The Academic Career

In most scientific disciplines, the next stage after the PhD is now termed the postdoc: other posts and titles exist, depending on the institution and the country, but all are understood as a necessary step on the way through the hierarchy towards a professorship or senior researcher position.

All the data points to a simple fact: the chances are not high to find a permanent professorship, and many talented researchers spend years hoping to finally be hired on a long-term contract. Requirements for international mobility and publication records can make the path especially tough, and combined with a succession of short-term contracts with uncertain outcomes, it is often very hard for many researchers to achieve their goals.

But for those who decide to take the academic path, the adventure can be inspiring! Creating new knowledge by delving deeply into research and being part of a global scientific community, and lighting the way for the next generation through teaching students and supervising junior researchers: those who are in there wouldn’t have it any other way!

It only makes sense to think well in advance about whether you want to choose this route. That means reflecting carefully and honestly about your personal motivations, your real interests, and what you’re willing to give up (and what you’re not!).

If you decide that the academic path is for you, or at least that you want to try it out, you’ll need to find out what’s possible for you and required in your disciplinary field.

 

Follow us:      
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15

La carrière académique

Dans la plupart des disciplines, l’étape suivant directement l’obtention du doctorat est dénommé postdoc, ou expérience postdoctorale. D’autres noms et fonctions existent, variant d’un pays à l’autre et d’une institution à une autre, mais toutes sont comprises comme un passage obligé sur la voie menant au professorat ou à un poste de recherche stable.

Toutes les statistiques confirment que les chances d’obtenir un tel poste n’est pas élevé, ce qui a pour conséquence de prolonger l’attente, et le nombre de postes successifs. Les exigences de mobilité internationale et de nombre de publications rendent ce parcours encore plus ardu, de même que l’enchaînement de contrats de courte durée. Réaliser ses objectifs personnels de carrière dans ce contexte est donc un vrai challenge.

Mais la carrière académique a son lot d’aspects des plus motivants ! La création de nouvelles connaissances en interaction avec l’ensemble des savoirs actuels et d’une communauté scientifique internationale, enseigner et guider la prochaine génération de chercheurs : la plupart des personnes engagées dans cette profession n’en changeraient pour rien au monde !

Il faut par contre réfléchir bien à l’avance et déterminer si cette route est vraiment celle à suivre, pour vous. Cela implique de se poser honnêtement la question, tant à propos des motivations, des intérêts, et de ce que vous êtes prêts à sacrifier (ou justement à ne pas sacrifier).

Si ce choix est fait, ou tout du moins que vous décidez d’essayer, il faut donc maintenant parler des options qui vous sont ouvertes, et des exigences spécifiques à votre domaine.

Suivez nous:      
Partagez:
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15