FAQ

dreamstime_xxl_faq_cropped.jpg

What is the LABEX?

The LABEX is a behavioral research laboratory of HEC Lausanne, University of Lausanne. With its excellent infrastructure consisting of eight laboratories, the LABEX allows researchers to study the complex interactions between individuals systematically, under controlled conditions and in various environments.

Who can use the LABEX facilities?

All HEC researchers are allowed to use the LABEX facilities for experiments with human participants. The facilities can however only be accessed upon reservation with the Lab Coordinator.

PhD students are also allowed to use the LABEX facilities, but need the agreement of their responsible professor to do so.

Where do I find information on the availability of the labs?

On the access restricted part of the LABEX Website you will find the Experiment Calendar indicating all bookings and pre-bookings of the labs (to log in to the access restricted part of the website go to Home > on the right side of the page you will find a login link).

Get in touch with the Lab Coordinator to pre-book an experiment timeslot.

TOP ^

What happens if there are no more timeslots left for my experiment?

The lab timeslots are assigned according to a first come, first served principle.

In case of conflict, priority is given to PhD students who are in their final year as well as to researchers who have a research fund that is soon to expire. If you are part of these priority groups, please immediately get in touch with the Lab Coordinator.

If you would like to run an experiment during the upcoming semester, but your desired lab is already entirely booked, nevertheless get in touch with the Lab Coordinator to inform her about your project. In case of project cancellations, a timeslot for your experiment might open up during the semester.

TOP ^

What conditions need to be met to run an experiment?

Before running any experiment with human participation, regardless of where (LABEX, Field or Online) and with whom (ORSEE vs. Non-ORSEE participants), an ethical, a financial, and a logistical submission need to be filled in by the researcher and approved by the relevant bodies. This means that the experiment has to:

  1. comply with HEC’s ethics standards;
  2. have enough budget available to pay participants;
  3. be logistically feasible.

To conduct an experiment in the LABEX facilities, a pre-reservation of the lab is necessary to make sure that the required lab will be available during the desired timeslot.

Detailed information with regards to the submission forms as well as on the pre-reservation of the labs can be found on the access restricted part of the LABEX website (to log in to the access restricted part of the website go to Home > on the right side of the page you will find a login button).

TOP ^

How long does the pre-experiment procedure take?

For lab experiments, you have to start the pre-experiment procedure four weeks before launching the experiment at the latest.

For online experiments, the pre-experiment procedure may be shorter in some cases. The approval of the Ethics Committee and Financial Services does however take minimum one week for each organ to process.

Detailed information with regards to submission deadlines can be found on the access restricted part of the LABEX website (to log in to the access restricted part of the website go to Home > on the right side of the page you will find a login button).

TOP ^

Where and how do I get research funds to run my experiment?

You will find detailed information on where and how to find funding opportunities for your experimental research on the HEC Lausanne website.

TOP ^

Follow us:  
EFMD EQUIS Accredited Association of MBAs (AMBA) Business School Impact System (BSIS) Quantitative Techniques for Economics & Management (QTEM)

FAQ

dreamstime_xxl_faq_cropped.jpg

Qu’est-ce que le LABEX ?

Le LABEX est un laboratoire de recherche comportementale de la Faculté des HEC de l’Université de Lausanne. De par son excellente infrastructure constituée de huit laboratoires, le LABEX permet aux chercheurs d’étudier systématiquement les interactions complexes entre individus dans des conditions contrôlées et dans de nombreux environnements.

Qui peut utiliser les infrastructures du LABEX ?

Tous les chercheurs de la faculté sont autorisés à utiliser les infrastructures du LABEX pour des expériences avec une participation humaine. Cependant, les locaux ne sont accessibles que sur réservation auprès de la coordinatrice du laboratoire.

Les doctorants sont également autorisés à utiliser les locaux du LABEX ; ils doivent cependant obtenir un accord de leur professeur responsable.

Où puis-je trouver des informations concernant les disponibilités des laboratoires ?

En vous connectant à la partie du site web du LABEX à accès restreint, vous trouverez le calendrier des expériences qui indique toutes les réservations et pré-réservations des laboratoires (pour se connecter à la partie du site web du LABEX à accès restreint, cliquez sur Accueil > sur le côté droit de la page vous trouverez un bouton « login »).

Veuillez entrer en contact avec la coordinatrice du laboratoire afin de pré-réserver une plage horaire pour votre expérience.

TOP ^

Que se passe-t-il s’il n’y a plus de plage horaire disponible pour mon expérience ?

Les créneaux horaires sont assignés selon le principe du « premier venu, premier servi ».

En cas de conflit, la priorité est donnée aux doctorants qui sont dans leur dernière année ainsi qu’aux chercheurs ayant un fond de recherche proche de la date d’expiration. Si vous faites partie de ces groupes prioritaires, veuillez s’il vous plaît entrer immédiatement en contact avec la coordinatrice du laboratoire.

Si vous souhaitez mener une expérience durant le semestre à venir et que le laboratoire que vous désirez est déjà occupé, veuillez tout de même prendre contact avec la coordinatrice du laboratoire afin de l’informer de votre projet. En cas d’annulation d’un projet, il se peut qu’un créneau horaire se libère pour votre expérience durant le semestre.

TOP ^

Quelles sont les conditions pour mener une expérience ?

Avant de mener une expérience avec une participation humaine, peu importe où (LABEX, sur le terrain ou en ligne) et avec qui (participants ORSEE vs. participants Non-ORSEE), une soumission éthique, financière et logistique doivent être remplies par le chercheur et approuvées par les organismes appropriés. Ceci signifie que l’expérience doit :

  1. correspondre aux standards éthiques de la faculté des HEC
  2. avoir un budget suffisant pour payer les participants
  3. être réalisable d’un point de vue logistique

Pour mener une expérience dans les locaux du LABEX, une pré-réservation du laboratoire est nécessaire afin de s’assurer que le laboratoire requis sera disponible durant le créneau horaire désiré.

Des informations détaillées concernant les différents formulaires de soumission ainsi que sur la pré-réservation des laboratoires, peuvent être trouvées dans la partie du site web du LABEX à accès restreint (pour se connecter à la partie du site web du LABEX à accès restreint, cliquez sur Accueil > sur le côté droit de la page vous trouverez un bouton « login »)

TOP ^

Combien de temps dure la procédure de pré-expérience ?

Pour des expériences en laboratoire, il faut commencer la procédure de pré-expérience au plus tard quatre semaines avant le début de l’expérience.

Pour les expériences en ligne, la procédure de pré-expérience peut être plus courte dans certains cas. L’accord du HEC Comité Ethique et du HEC Service Financier prend cependant une semaine au minimum pour chaque organisme.

Des informations détaillées concernant les délais de soumission, peuvent être trouvées dans la partie du site web du LABEX à accès restreint (pour se connecter à la partie du site web du LABEX à accès restreint, cliquez sur Accueil > sur le côté droit de la page vous trouverez un bouton « login »).

TOP ^

Où et comment puis-je obtenir des fonds de recherche pour mener mon expérience ?

Vous trouverez des informations plus détaillées sur les opportunités de financement ainsi que la procédure d’obtention de fonds pour financer votre expérience sur le site de HEC Lausanne.

Partagez:
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg