Compliance & Requirements

Binding national and international rules

On a global scale, and particularly at the European level, transparent management of research data has become a priority for governments and public funding agencies. These require both Data Management Plans (DMPs) and free access to scientific publications and the underlying data. On the other hand, an increasing number of scientific publishers have Data Policies and now require access to data, metadata, codes, materials, methods and protocols associated with both qualitative and quantitative research results.

In Switzerland, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) has been committed to opening up science since 2006. It requires the drafting of a DMP for all new funding requests since 2017 and the opening of all scientific productions resulting from projects it finances. For its part, Swissuniversities aims for 100% free access for all publications from universities from 2024 onwards, in accordance with its national strategy on Open Access.

Since November 2015, UNIL has been a signatory to the LERU Statement on Open Access to Research Publications, which aims to promote open publications, archiving and the availability of scientific data. UNIL also signed in 2018 the Berlin Declaration on Free Access to Knowledge in the Natural, Life, Human and Social Sciences and the San Francisco Declaration on Research Evaluation (DORA). This calls into question the growing use of bibliometric rankings as indices for the evaluation of research and researchers.

An open and responsible institutional approach

UNIL's research data strategy is part of this international and national framework. It is also based on the needs and expectations of its community identified in a survey conducted in 2015.

In this context :

  • UNIL advocates honest and responsible research that aims to manage research data in a transparent and open manner, within the limits of the law and scientific requirements in terms of ethics, deontology and compliance with standards for the protection of the individual and intellectual property.
  • In addition, the right of creators of research data to a reasonable first use is recognised. Indeed, the creation of original research data can often require a lot of expertise and work over many years. It is therefore essential that the transition to open data does not reduce the willingness of researchers to undertake the work of collecting and producing original research data.

The Rectorate has produced a number of directives to support the research conducted within it. These provide a general regulatory framework for all research conducted at UNIL.

Follow us:    
Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 81

Conformité & exigences

Des règles nationales et internationales contraignantes

À l’échelle mondiale, et particulièrement européenne, on observe qu’une gestion transparente des données de recherche est devenue une priorité pour les États et organismes publics de financement. Ceux-ci exigent à la fois des plans de gestion des données (Data Management Plan – DMP) et le libre accès aux publications scientifiques et aux données qui les sous-tendent. D’autre part, un nombre croissant d’éditeurs scientifiques disposent de Data Policies et exigent dorénavant l’accès aux données, métadonnées, codes, matériaux, méthodes et protocoles associés aux résultats de recherches, tant qualitatives que quantitatives.

En Suisse, le Fonds National Suisse de la Recherche scientifique (FNS) s’est engagé dès 2006 en faveur de l’ouverture de la science. Il exige la rédaction d’un DMP pour toute nouvelle demande de financement depuis 2017 et l’ouverture de toutes les productions scientifiques issues de projets qu’il finance. De son côté, Swissuniversities vise un 100% d’accès libre pour toutes les publications issues des hautes écoles dès 2024, selon sa stratégie nationale sur l’Open Access.

Depuis novembre 2015, l’UNIL est signataire du LERU Statement on Open Access to Research Publications qui entend promouvoir les publications ouvertes, l’archivage et la mise à disposition des données scientifiques. L’UNIL a également signé en 2018 la Déclaration de Berlin sur le libre accès à la connaissance en sciences exactes, sciences de la vie, sciences humaines et sociales et la Déclaration de San Francisco sur l’évaluation de la recherche (DORA). Celle-ci remet en cause l'usage croissant des classements bibliométriques comme indices au service de l’évaluation de la recherche et des chercheur·e·s.

Une approche institutionnelle ouverte et responsable

La stratégie de l’UNIL en matière de données de recherche s'inscrit à l'intérieur de ce cadre international et national. Elle s’appuie en outre sur les besoins et les attentes de sa communauté recensés lors d’une enquête réalisée en 2015.

Fort de ce contexte :

  • L’UNIL prône une recherche intègre et responsable qui vise à gérer les données de recherche de manière transparente et ouverte, dans les limites du droit et des prescriptions scientifiques en matière d’éthique, de déontologie et du respect des standards en matière de protection de l’individu et de la propriété intellectuelle.
  • En outre, le droit des créateurs de données de recherche à une première utilisation raisonnable est reconnu. En effet, la création de données de recherche originales peut souvent exiger beaucoup d'expertise et de travail pendant de nombreuses années. Il est donc essentiel que la transition vers des données ouvertes ne réduise pas la volonté des chercheurs d'entreprendre le travail de collecte et de production de données de recherche originales.

La Direction a produit un certain nombre de directives afin d'accompagner la recherche menée en son sein. Celles-ci offrent un cadre règlementaire général à toutes recherches menées à l'UNIL.

Suivez nous:    

Le saviez-vous ?

Depuis octobre 2017il est obligatoire d’inclure un Plan de gestion des données (DMP) avec chaque demande de fonds adressée au FNS.

 

Partagez:
Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 81