John Grace Lecture

                                2010 Europe 2 1103-crop2067x2162.jpg

The John Grace Lecture — open to lay public and scientists alike — is a center piece of the CIG symposium in June of each year.  The lecture, given by a preeminent participant at the CIG symposium, is followed by a dinner that mixes symposium participants, local scientists and benefactors and their guests of the FREG for free-ranging discussions.  The aim is to raise public awareness of science as well as of the activities of the CIG.

Past John Grace Lecturers, which include three Nobel Laureates, form an elite group.  

They are:
2010: James D. Watson*, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Cold Spring Harbor, New York

2011: Ralph Greenspan, Kavli Institute for the Brain and Mind, University of California, San Diego

2012: John Gurdon*, Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge, Cambridge

2013: Svante Pääbo, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig

2014: Joseph Takahashi, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas

2015: Carol Greider*, Johns Hopkins Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences, Baltimore

2016: Ross Cagan, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York

2017: B. Rosemary Grant & Peter R. Grant,  Princeton University, New Jersey

2018: Helen M. Blau,  Stanford University School of Medicine, California

2019: Lewis C. Cantley, Meyer Cancer Center Weill Cornell Medical College Clinical Cancer & Program New York-Presbyterian Hospital, USA

*Nobel Laureate