Participants

| Who can sign up? | What to expect? | Sign up now! | Step-by-step guide to participating in experiments
 

Photo participants-crop3245x1723.jpg

To conduct top-level research, we are continuously looking for highly committed participants who will take on a serious approach towards the experiments they will be part of. Taking part in behavioral experiments is not only a fun way of getting involved with our research but is also a means to earning some money!

Who can sign up?

  • Anyone over the age of 18 can sign up to participate in LABEX experiments
  • No previous knowledge of economics is required
  • Very good knowledge of either French or English is required - the experiments are conducted in either of the two languages

What to expect?

Our studies vary from simple online surveys to role-playing games, completing tasks on a computer, through an app or taking physiological measurements. You will have to take decisions or participate in games, either on a computer, in a group setting or in virtual reality. Remember that these are experiments and not exams, so there are no right or wrong answers. Researchers are most interested in your behavior and decisions.

The length of each study varies from a few minutes to more than two hours. Most experiments take place between 08:00 and 19:00 at the LABEX facilities at UNIL-Chamberonne, in the basement of the Internef building.

The hourly remuneration roughly corresponds to an average student wage, although it can vary from a research to another. Most importantly, one should note that being a paid participant, you are expected to fulfil the tasks of an experiment as diligently as possible in return.

Sign up now!

To participate in HEC-LABEX experiments, please create your participant profile on the website of our participant database (ORSEE).

Signing up for the participant database does not mean that you will have to participate in experiments.

You will receive invitation e-mails to participate in experiments and that will allow you to sign up for a specific timeslot that best suits you.

If you have any further questions, please consult the FAQ section on the ORSEE website or contact explab@unil.ch.

TOP ^

Step-by-step guide to participating in experiments

Step 1: Create your participant profile on the ORSEE participant database

To participate in HEC-LABEX experiments, please create your participant profile on the ORSEE website. Preferably, use your university e-mail address (unil.ch; epfl.ch; ehl.ch; etc.) or a Gmail address to create your participant profile. In the past, we have had problems to deliver e-mails to certain e-mail providers such as Yahoo or Hotmail.

Step 2: Confirm the creation of your participant profile

Confirm the creation of your participant profile via the link that you will receive by e-mail. If you do not get a confirmation e-mail, please check your spam folder.

Step 3: Get an invitation e-mail to participate in an experiment

Once you have confirmed your ORSEE profile, you will be notified by e-mail whenever we recruit for an experiment that needs participants matching your profile. The invitation e-mail will contain the participation conditions, the experiment dates and hours, the duration, as well as a sign up link that will allow you to register for a specific timeslot.

Step 4: Register for an experiment

If you match the participation conditions, you may register for the experiment on the ORSEE website. Please carefully check your availability for the chosen experiment timeslot as you will not be able to delete your registration.

Step 5: Urgency cancellation of experiment participation

If you have to cancel your enrollment after all, please contact the Lab Coordination Team as early as possible in order to give us enough time to find another participant.

Do not, under any circumstance, arrange a replacement without informing the Lab Coordinator sufficiently in advance. Specific participation criteria need to be met that you might not be aware of and that could bias the experiment results, if not met.

Step 6: Get a reminder e-mail for your experiment registration

The day before you take part in an experiment you registered for, you will receive an e-mail reminding you of the meeting point as well as the timeslot you are enrolled in.

Step 7: Attend the experiment timeslot

Please make sure to arrive at the meeting point no later than on the indicated session time and do not forget to bring your ID or student ID along. If you arrive late, experimenters are allowed to turn you away without payment.

Step 8: Get informed about the experiment and sign the consent form

The experimenter will give you a brief explanation of what you will need to do during the experiment as well as inform you about your remuneration. Before starting the experiment, you will have to sign a consent form.

Be aware that you can stop your participation at any moment without having to justify your decision.

Step 9: Collect the payment

After completion of the experiment, you may collect the payment from the experimenter. You will have to sign a payment receipt. The information given on the consent form and on the payment form will not be linked to your experiment data.

Please be aware that the payment can only be collected by participants who are carrying a valid student ID or ID card.

TOP ^

The above step-by-step guide applies to standard lab experiments. Be aware that there are also other types of experiments, such as online questionnaires and experiments using an app, to collect data. Additionally, certain experiments require a screener survey before inviting matching participants to lab sessions. The participation modalities are always specified in the invitation e-mails, so please read them as carefully as possible.

TOP ^

Follow us:  
EFMD EQUIS Accredited Association of MBAs (AMBA) Business School Impact System (BSIS) Quantitative Techniques for Economics & Management (QTEM)

Participant·e·s

| Qui peut s’inscrire? | À quoi s’attendre ? | Inscrivez-vous maintenant! | Guide pas-à-pas pour participer aux expériences
 

Photo participants-crop3245x1723.jpg

Afin de mener des recherches de qualité, nous sommes continuellement en quête de participants très engagés qui prendront au sérieux les expériences auxquelles ils participeront. Prendre part aux expériences comportementales permet non seulement de s’investir dans nos recherches de façon ludique mais également de gagner de l’argent !

Qui peut s’inscrire?

  • Toute personne âgée de plus de 18 ans peut s’inscrire pour participer aux expériences du LABEX.

  • Aucune connaissance préalable en sciences économiques n’est requise.

  • Une excellente connaissance du français ou de l’anglais est requise car les expériences sont menées dans une des deux langues.

À quoi s’attendre ?

