Strategy and Organization

Strategy is an important cornerstone in the management of any organization, be it public or private. Strategic management allows instilling a common narrative within an organization, to define overarching goals and objectives, and to lay out a plan on how to move towards these goals. As such, strategies give organizations and its members purpose and direction. However, the contents of strategies in public organizations are often different from private organizations, as the former are embedded in a political context with many different stakeholders and since their key goal is not to increase profit but to work towards the common good. This warrants a separate stream of research on strategy in the public sector.

Closely linked to strategic management is the question of how to best structure a given organization. Organization in the public sector has long been strictly hierarchical with a clear distribution of powers. However, these long-standing patterns recently have begun to change and more agile, flat or non-hierarchical forms of organization are becoming more popular. This development is of course also reflected in current Public Management research, even though many gaps in research still remain.

Our research unit “Strategy and Organization” investigates various topical aspects of these themes such as Open Strategy, Agile Government, Innovation, Behavioral Economics / Behavioral Public Administration and Nudge Theory, and Artificial Intelligence. Thereby, our specific focus is on organizations of the public sector as well as on parapublic organizations and state-owned enterprises. We seek to transfer the insights from our research into practice in Switzerland through publications, consulting activities, presentations and through our personal networks.

Follow us:        

Unit director

Reference.png

Prof. Oliver Neumann
Quartier UNIL-Mouline
Bâtiment IDHEAP
CH-1015 Lausanne
+41 21 692 69 20
+41 76 749 72 60
oliver.neumann@unil.ch

Unisciences Link

Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09

Stratégie et organisation

La stratégie est un élément clé dans le management de toute organisation, qu'elle soit publique ou privée. Le management stratégique permet d'installer un récit commun au sein d'une organisation, de définir des buts et des objectifs globaux, et d'établir un plan sur la manière d'atteindre ces buts. Ainsi, les stratégies donnent aux organisations et à leurs membres un but et une orientation. Cependant, le contenu des stratégies dans les organisations publiques est souvent différent de celui des organisations privées. En effet, les organisations publiques sont ancrées dans un contexte politique avec de nombreuses parties prenantes et leur objectif principal est plutôt de travailler pour le bien commun que d'augmenter le profit. Cela justifie un courant de recherche distinct sur la stratégie dans le secteur public.

La question de savoir comment structurer au mieux une organisation est étroitement liée au management stratégique. L'organisation dans le secteur public a longtemps été strictement hiérarchique, avec une répartition claire des pouvoirs. Toutefois, ces schémas anciens ont récemment commencé à changer et des formes d'organisation plus agiles, plates ou non hiérarchiques deviennent de plus en plus populaires. Cette évolution se reflète bien sûr aussi dans les recherches actuelles sur le management public, même si de nombreuses lacunes subsistent encore dans ce domaine.

Notre unité de recherche "Stratégie et organisation" étudie divers aspects d'actualité tels que la stratégie ouverte, le gouvernement agile, l'innovation, l'économie comportementale/l'administration publique comportementale et la théorie du nudge, et l'intelligence artificielle. Ainsi, nous nous concentrons spécifiquement sur les organisations du secteur public ainsi que sur les organisations parapubliques et les entreprises publiques. Nous cherchons à transférer les connaissances issues de nos recherches dans la pratique en Suisse par le biais de publications, d'activités de conseil, de présentations et de nos réseaux personnels.

Suivez nous:        

Responsable de l'unité

Reference.png

Prof. Oliver Neumann
Quartier UNIL-Mouline
Bâtiment IDHEAP
CH-1015 Lausanne
+41 21 692 69 20
+41 76 749 72 60
oliver.neumann@unil.ch

Pages Unisciences

Partagez:
Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09