Elites académiques en Suisse 1910-2000 : Entre autonomie et pouvoir

Principal investigator : Felix Bühlmann ; Co-investigators : André Mach and Thomas David
Project staff: Thierry Rossier, Steven Piguet, Marion Beetschen, Pierre Benz
Duration: 2013 – 2016                                                                                    

Link to the SNF page

Abstract

This research project aims to understand the evolution of the Swiss academic elites in the 20th century. During this period the modern university became increasingly autonomous, grew in terms of number of students and staff, specialised more and more in research, came under managerialist pressures, experienced an internationalisation and saw its staff being feminized.

Informed by these developments our project will address the two following research questions:

  1. Which are the resources typically owned by the academic elite, the processes of acquisition of these resources and their distribution within the academic field.
  2. What are the relations of academic elites to other fields (political, economic, and administrative) and how have these relations evolved during the 20th century?

To address these two points of inquiry we will draw on a historical sample of Swiss university professors. Building on an already existing data base on economic, political and administrative elites, at five benchmarks (1910, 1937, 1957, 1980 and 2000) we will collect data on relevant resources of all full professors: scientific reputation, institutional positions, social networks, international experiences and educational credentials. On a first level this will allow us to identify the general evolution of relevant resources and their distribution within the field of academic elites. On a second level we will collect more detailed data for three power related disciplines: engineering, law and economics.

These two data sets will analysed by an innovative combination of methods: a network analysis of participation in relevant meeting places (extra-parliamentary commissions, boards of directors, economic interest associations) will allow us to study the formal links of academic disciplines to politics, business and the administration. Sequence analysis will be used to scrutinize academic careers, the connections to other fields of power these careers create and the varying degree of internationality of academic trajectories. Finally, multiple correspondence analysis will allow us to understand the distribution of resources and draw a picture of the structures of the academic field.

For the first time in Switzerland, this project focussing on academic elites will overcome the particularistic studies of single universities or scientific disciplines. Second, its coverage of the whole 20th century will allow us to understand the evolution of the academic elite in the “long durée” and overcome the limitations of narrowly focused case studies. Third, we will be able to link the academic elite to leading actors in the political, administrative and economic sphere and thus to better contextualise the development of this group.

Follow us:

Elites académiques en Suisse 1910-2000 : Entre autonomie et pouvoir

Requérant principal : Félix Bühlmann ; Corequérants : André Mach et Thomas David
Equipe du projet : Thierry Rossier, Steven Piguet, Marion Beetschen, Pierre Benz
Durée du projet : 2013-2016

Lien à la page FNS

Résumé du projet

Ce projet de recherche a pour objectif de comprendre l’évolution des élites académiques suisses au 20e siècle. Tout au long de cette période, l’université moderne est devenue fortement autonome. Elle aussi a vu croître le nombre de ses étudiants et du personnel académique. Elle s’est de plus en plus spécialisée dans la recherche. Elle a également subi des pressions managériales. Elle s’est internationalisée. Enfin, elle a connu une progressive féminisation.

En nous basant sur ces constats, notre projet abordera les deux questions de recherche suivantes :

  1. Quelles sont les ressources détenues spécifiquement par les élites académiques, le processus d’acquisition de ces dernières et leur distribution au sein du champ académique ?
  2. Quelles sont les relations entre le champ académique et les autres champs (politique, économique et administratif) et de quelle manière ces relations ont-elles évolué durant le 20e siècle ?

Afin d’aborder ces deux axes de questionnement, nous avons puisé dans un échantillon historique des professeurs des Universités suisses. Construit à partir d’une base déjà existante consacrée aux élites économiques, politiques et administratives à cinq dates (1910, 1937, 1957, 1980 et 2000), nous avons collecté des données relatives à certaines propriétés pour tous les professeurs ordinaires et extraordinaires : réputation scientifique, positions institutionnelles, réseaux sociaux, expériences internationales et parcours scolaires. Dans un premier temps, cela nous permettra d’identifier l’évolution générale de ces ressources et leur distribution au sein du champ des élites académiques. Dans un second temps, nous collecterons des données plus détaillées sur trois disciplines en lien avec le pouvoir : le droit, les sciences économiques et les sciences de la vie.

Ces deux ensembles de données seront analysés grâce à une combinaison innovante de méthodes : une analyse de réseau de la participation au sein de lieux de rencontre significatifs. L’analyse de séquences sera utilisée pour examiner les carrières académiques, les connexions avec les autres champs de pouvoir que ces carrières peuvent engendrer et la variabilité du degré d’internationalisation des trajectoires académiques. Enfin, l’analyse des correspondances multiples nous permettra de comprendre la distribution des ressources et dressera une image des structures du champ académique.

Pour la première fois en Suisse, ce projet focalisé sur les élites académiques permettra de dépasser les études centrées sur une seule université ou discipline scientifique. De plus, le fait de couvrir l’ensemble du 20e siècle nous permettra de comprendre l’évolution des élites académiques sur la longue durée et d’outrepasser les limites des études focalisées sur une période restreinte. Enfin, nous serons capables de mettre en lien les élites académiques et les leaders des sphères politique, économique et administative et ainsi mieux conceptualiser le développement de ce groupe.

Suivez nous:    
Partagez:
CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 22 00
Fax +41 21 692 22 11