You are here UNIL  > Admissions > Prospective students > Master > with a Foreign Bachelor > Admission procedure

Admission procedure for Master studies for holders of a Bachelor or another university degree issued by a foreign university

Note:
Do not forget to read the information regarding the deadlines and the conditions which appear under the various headings of the Regulations concerning the registration conditions.

1 After reading the registration conditions, students apply online and send their documents to the Admissions Office within the specified deadline; content of the application:


Enrolment in a Master's programme with a foreign Bachelor or diploma

2

The Admissions Office processes the application and checks that formal conditions of admission to the chosen programme are satisfied.

Provided they meet the formal conditions, applications for Master programmes are subsequently forwarded to the Faculty or School, which must give its approval. 

3

Accepted candidates receive a certificate of admission to registration by postal mail, accompanied by information about UNIL and instructions explaining how to confirm their registration; refused candidates also receive a written decision.

Each candidate will receive a written decision when his/her complete application (according to the requirements specified in the Directive en matière de conditions d’immatriculation) is received by the Admissions Office. Therefore, it is pointless to contact the Admissions Office in the meantime.

4 According to their nationality, foreign candidates must obtain a study visa before coming to Switzerland; they should go to their nearest Swiss Embassy or Consulate to file their application, which must include in particular the certificate of admission to registration.

The Admissions Office cannot intervene in this procedure with the authorities (Embassy, Consulate, Population Office). As these steps can take two to three months, students are advised to undertake them as soon as possible.

Therefore the deadline for candidates needing a study visa is fixed two months prior to the general deadlines.

5 Candidates confirm their registration according to instructions received with the certificate of admission to registration (in particular they have to present their original secondary school and university diplomas, as well as the original transcripts). Candidates must follow the deadlines mentioned in these instructions, otherwise their application will be cancelled.

Note: if the required diploma cannot be provided before resumption of courses, the registration is cancelled or must be postponed. In case of a postponment, the application will be examined on the basis of the current conditions of admission at the time of the reactivation of the application.

6 The invoice for course fees for the first semester is then sent out.

If regarding the instructions received the candidate resident abroad must go in person to the Admissions Office to confirm his registration, he will at this time receive the invoice and therefore cannot pay his fees before arriving in Switzerland. The fees can be paid at any Swiss post office by using the paying-in slip or by e-banking. For information, the Population Service of the Canton of Vaud does not require a proof of payment of the the course fees for the first semester within the procedure of granting the visa (see application form for a temporary resident permit for study purposes in the Canton of Vaud).

7 Once candidates have paid their course fees, they acquire the status of student; they can obtain a certificate of enrolment for the semester. The procedure will be indicated on the reverse of the invoice for course fees.

To process certain applications, the Admissions Office must request additional information (from the Recognition Information Centre (Swiss ENIC), the candidate, the schools or universities he or she has attended, etc).

Several weeks may elapse therefore between dispatch of the application and the final decision on registration acceptance.
Candidates are therefore advised to submit their applications as soon as possible.

Note: it is essential to provide complete and correct information when applying at UNIL (online registration and sending of the documents) and when completing your application later on with complementary documents or information. Any omission or submitting of fake or falsified documents can lead to a final refusal of admission or an exclusion from UNIL.

 

NOTE

the French version of the registration conditions prevails
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 21 00
Fax +41 21 692 21 05

Déroulement d'une admission en Master pour les titulaires d'un Bachelor ou un autre diplôme universitaire d'une université étrangère

Attention : ne pas oublier de prendre connaissance des délais et conditions figurant dans les diverses rubriques de la Directive en matière de conditions d'immatriculation.

1 Après avoir pris connaissance des conditions d'immatriculation, le candidat envoie dans les délais au Service des immatriculations et inscriptions son dossier complet; contenu du dossier:

inscription en master

2

Le Service des immatriculations et inscriptions traite le dossier et vérifie si les conditions formelles d'admission au programme choisi sont remplies.

Si elles remplissent les conditions formelles, les candidatures en master sont ensuite soumises à la faculté ou école concernée, qui doit donner son préavis.

3

Le candidat accepté reçoit par courrier postal une attestation d'admission à l'immatriculation, accompagnée d'informations sur l'UNIL et d'instructions lui expliquant comment confirmer son immatriculation; le candidat refusé est aussi avisé par écrit.

Chaque candidat recevra une réponse écrite lorsque son dossier complet (selon les exigences figurant dans la Directive en matière de conditions d'immatriculation) sera parvenu au Service des immatriculations et inscriptions, il est inutile de contacter le Service des immatriculations et inscriptions avant d'avoir obtenu une réponse de sa part.

4

Selon sa nationalité, le candidat étranger doit obtenir un visa pour études avant de venir en Suisse; il se rend à l'Ambassade ou au Consulat suisse le plus proche pour déposer sa demande, qui doit comporter notamment l'attestation d'admission à l'immatriculation.

Le Service des immatriculations et inscriptions ne peut intervenir dans ce processus auprès des autorités (Ambassade, Consulat, Service cantonal de la population). Ces démarches pouvant prendre deux à trois mois, il est conseillé de les entreprendre au plus vite.

Pour disposer de suffisamment de temps, le délai de dépôt des demandes d’immatriculation pour les candidats devant obtenir un visa en vue d’études en Suisse est fixé deux mois avant les autres délais généraux.

5 Le candidat confirme son immatriculation selon les instructions qui lui ont été fournies avec l'attestation d'admission à l'immatriculation (notamment présentation des originaux des diplômes de fin d'études secondaires et/ou universitaires, relevés de notes); les délais indiqués dans ces instructions doivent impérativement être respectés, faute de quoi le dossier est annulé.

Attention: si le diplôme (ou l’attestation d’obtention du grade) ne peut être fourni avant la reprise des cours, l’immatriculation doit être annulée; un éventuel report de la candidature sera examiné sur la base des dispositions en vigueur lors de la demande de réactivation du dossier.
6 La facture portant sur les taxes d'inscription aux cours du premier semestre est envoyée ensuite. Le bulletin de versement remis par le Service des immatriculations et inscriptions permet d’effectuer le paiement des taxes auprès d’un guichet de la poste suisse ou par e-banking.

Si, selon les instructions fournies avec l’attestation d’admission à l’immatriculation, le candidat domicilié à l’étranger doit se présenter en personne à la réception du Service des immatriculations et inscriptions pour confirmer son immatriculation, il recevra seulement la facture à ce moment et ne pourra donc pas payer les taxes avant son arrivée en Suisse. Pour information le Service de la population du Canton de Vaud n’exige pas de la part des futurs étudiants de l’UNIL une preuve de paiement des taxes d’inscription pour le premier semestre dans le cadre de la procédure d’octroi du visa (voir le formulaire de demande d’autorisation de séjour temporaire pour études dans le Canton de Vaud).
7 Lorsque le candidat s'est acquitté des taxes d'inscription aux cours, il a le statut d'étudiant; il peut obtenir une attestation d'inscription au semestre. La marche à suivre sera indiquée au verso de la facture des taxes d'inscription.

Pour le traitement de certaines candidatures, le Service des immatriculations et inscriptions doit requérir des informations complémentaires (auprès du Centre d'information sur les questions de reconnaissance (Swiss ENIC-NARIC), du candidat, des écoles ou universités qu'il a fréquentées, etc.).

Le temps écoulé entre l'envoi de la demande et la décision finale d'admission à l'immatriculation peut donc comporter plusieurs semaines.
Il est par conséquent conseillé de déposer son dossier le plus tôt possible.

Attention: il est primordial de fournir des renseignements complets et corrects lors du dépôt de la candidature en ligne et de l'envoi du dossier ainsi que lorsque le candidat fournit ultérieurement des documents ou des renseignements à l'UNIL. Toute omission ou remise de documents faux ou falsifiés peut conduire au refus définitif d'admission, respectivement à l'exclusion de l'UNIL.

 

 

conditions valables uniquement pour l'année académique 2018-2019, seule fait foi la Directive de la Direction en matière de conditions d'immatriculation. 

Partagez:
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 21 00
Fax +41 21 692 21 05