OBELIS

The main purpose of the Swiss Elite Observatory (Obelis) is to document and study the men and women in positions of power in the Swiss political, economic, administrative and academic spheres in the 20th and 21st centuries, and to better understand the power relations that structure the Swiss society. In addition, Obelis develops research projects on transnational elites, particularly in the economic sphere.

 

We regularly publish scientific articles and books and also actively participate in public debate on the issue of elites and power.

 

Obelis hosts several research projects funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation. These projects are linked to each other and are based on the same cumulative database, the Swiss Elite Database, which contains more than 30,000 entries on political, economic, administrative and academic elites since the beginning of the 20th century. We use different qualitative and quantitative methodological approaches.

 

Obelis is attached to the Institute of Political Studies of the University of Lausanne and characterized by an interdisciplinary approach, bringing together researchers in political science, history, sociology and management from various Swiss and foreign universities. Obelis members give several lessons on the sociology and history of the elites and regularly organize conferences on these issues.

Follow us:    

poster_obelis.png

OBELIS

L’Observatoire des élites suisses (Obelis) a pour but principal de documenter et d’étudier les femmes et les hommes occupant une position de pouvoir dans les sphères politique, économique, administrative et académique suisses aux 20ème et 21e siècles, et de mieux comprendre les rapports de pouvoir qui structurent la société helvétique. Par ailleurs, l’Obelis développe des recherches portant sur les élites transnationales, en particulier dans la sphère économique.   

 

Nous publions régulièrement des articles et livres scientifiques et participons également activement au débat public sur la question des élites et du pouvoir.

 

L’Obelis héberge plusieurs projets de recherche financés par le Fonds National Suisse de la Recherche Scientifique. Ces projets sont liés les uns aux autres et se fondent sur une même base de données cumulative, la Base de données des élites suisses qui contient plus de 30'000 entrées sur les élites politiques, économiques, administratives et académiques depuis le début du 20ème siècle. Ils mobilisent différentes approches méthodologiques qualitatives et quantitatives.

 

Rattaché à l’Institut d’Etudes Politiques de l’Université de Lausanne, l’Obelis se caractérise par une approche interdisciplinaire et regroupe des chercheurs et chercheuses en science politique, histoire, sociologie et management de différentes universités helvétiques et étrangères. Les membres de l’Obelis donnent différents enseignements sur la sociologie et l’histoire des élites et organisent régulièrement des conférences sur ces questions.

 

Suivez nous:    

poster_obelis.png

Partagez:
CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 22 00
Fax +41 21 692 22 11