Nos études varient de simples questionnaires en ligne à des jeux de rôle, en passant par diverses tâches sur un ordinateur, des applications ou même des prises de mesures physiologiques. Vous serez amenés à prendre des décisions soit sur un ordinateur, dans un groupe ou dans le monde de la réalité virtuelle. Rappelez-vous que ces expériences ne sont pas des examens ; il n’y a donc pas de bonnes ou mauvaises réponses. Les chercheurs sont davantage intéressés par votre comportement et vos décisions.

Les études peuvent durer de quelques minutes à plus de deux heures. La plupart des expériences ont lieu entre 08:00 et 19:00 dans les locaux du LABEX à UNIL-Chamberonne, dans le sous-sol du bâtiment Internef.

La compensation par heure correspond à peu près à un salaire étudiant moyen, bien que cela puisse varier d’une recherche à une autre. Il est surtout important de noter qu’étant donné que vous êtes rémunéré, nous attendons de vous que vous accomplissiez les tâches demandées le plus consciencieusement possible en contrepartie.

TOP ^

Inscrivez-vous maintenant!

Pour participer aux expériences HEC-LABEX, vous devez tout d’abord créer votre profil de participant sur notre portail d’inscriptions (ORSEE) aux expériences comportementales.

L’inscription à la base de données des participants ne signifie pas que vous devez participer aux expériences. Vous recevrez des emails vous invitant à participer à des expériences et qui vous permettront de vous inscrire à une plage horaire spécifique qui vous conviendra le mieux.

Si vous avez d’autres questions, veuillez consulter la section FAQ sur le site web ORSEE ou contactez explab@unil.ch.

TOP ^

Guide pas-à-pas pour participer aux expériences

Étape 1: Créez votre profil de participant sur la base de données ORSEE

Créez votre profil de participant sur la base de données ORSEE. Utilisez de préférence l’adresse mail de votre université (unil.ch ; epfl.ch ; ehl.ch ; etc.) ou une adresse Gmail. Par le passé, nous avons rencontré des problèmes d’envoi à certaines boites mails, telles que Yahoo ou Hotmail.

Étape 2: Confirmez la création de votre profil de participant

Confirmez la création de votre profil de participant via le lien que vous recevrez par e-mail. Si vous ne recevez aucun mail de confirmation, consultez votre dossier spam.

Étape 3: Recevez un mail d'invitation pour participer aux expériences

Une fois que votre profil ORSEE est confirmé, vous recevrez une notification par e-mail à chaque fois que nous recrutons des participants qui correspondent à votre profil. Le mail d’invitation contiendra les conditions de participation, les dates et les heures de l’expérience, la durée ainsi qu’un lien d’inscription qui vous permettra de vous enregistrer à un horaire spécifique.

Étape 4: Inscrivez-vous pour une expérience

Si vous correspondez aux conditions de participation, vous pouvez alors vous enregistrer pour l’expérience sur le site web ORSEE. Veuillez vérifier attentivement vos disponibilités pour la période choisie étant donné que vous ne pourrez pas supprimer votre inscription.

Étape 5: Annulation d'urgence de votre inscription

Si vous devez tout de même annuler votre inscription, veuillez s’il-vous-plaît contacter l’équipe de Coordination du Laboratoire le plus vite possible afin de nous laisser suffisamment de temps pour trouver un autre participant.

Veuillez en aucun cas envoyer quelqu’un d'autre à votre place sans informer l'équipe de coordination du laboratoire suffisamment de temps en avance. L’expérience pourrait requérir des critères de participation dont vous n’avez pas connaissance, et qui pourraient fausser les résultats s’ils ne sont pas respectés.

Étape 6: Recevez un rappel pour votre participantion à l'expérience

Le jour précédant une expérience à laquelle vous allez participer, vous recevrez un mail vous rappelant le point de rendez-vous ainsi que l’horaire que vous avez choisi.

Étape 7: Rendez-vous au point de rencontre de l'expérience

Assurez-vous d’arriver au point de rendez-vous au plus tard à l’heure indiquée de la session et n’oubliez pas de prendre votre carte d’identité ou votre carte d’étudiant avec vous. Si vous arrivez en retard, les chercheurs peuvent vous renvoyer sans rémunération.

Étape 8: Recevez des information sur l'expérience et signez le formulaire de consentement

Le chercheur vous donnera une brève explication sur ce que vous aurez à faire durant l’expérience et vous informera à propos de votre rémunération. Avant le début de l’expérience, vous devrez signer un formulaire de consentement.

Veuillez noter que vous avez la possibilité d’interrompre votre participation à l’expérience à tout moment sans avoir à justifier votre décision.

Étape 9: Retirez votre compensation

Après avoir terminé l’expérience, vous pourrez aller retirer votre compensation auprès du chercheur et devrez signer un formulaire de paiement. L’information donnée sur les formulaires de consentement et de paiement ne sera pas liée à vos données expérimentales.

Veuillez prendre note que seules les personnes munies de leur carte d’étudiant ou d’une pièce d’identité en cours de validité percevront un dédommagement.

TOP ^

Le guide pas-à-pas ci-dessus s’applique aux expériences standards en laboratoire. Veuillez noter qu’il existe également d’autres types d’expériences qui collectent des données, tels que les questionnaires en ligne et les expériences qui utilisent une application. De plus, certaines expériences requièrent une enquête de filtrage avant d’inviter les participants correspondants aux sessions en laboratoire. Les modalités de participation sont toujours spécifiées dans les mails d’invitation ; veillez à les lire le plus attentivement possible.

TOP ^

Partagez:
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg