Welcome to the School of Biology

Word of the Direction

Welcome to the website of the School of Biology of the Faculty of Biology and Medicine of the University of Lausanne! Whether you are a future student, student or teacher, you will find all the useful information you need about the content of our study programs, the rules, the conditions for success, and much more.

 

Studying biology is above all about being curious to discover how organisms function, interact and evolve. But it also means preparing to have an impact on the world: understanding living organisms is essential to take care of ourselves and our environment. Citizens trained in biology have and will have to face increasingly complex challenges, since they contribute, among other things, to the development of precision medicine, the management of climate change, and rapid technological progress.

 

The School of Biology offers one Bachelor and three Master programs to passionate students who want to prepare for their future. During their training, students acquire a broad scientific knowledge of how living organisms work at all levels of their organization: from molecules to organisms in their ecosystems, now and in their long evolution. Our programs give an important place to field or laboratory practice, as well as a quantitative approach to biology. Optional courses offer the possibility of multidisciplinary training, while the 3rd year of the Bachelor opens the door to mobility and academic exchanges. Last but not least, students learn to work in teams, communicate in French and English, cultivate their curiosity, analytical and critical thinking, and acquire the abilities to learn independently.

 

Citizens with an understanding of biology are an asset to our society, even in non-biological professions. Our graduates have a wide range of professional opportunities related or not to biology, in fields as varied as research, teaching, administration, industry, communication, intellectual property or politics.

 

We wish you a very pleasant visit on our website and remain at your disposal for any further information.

 

Liliane Michalik, Director

Angela Ciuffi, Vice-director

presentation_EB1stpage_small_4.png

 

AmphipĂ´le - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tel. +41 21 692 40 10
Fax +41 21 692 40 05

Bienvenue à l'Ecole de biologie

Mot de la direction

Bienvenue sur le site internet de l’Ecole de biologie de la Faculté de biologie et de médecine de l’Université de Lausanne ! Que vous soyez futur·e·s étudiant·e·s, étudiant·e·s ou enseignant·e·s, vous y trouverez toutes les informations utiles concernant le contenu de nos programmes d’étude, les règlements, les conditions de réussite, et plus encore.


Etudier la biologie, c’est avant tout être curieux de découvrir comment fonctionnent, interagissent et évoluent des formes de vie très diverses. Mais c’est aussi se préparer à avoir un impact sur le monde : comprendre les êtres vivants est essentiel pour prendre soin de nous-mêmes et de notre environnement. Les citoyen·ne·s formé·e·s en biologie ont et auront à relever des défis de plus en plus complexes, puisqu’elles et ils contribuent, entre autres, à l’essor de la médecine de précision, à la gestion du changement climatique, et aux progrès rapides en matière de technologies.

 

L’Ecole de biologie propose un programme de Bachelor (Baccalauréat universitaire) et trois programmes de Master (Maîtrise universitaire) à des étudiant·e·s passionné·e·s et désireux·ses de bien préparer leur avenir. Pendant leur formation, les étudiant·e·s acquièrent des connaissances solides sur le fonctionnement des êtres vivants à toutes les échelles de leur organisation : des molécules aux organismes dans leurs écosystèmes, aujourd’hui et pendant leur longue évolution. Nos programmes accordent une place importante à la pratique de terrain ou de laboratoire, ainsi qu’à une approche quantitative de la biologie. Les enseignements optionnels offrent la possibilité d’effectuer une formation pluridisciplinaire, tandis que la 3e année de Bachelor ouvre la porte à la mobilité et aux échanges universitaires. Enfin - et peut-être surtout - les étudiant·e·s apprennent à travailler en équipe, à communiquer en français et en anglais, et elles et ils cultivent leur curiosité, leur esprit analytique et critique, et leur autonomie dans l’apprentissage.

 

Etre formé en biologie est un atout pour notre société, même dans des professions « non-biologiques ». Nos diplômé·e·s ont une large palette de débouchés professionnels liés ou non à la biologie, dans des domaines aussi variés que la recherche, l’enseignement, l’administration, l’industrie, la communication, la propriété intellectuelle ou la politique.


Nous vous souhaitons une très bonne visite sur notre site et restons à votre disposition pour toute information complémentaire.

 

Liliane Michalik, Directrice

Angela Ciuffi, Vice-directrice

presentation_EB1stpage_small_4.png

 

Partagez:
Amphipôle - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 40 10
Fax +41 21 692 40 05