Master of Science (MSc) in Sustainable Management & Technology

General content

The Master of Science in Sustainable Management and Technology (MSc SMT) aims at equipping the entrepreneurs and intrapreneurs of the future with the knowledge and skills enabling them to steer the transition toward a more resilient, environmentally responsible and inclusive economy while harnessing the power of technology.

The program’s target is building competences along three dimensions: technology & innovation, economics & management, tools & skills for developing sustainable solutions. The SMT Master program is unique and totally innovative in that it focuses on all the three dimensions simultaneously and in a balanced manner.

The SMT Master program is intended for holders of a bachelor degree with little or no professional experience and it is meant to bring together students with either a management/economics background or an engineering background.
While it builds on theory and real-life applications, the program is committed to enhance personal and social skills by encouraging interdisciplinary team work on practical projects and by systematically mixing students of different profiles.
The formal course work and team projects are completed and enriched by lectures and workshops with experts from industry.

Practical information

Organiser
The SMT Master is a joint program offered by UNIL-HEC, IMD and EPFL, on behalf of Enterprise for Society (E4S).

Degree awarded
Master of Science (MSc) in Sustainable Management & Technology

ECTS credits
120

Duration
4 semesters

Teaching language
English. Recommended level : C1.

Admission requirements
Candidates with a management/economics profile should make proof of a strong achievement record in courses related to data science and quantitative methods (e.g. probability and statistics, econometrics, machine learning, etc.), while candidates with an engineering profile should make proof of a strong achievement record in courses related to economic and management reasoning and modelling.

Enrolment and final dates
Candidates should apply on the EPFL online application platform until 15th April 2021.
The admission is based on the quality of application : excellent academic record, relevance of the Bachelor’s degree and motivation of the candidate (i.e. proven interest in topics related to sustainable management and technology). Successful candidates will be officially registered at EPFL with access to facilities on the UNIL and EPFL campuses. A number of activities will also be organized on the IMD campus.

Admission criteria

​​​​​​​More information
Enterprise for Society (E4S)

Career prospects

The SMT master program trains the next generation of entrepreneurs and intrapreneurs to conduct business for the benefit of their organizations, the environment and society in general.
Graduates will be able to lead teams in multiple disciplines and solve complex problems in different organizations (corporations, startups, NGOs, governments).
They will also be ready to take non-traditional positions and pursue their ideas as entrepreneurs, by integrating sustainability largely defined in their core activities.

Follow us:          

Interested? Download the full presentation!

vignette-sustainable-management.jpg
Version: February 2021

Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 11 11
Fax +41 21 692 20 15

Maîtrise universitaire ès Sciences en management durable et technologie

Page en construction. Consultez la version anglaise!

Présentation générale

La Maîtrise universitaire ès Sciences en management durable et technologie (MSc SMT) vise à doter les entrepreneurs et intrapreneurs du futur des connaissances et compétences qui leur permettront de piloter la transition vers une économie plus résiliente, respectueuse de l’environnement et inclusive, tout en exploitant la puissance de la technologie.

Le programme a pour objectif de développer des compétences dans trois dimensions: technologie et innovation; économie et management; outils et savoir-faire pour le développement de solutions durables. Le programme de Maîtrise universitaire SMT est unique et totalement novateur puisqu’il se concentre simultanément et de manière équilibrée sur ces trois dimensions.

Le programme de Maîtrise universitaire SMT est destiné aux titulaires d’un diplôme de Baccalauréat universitaire ayant peu ou pas d’expérience professionnelle. Il est conçu pour réunir des étudiants ayant une formation en management/économie ou en ingénierie. Tout en s’appuyant sur la théorie et des applications concrètes, le programme a pour mission de renforcer les compétences personnelles et sociales en encourageant les travaux en équipes interdisciplinaires sur des projets pratiques et en mélangeant systématiquement des étudiants aux profils différents. Les cours formels et les projets en équipes sont complétés et enrichis par des conférences et des ateliers avec des experts de l’industrie.

Informations utiles

Organisateur
Le Master SMT est un programme issu du centre Enterprise for Society (E4S) et offert conjointement par la Faculté des HEC de l'UNIL, l'EPFL et l'IMD.

Grade décerné
Maîtrise universitaire ès Sciences en management durable & technologie
Master of Science (MSc) in Sustainable Management & Technology

Crédits ECTS
120

Durée
4 semestres

Langue d'enseignement
Anglais. Niveau recommandé: C1

Conditions d'admission
Les candidats ayant un profil de management/économie devront justifier d’excellents résultats dans une matière associée aux sciences des données et aux méthodes quantitatives (par exemple: probabilité et statistiques, économétrie, machine learning, etc.), tandis que ceux ayant un profil d'ingénieur devront faire la preuve de leur maîtrise de disciplines liées au raisonnement et à la modélisation en économie et en management.

Inscription
Les candidats doivent s’inscrire sur la plateforme en ligne de l’EPFL avant le 15 avril 2021.
 

L’admission est basée sur la qualité de la candidature: excellent dossier universitaire, pertinence du diplôme de Baccalauréat universitaire et motivation du candidat (intérêt démontré pour des sujets liés à la technologie et au management durable). Les candidats retenus seront officiellement inscrits à l’EPFL et auront accès aux installations des campus de l’UNIL et de l’EPFL. Un certain nombre d’activités seront également organisées sur le campus de l’IMD.
 

Critères d'admission
 

Autres informations
Enterprise for Society (E4S)

Perspectives professionnelles

Le Master SMT forme la prochaine génération d'entrepreneur·e·s et intrapreneur·e·s à conduire des affaires pour le bénéfice de leurs organisations, de l'environnement et de la société en général.

Les diplômé·e·s seront aptes à diriger des équipes dans de multiples disciplines et à résoudre des problèmes complexes dans des organisations variées (entreprises, startups, ONGs, gouvernements).
Elles et ils seront aussi prêt·e·s à assumer des fonctions non traditionnelles et à poursuivre leurs idées en tant qu'entrepreneur·e·s, en intégrant la durabilité au sens large dans leurs activités.

Sous réserve de modifications. Seuls les textes règlementaires font foi.
Dernière modification: 7 septembre 2021

Suivez nous:          

Pour en savoir plus... téléchargez la fiche complète!

vignette-sustainable-management.jpg
Version: février 2021

Partagez: