Liliane Michalik - Vice Rector "Equality, Diversity and Careers"

Portrait | Contact
 

Portrait

Asked to introduce herself, Liliane Michalik says, "I’m a biologist," and then goes on to describe her career at UNIL since 1994, from junior lecturer to lecturer, senior lecturer, professor (in 2018) and now vice-rector. Her research focuses on a question associated with preventing cancer, namely: “How our skin cells respond to attacks, such as UV damage, for example." The course she has retained in the Faculty of Biology and Medicine covers embryonic development in animals. If you ask her which ones, she replies, “All of them... and embryology in birds is a lot like embryology in humans."

"I thought hard before I accepted Frédéric Herman’s wonderful offer, because I was really enjoying my role as the head of the School of Biology. I accepted because I share his vision of UNIL as a place where everyone can flourish, the emphasis placed on career development and the commitment to quality as a shared enterprise across the board." Liliane Michalik is keen to use her department’s precious resources to support career development. That includes careers guidance for young people and anyone with an interest in studying before they join UNIL, and then supporting students during their studies and as they transition into employment.

"Inspiration is also key for our future graduates" and achieved by creating events, offering to put them in contact with alumni in Switzerland and abroad, and building relationships with local companies and entrepreneurs in the region. “Because members of our community can be drivers for change in our society, encouraging entrepreneurship and social and/or technological innovation is a priority not only for researchers but also students, and administrative and technical staff," explains the vice-rector. It is all about stimulating ideas and the desire to lead or support projects, or join forces with existing groups, without everyone wanting to become entrepreneurs themselves. “We are motivated by creating a dynamic that will be useful to our graduates, regardless of their future activities."

This work is being done with the Research department (for the next generation of academics) and Human Resources. "We are currently developing an initiative for our 2020-2021 graduates who have been hit by the current crisis, which is about looking beyond internships and creating opportunities for people to have their first professional experience," she comments.

The cross-cutting theme of women’s careers is also essential. "We currently have 27% female professors and are aiming for parity," comments the vice-rector, who is using international and swissuniversities guidelines to work on the crucial issue of recruitment with the deans’ offices. Among other cross-cutting issues, she cites the project underway with the Human Resources department to improve efforts to combat assaults. "We are rethinking the whole system from the ground up to ensure it is more effective. We’ll be working on communications, prevention, developing training and better case management with a single number to call, to support all members of the UNIL community, alongside a multidisciplinary unit covering psychosocial, legal and practical aspects." The idea is to respond to all requests and identify them properly to help people, regardless of the situation – conflict at work, sexism or other difficulties, which are too often met with a wall of silence.

Finally, the quality procedure, which was assessed in 2020, allowed UNIL to be accredited unconditionally by the federal body. Liliane Michalik wants to move in the recommended direction of a less complex process, but above all, hopes that the quality procedure will be even more clearly identified as an asset, a valuable opportunity for reflection and a means of improving as a community in all areas.

Contact

Université de Lausanne
UNIL - Centre
Unicentre - room 326
CH-1015 Lausanne
Phone ++41 (0)21 692 2044
Follow us:              

Vice-rectrice Liliane Michalik

Liliane Michalik, Vice Rector "Equality, Diversity and Careers"

Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 11 11
Fax +41 21 692 26 15

Liliane Michalik - Vice-rectrice "Egalité, diversité et carrières"

Portrait | Contact
 

Portrait

Quand on lui demande de se présenter, elle dit: "Je suis biologiste", avant de décrire son parcours à l'UNIL depuis 1994 comme première assistante, puis maître-assistante, MER, professeure en 2018, vice-rectrice aujourd'hui. Ses recherches s'intéressent à une question associée à la lutte contre le cancer: "Comment les cellules de notre peau répondent aux agressions, comme celles des UV par exemple." Le cours qu'elle a conservé à la Faculté de biologie et de médecine porte sur le développement embryonnaire des animaux. On lui demande lesquels: "Tous… et l'embryologie des oiseaux ressemble beaucoup à l'embryologie humaine."

"J'ai réfléchi avant d'accepter la magnifique proposition de Frédéric Herman, car je dirigeais avec beaucoup d'intérêt l'Ecole de biologie; j'ai accepté parce que je partage sa vision d'une UNIL propice à l'épanouissement de chacune et chacun, l'accent porté sur le développement des carrières et l'attachement à la qualité bâtie collectivement dans tous les domaines. Liliane Michalik souhaite s'appuyer sur les précieuses ressources que comprend son dicastère pour soutenir le développement des carrières. Cela passe par l'orientation des jeunes et de toute personne intéressée par les études avant l'entrée à l'UNIL, puis par l'accompagnement des étudiantes et étudiants pendant leurs études et leur transition vers l'emploi.

"L'inspiration est clé aussi pour nos futurs diplômées et diplômés", grâce à la création d'événements, à une offre de contacts avec les alumni en Suisse et à l'étranger, et à la multiplication de relations avec les sociétés locales et les entrepreneurs et entrepreneuses de la région. "Parce que les membres de notre communauté peuvent être des moteurs de changement pour notre société, donner l'impulsion à l'esprit d'entreprendre et à l'innovation sociale et/ou technologique est une priorité, aussi bien chez les chercheurs et chercheuses que chez les étudiantes et étudiants et le personnel administratif et technique", souligne la vice-rectrice. Il s'agit de susciter les idées, l'envie de mener à bien des projets, de les porter ou de se joindre à des groupes existants, sans vouloir tous devenir entrepreneurs. "Nous sommes motivés par la création d'une dynamique, utile à nos diplômés et diplômées quelles que soient leurs futures activités."

Ce travail s'effectue avec les dicastères Recherche (pour la relève) et Ressources humaines. "Nous développons en ce moment une action pour les diplômées et diplômés 2020-2021, frappés par la crise actuelle; il s'agit d'aller au-delà du stage, de susciter de premières expériences professionnelles", décrit-elle.

La thématique des carrières féminines est elle aussi essentielle et transversale. "Nous en sommes à 27% de professeures et visons la parité", esquisse la vice-rectrice, qui s'appuie notamment sur des guide lines internationaux et swissuniversities pour travailler sur la question cruciale des recrutements avec les décanats. Sur les dossiers transversaux, elle cite aussi le chantier ouvert avec le dicastère RH pour améliorer le dispositif de lutte contre les atteintes à la personne. "Nous mettons tout le système à plat pour qu'il soit plus efficace, nous allons travailler sur la communication, la prévention, développer des formations et mieux gérer les cas à travers un numéro d'appel unique au service de l'ensemble des membres de la communauté UNIL, et une cellule d'accueil pluridisciplinaire qui intégrera les aspects psycho-sociaux, juridiques, pratiques. L'idée est de prendre en compte toutes les demandes, de bien les identifier pour aider les personnes, quelle que soit la situation, conflit de travail, sexisme ou autres souffrances qui se heurtent encore trop souvent au silence.

Enfin, évaluée en 2020, sa démarche qualité a permis à l'UNIL d'être accréditée sans condition par l'instance fédérale. Liliane Michalik veut aller dans le sens recommandé d'un allègement du processus, mais souhaite surtout que la démarche qualité soit encore mieux identifiée comme un atout, un moment privilégié de réflexion et un moyen de s'améliorer collectivement dans tous les domaines.

Contact

Université de Lausanne
UNIL - Centre
Unicentre - bureau 326
CH-1015 Lausanne
Tél. ++41 (0)21 692 2044
Suivez nous:              

Vice-rectrice Liliane Michalik

Liliane Michalik, Vice-rectrice "Egalité, diversité et carrières"

Partagez: