre tous les sujets spécifiques relatifs aux sciences humaines et toutes les périodes historiques. Ce site comprend également de nombreux emplacements pour travailler ou étudier. La bibliothèque située dans le bâtiment Internef met à disposition des livres et périodiques en lien avec le droit et l'économie et offre un endroit calme pour lire et travailler.

Il est très facile de se connecter aux bases de données de la bibliothèque depuis son domicile et d'accéder à l'ensemble des périodiques et ressources en ligne. Informations sur la procédure de connexion.

TOP ^

Recherche

Informations utiles destinées aux chercheur·euse·s de l'UNIL.

Unisciences est une base de données contenant des informations sur les travaux des chercheur·euse·s et départements de recherche de l'Université de Lausanne.

TOP ^

Enseignement

Le Centre de soutien à l'enseignement

Le Centre de soutien à l'enseignement (CSE) vient en aide aux nouveaux·elles enseignant·e·s qui souhaitent réfléchir à leur engagement et développer leurs méthodes d'enseignement afin d'améliorer l'apprentissage des étudiant·e·s dans leurs cours. L'objectif du CSE consiste à promouvoir une culture qui valorise et récompense l'enseignement dans l'ensemble de l'université. Les compétences et ressources du CSE englobent quatre domaines:

1. Enseigner à l'Université (pédagogie dans l'enseignement supérieur);

2. Coaching et conseils individuels;

3. Evaluations de l'enseignement;

4. Projets de recherche sur l'enseignement et l'apprentissage.

Cours et ateliers disponibles pour les enseignant·e·s (certains sont en français, d'autres en anglais).
Informations pratiques sur le matériel audiovisuel dans les salles de cours et l'assistance technique d'UNICOM (en français).

TOP ^

Services de l'UNIL

Service des relations internationales

Le Service des relations internationales est en charge des relations publiques, ainsi que de la promotion de l'UNIL à l'international. Ce service vient également en aide aux chercheur·euse·s invité·e·s. Le Welcome Centre en fait partie.

Service des ressources humaines

Les équipes du Service des ressources humaines de l'UNIL sont réparties par faculté. Un·e responsable et un·e ou deux assistant·e·s RH sont en charge d'une faculté et aident cette faculté concernant tous les problèmes RH. Cette équipe peut apporter son aide quant aux questions relatives à votre engagement (contrat et recrutement, impôts, allocations familiales, permis de travail, séjours, charges sociales, réglementations de l'UNIL, résolutions de conflits, médiation et gestion des services).

Centre informatique

Le Centre informatique peut vous aider concernant les questions liées à l'informatique dans vos cours, vos recherches ou votre compte e-mail personnel.

Unibat - Service des bâtiments et travaux

Pour obtenir un nouveau bureau, une nouvelle chaise ou une clé, une salle pour une conférence ou un séminaire de recherche, de l'aide pour déménager les bureaux ou des fleurs pour un guichet, merci de contacter Unibat. Le Service des bâtiments et travaux est tenu de fournir un environnement de travail, d'étude et de recherche adapté pour tous les membres de la communauté universitaire.

Bureau de l'égalité

Le Bureau de l'égalité est à l'origine de nombreuses initiatives visant à encourager la pleine participation des femmes et à les mettre sur un pied d'égalité avec les hommes au sein de l'Université de Lausanne. Plus particulièrement, les membres du BCE travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les facultés pour augmenter le nombre de femmes au niveau professoral et promouvoir l'égalité entre les hommes et les femmes.

Liste des Services

Liste de tous les Services de l'UNIL.

 

TOP ^

TOP ^

Partagez:
Château de Dorigny  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 20
Fax +41 21 692 20 05